RSS

Grandma

14 Jun

I haven’t seen my Grandma for quite a few years.  She recently moved to Vegas after living in California for all my life.  Since I had two kids graduating this year (one from high school, one from 8th grade), she decided to come for a visit. 

Now, my Grandma is in her 80s, and would be proud to admit it.  And she should be.  She is determined to not let age slow her down.  My mom (and my mom’s friends) have kept her very busy the last few weeks, and she is always ready to do whatever people plan for her. 

I continued to work while she was here, but there are a few things we were able to do together…

          1. See Jersey Boys at the Fox in St. Louis.  Awesome!! My daughter, my mother, my grandmother and me.  (And my mom’s best friend who we consider family.)

          2. Eat lunch at the restaurant attached to my hotel (and then take a tour of the hotel)

          3. Attend the “graduation party” that was held at a little bar in a town of 500 people – chosen because they have the best pizza around. And after our first taste, we all agreed!

And she surprised me at every function! I’ve always known my grandma to be a very active, independent person. My dad was in the Air Force, so we lived all over the world.  She would come visit us wherever we were, and usually came by herself.  I specifically remember her climbing the stairs of our apartment over and over again for exercise – she was probably in her mid 50’s at that time – but even at a young age I was impressed that she was in such great shape.

And now in her 80’s, she may not be climbing stairs, but she keeps up with everyone and is very adamant about being included in everything.  Granted she did take a nap a day, (which grew increasingly longer with each day), but once again I was impressed at how well she is doing.  I’m very proud of her, and hope that I can be as independent and active as she is when I am in my 80’s.

Attending Ben's Graduation

 

The Girls day out at the Fox Theater

 
 
 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2011 in Family

 

2 responses to “Grandma

  1. Jules

    June 14, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    Yay for Grandma! I hope I am active at that age as well. I think keeping yourself busy and physically moving is key. Sounds like you girls had a fun time! I need to come by and try your restaurant sometime.

     
  2. territerri

    June 21, 2011 at 12:50 am

    She sounds like the kind of woman most of us strive to be. Good for her! I’m glad you got to spend some quality time with your Grandma.

     

Leave a Reply

 
