RSS

The beginning of the end

05 Apr

Today marked the beginning of the end of the most fun job I have ever had.

I have worked at the front desk of a downtown hotel for about a year and a half now, and it has been everything I dreamed it would be.  I’ve worked with some awesome people, and have met and become good friends with many of our frequent guests.  However, recently, many things have begun to change, and I have decided it is time to grab on to an opportunity to work at a different hotel in the same downtown area.

This new position seems like it will offer me more of what I am looking for… the opportunity to grow, and the ability to work with motivated employees who seem to be well taken care of by their employers.  It also strives for 100% guest satisfaction, no matter what the cost, and I am all for that.  So, I am extremely excited to begin working for this new company, however…

it means I have to leave my current position. And as much as I know this move is necessary, it saddens me to leave my friends, and our frequent guests, and a job that I have loved.

It really hit me this morning as I was walking in, since today is the first day of my last week on the job.  I started tearing up just thinking about it. (Not a characteristic that I am particularly fond of by the way.) But it’s going to be difficult not feeling sad about leaving a place that has welcomed me, and been very complimentary of me, and has provided me with great happiness, despite these latest frustrations.

So, I’m trying to take advice from a good friend, which is to focus on the reasons I am leaving, and not what I am leaving behind.  I’m hoping this will help me get through the rest of the week without shedding a tear. 

I’ll let you know how I do.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “The beginning of the end

  1. territerri

    April 7, 2011 at 1:21 am

    I think I would feel the same way as you are feeling. I’m very attached to my job and love the company I work for and my coworkers. But things are changing and I’ve been forced to think about moving on. It would be a really difficult thing to have to do. I guess you just have to keep in mind that you are doing what’s best for you in the long run. Good luck in the new job! Sounds like your new company will be very lucky to have you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 8, 2011 at 3:26 am

      Thanks for the support! I just read your FUB post. I can see why you might be thinking of moving on too. Sounds to me like she’s a little insecure, and that’s why she blew up at you. Think of it as a compliment! 🙂 I’m a lot like you though: a people pleaser and non-confrontational. I’da done the same as you and then come home and ranted about it. In fact, I just did that with a guest who went off on me today. (What a way to end my last week). Anyway, hang in there. Can’t wait to see how things turn out.

       
  2. Jules

    April 7, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    How has the rest of the week been? Last day tomorrow! I hope it will be happy for you and not sad. Just keep focusing on the reasons that drove you to look for something else. You can always go back to visit, too. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 8, 2011 at 2:58 am

      Focusing in on the negatives helped me get through Thursday… every time I felt a twinge of sadness or regret or unsureness of my decision, I thought about what made me decide to look elsewhere. It definitely helped, however I am leaving behind a lot of wonderful people so it’s hard for me not to feel sad. So I can’t promise no tears. At the same time, I am excited about starting anew, and I do plan to visit so I’ll try to make these my thoughts on Friday. Will you help? 🙂

       
  3. Mike

    April 10, 2011 at 6:43 am

    It’s always sad leaving a place you’ve worked at for a while… even if it’s not what it once was. Before I started my actual career, I worked at Wal-Mart for six years. I was hating life by that time, and couldn’t wait to get out of there, but I was sad to leave my friends behind. As always, though, I quickly became happy when I found out how awesome my new job was, and started making new friends there. And I still keep in touch with the important ones from way back when.

     

Leave a Reply

 
