RSS

Double Whammy

25 May

 

I am an active person.

I run 4-5 miles a day (or as often as I can).

I love mowing the lawn with the pushmower – it takes about an hour and a half – and is very therapeutic.

I always choose to take the stairs and not the elevators.

I park far away from the store’s entrance.

And if I sit for too long, I get extremely antsy and have to find something physical to do. So my job is perfect in that sense. Most times I do not sit at all during my shift.

So I guess I am a little more prone to injuries because of it.  I mean, I’ve had my share of pulled muscles, torn ligaments, and other “sports” related injuries – all of which caused me to have to quit running or bowling (that was the worst) for a few weeks. And I’ve broken a rib while cleaning the bathtub, and have had a variety of cuts and bruises that occur while cleaning house. (Tell me you have all had these injuries… right?)  But the last few days my injuries have been more of what a 1 -2 year old might experience.

It started on Saturday.  I was working at a hotel that was just purchased by my company. (They needed ‘experienced’ people to help with the transition. I guess my 5 weeks at the job constitutes experience. lol ) Anyway, I had gone upstairs to clock out, and had gathered all my things together to leave.  I proceded back down the stairs. Halfway down, my slip-on shoe slipped off.  Well, I couldn’t get it back on, nor could I get it all the way off, and before I knew it, I was falling.

My hands were full, preventing me from grabbing the rails, so down I went. My thigh took the brunt of the fall, and I kinda just skidded to the next landing before coming to a stop. Of course there was a guest in front of me, who immediately jumped in to rescue mode. She gathered my stuff together and asked me multiple times if I was ok.  I insisted over and over again that I was ok, silently praying she would leave so that I could cry and limp without an audience. I managed to get out to my car with as much grace as possible, and then locked myself in to focus on my injuries. My entire left leg was throbbing, but I was able to push in the clutch so I would be able to drive. (Thank God, cuz I was going to Roper’s Ribs for supper. I’ll write a post about that later…)

Two days later, I still have a massive bruise on my leg, but my muscles aren’t stiff anymore, and the knot has gone down.

So today, I went for a run.  I was feeling pretty good.  The temperature was a perfect 60 degrees, the sun was shining, and the birds were chirping.  I decided to do sprints today to help with speed since there will be some 5K races coming up – and I like to win.

Two miles into it, I reach the end of the country road.  I normally stop to turn around, but today I decided to just round the turn slowly.  Bad decision.  Not only were there loose rocks, but they were wet.  My left foot slipped out from under me, and I hit the ground hard.  This time my left knee took the brunt of the fall, but I landed on my previously bruised thigh.

I got up immediately, wiped the mud from my arms and hands on my pants, saw that I had torn a hole in my sweats, and went right back to running.  I had two miles to get back home, and I didn’t want to look at anything until I was there.  At some point my elbow was stinging so I looked at it.  Blood was dripping down my arm, so I wiped that on my pants as well.

I finally made it home, and gingerly pulled up the leg of my pants to examine my injuries.  Yuck! I’m sure you all know what skinned knees look like – especially ones where rocks were involved. I limped into the house, and asked my kids to take care of me.  🙂  They brought me peroxide and bandaids and listened attentively to what happened, and then went back to what they were doing.  I imagine that’s what I did with them, but I was hoping for more sympathy.

My knee is quite swollen, and walking up or down stairs is a painful process, and I suppose in time, it will get better…  but at age 41, I sure don’t expect to be having injuries like this.  I can’t imagine it’ll slow me down, however.  Especially now that my caring husband and son have devised a solution:

Training Wheels

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2011 in Blunders, Running

 

2 responses to “Double Whammy

  1. Jules

    May 25, 2011 at 4:06 am

    Oh my gosh! Those training wheels are so funny!!

    I’m sorry to hear about your falls! Sometimes I almost miss a step or don’t step far enough on the stairs at work going up to the lobby, and I have to quickly reach out and grab the railing. I’m thankful and amazed that I haven’t fallen up or down those stairs yet (or the ones in the back office).
    Two falls close together though are tough. I went down on the track in college practicing some hurdles…my knee was all messed up and I couldn’t walk normal…I was limping and almost in tears but my coach made me keep practicing anyway. I think that’s the worst fall I’ve had since high school, but I”m sure there are more to come.
    Hope you have a fast recovery!!!

    Can’t wait to hear how the BBQ was!!!

     
  2. territerri

    May 30, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    You’re tougher than I am! I can’t imagine running just a couple of days after a fall down the stairs such as yours. And I can’t imagine running the two miles back home after the wipe-out you experienced!

    Your hubby and son have quite a sense of humor. Good thing you do too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
