RSS

Mother’s Day

09 May

Finally! A beautiful, sunny, warm spring day.

And it fell on Mother’s Day.

AND I didn’t have to work! 

Well, at the hotel anyway.  I did do 2 loads of laundry, baked a cake and some cookies to bring to my mother-in-law’s house, and cleaned up the kitchen afterwards.  Sometimes I don’t mind, that kind of work though.  It can actually relieve some stress to get some work done around the house to make up for the lack of work that gets done while I am away… but I’m not gonna dwell on my family’s laziness right now….

My husband was kind enough to let me do what I wanted today, so after we ate lunch at his mom’s house, we took our motorcycles out for about an hour.  The weather was perfect for it, and there were tons of other bikes out, which always makes riding fun. 

Then I played a game of Taboo with my kids.  They are at the age now where it can be quite fun.  My oldest boys were cracking me up.  Do you know the answer to “What steals your fruit and washes it in the river?”  If they had given me that clue I would still be trying to guess.  But he gets it right away. (It’s a raccoon if you didn’t know either.)  And my third son gives the clue “Joe can do this on command”, and my daughter answers it immediately. What?? It’s funny how they can say things to each other, and they just seem to know. (That answer was ‘burp’, by the way.) And it just continued like that… I lost, of course, but it was great to laugh with them and hear them use words that I don’t normally hear them speak. (usually it’s ‘uh huh’, ‘no.’, ‘yes.’, ‘I don’t know.’, ‘nuthin.’ or the longest phrase ‘do I have to do it now?’)

Then later, at home, my caring, unselfish husband allowed me to use his laptop to watch two episodes of The Amazing Race (which is absolutely my favorite show!!), and then to catch up on some blog reading and writing.

So it’s been a great Mother’s Day for me.  And I’m even happier that I am off again tomorrow so that I can get my motherly/wifely/housekeeperly duties done while the kids are at school. I may even be able to fit in another motorcycle ride!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2011 in Holidays

 

3 responses to “Mother’s Day

  1. Mike

    May 9, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Sounds like a great day. I love Taboo. We usually play it with my younger twin brothers whenever we go out to my parents’ house. It’s the same kind of scenario. They always have all of this “inside knowledge” between the two of them. It’s a good time.

     
  2. Jules

    May 9, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Happy Mother’s Day!!!!! (even though it’s a day late)

    I LOVE Taboo!! That game is so much fun. I’m glad you had a good day and got to ride your motorcycle 🙂

    Talk to you soon!!!

     
  3. territerri

    May 15, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Glad you had such a great Mothers Day. I love Taboo too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
