RSS

My Commute

15 May

You know those drivers that are distracted and focused on everything but driving? They speed up.  They slow down. They drive in the fast lane side by side the car in the slow lane, keeping everyone from passing, or they pass you up, then slow down once they are in front of you?

Well, I see them every day since I have an hour commute to work, and usually I am cussing them out, or raising my arms at them in frustration.

But today  – I may have been one of those people.

You see, I stopped off at Walmart like I usually do on my way in to work, cuz I needed yogurt for my lunch. I will usually stop off in a park and eat lunch in my car, but today I decided to drive into work first, and eat lunch there.  Thank goodness I did.  The traffic was awful! They had two of the four lanes of the main bridge across the Mississippi closed down. Ugh!

There are other bridges that go across, but three interstates merge into the section where you “choose” your bridge, so taking another bridge isn’t really a faster option…. so I waited.  and waited…  and waited…

I finally realized that this was going to take a while, and I may not get lunch at all before I have to start work, so I decided to get a head start.  I get my lunch box, take out my spinach salad and begin cutting up the oranges. Yes – with a knife and fork .  Yes – in stop and go traffic.  Yes – in a car with a manual transmission.

Of course, I would like to think that I am an attentive distracted driver.  🙂  I was able to keep up with the inching along… and I didn’t run into the backside of anyone… and I got my oranges cut, and was even able to eat part of my salad while driving. 

But I think I am smart enough to realize that I may not be this lucky everytime, so I imagine the next time I commute to work, I will use my usual safe driving techniques – cruise set at 70mph – coasting along in the slow lane – radio at a moderate volume – and only occasionally taking my hands off the wheel to give a WTF motion to the driver next to me – who is most likely too distracted to notice.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Blunders

 

3 responses to “My Commute

  1. Jules

    May 15, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I hate drivers!! I usually see some crazies too on my drive to/from work. The ones that weave in and out of traffic barely missing hitting a car or being hit amaze me. I always eat breakfast in my car on the way to work, though it’s either a bagel or breakfast sandwich.

    I can see you cutting up your salad in your car. lol. and waving WTF signs at other drivers. I’m not a gesture person but am ALWAYS cursing at other cars.

     
  2. territerri

    May 15, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I encountered one of those really distracted drivers on Friday coming home in rush hour traffic. She was driving REALLY slowly in a 55 mph zone. I rode it out behind her in the middle lane for a while when others moved around her. Finally I got frustrated enough to pass her too… and saw her trying to text while driving.

    I have been guilty of eating while driving, but I don’t think I could manage a salad like you did! 😉

     
  3. Mike

    May 30, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    I have no tolerance for stupid drivers. That’s somewhat odd, considering I’m generally pretty mellow. I don’t know what it is, but when people fail to use turn signals, speed up and slow down, or drive the wrong way around our apartment complex, it infuriates me.

    I will note, though, that your multitasking skills in the car are far superior to mine. I do well to eat a burger and drive at the same time. I can’t imagine preparing a salad in the passenger seat.

     

Leave a Reply

 
