RSS

Hog Heaven

05 May

Yep.  I was in hog heaven over the weekend.  Took a trip down to Memphis, TN, for one reason….

BBQ!

Well, that was the reason I went.  My husband was more interested in the music festival going on, which I have to admit was pretty fun – especially Ke$ha.  I love her!!

But the BBQ was my focus.  I wanted to try as many places as my belly could stand.  We had our first taste of it on the way down.  We stopped at Auntie Anne’s, right off the interstate, because of their sign outside that stated they had the best BBQ around.  And you know what?  I think they were right.  I had the pulled pork (Momma size), and it was delicious! The sauce that they have is vinegar based with the normal seasonings as well as chili powder.  I never thought about putting chili powder in with it, but it works… and I couldn’t get enough.  I probably coulda done the Poppa size.

That night, at the music festival, Corky’s BBQ, a well known place in Memphis, had a stand out on the grounds. So,  I ordered another pulled pork sandwich.  It was only ‘ok’.  I was quite disappointed, but knew that there would be another chance on Saturday.

After a light breakfast, we headed back to Beale St., took in a few bars and bands, and then proceeded to Rendezvous – another well known restaurant rumored to have the best ribs around.  We weren’t the only ones who had heard this, I guess, cuz the place was packed.. and the alley next to the entrance was packed..  They told us to expect a 45 minute wait, which was not good news for me. At this point, I was starving and ready for more pork!  To make matters worse, they were pumping out the smoke from the smoker into the alley where we were waiting.  It was heavenly….

When we were finally seated, I ordered the half slab of ribs and the brisket. (Yes, I know brisket is beef, but I happen to love it too.)  The ribs were good, but they don’t beat Pappy’s in St. Louis… The brisket – OMG!! I coulda eaten another plateful for sure! It was absolutely the best brisket I have ever had. I’m trying to figure out how to get it delivered to my doorstep….

I ate so much at Rendezvous that I was pretty well done eating for the rest of the day… (except for ice cream that night because there is not a day that goes by that I don’t eat ice cream.) It was also the last of the Memphis BBQ that I was able to eat.  We ended up leaving earlier than planned on Sunday, because we had heard that some of the streets heading back north were going to be closed due to flooding.  We had planned on eating lunch at Lambert’s, Home of the Throwed Rolls, but the ramp off the interstate was under water – Turns out they weren’t kidding about the roads being flooded.  So we ate cafeteria style at a place a few miles further.  My turkey sandwich was quite a disappointment after the awesome food I had over the weekend. 

Thank goodness St. Louis has some pretty good BBQ places.  My husband and I plan to take our motorcycles to as many different restaurants as we can this summer.  Of course, I am always ready to head to Pappy’s, but I am hearing there’s a place called Roper’s that is neck and neck with Pappy’s on Trip Advisor.  That will probably be my next stop.

And I should probably mention that my husband built a smoker last summer that we will probably be firing up pretty soon.  I gotta admit that his pulled pork is pretty dang good as well. I like to mix his vinegar based bbq sauce with some spicy store-bought sauce, and once again, I’m in heaven.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in BBQ

 

2 responses to “Hog Heaven

  1. Jules

    May 7, 2011 at 1:40 am

    I loved Memphis! You know, I think we may have tried Corky’s too… if it is the same place, I remember thinking it was overpriced and not that great… We did a few other place for lunch, one was a sit down place on Beale and I had ribs.. the other place seemed like a ‘finer’ dining setting, but really how fine can you get when bbq is involved?
    We lucked out at Rendezvous. We got there early and got a seat right away.

    I’m glad you had a good time!!! I love the smell of bbq. I may have to look at this Roper’s place too… I told Mike I wanted to try a new restaurant for my bday, but that’s still a few months away.

     
  2. Mike

    May 8, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Your husband built a smoker?? I know where I’m going to be this summer! 😛

    Jules and I went to Memphis a while back, and the food was amazing. Everyone told us to eat a Rendezvous as well, and we could see why. A-w-e-s-o-m-e!

     

Leave a Reply

 
