RSS

Deerly Departed

04 Jul

Living out in the country, it’s very common to see, excuse the term, roadkill on the highways and country roads. Surprisingly, in the 12 years we have lived here, I’ve only hit a few animals – although if you’ve ever hit an animal, you know that a ‘few’ is too many. I’ve hit a couple of birds, a racoon, and even more sadly, a family of possum. (Ok, I only hit two of the three, but all three were in the middle of the road, and I had no where to go. It is such an awful feeling.)
My husband has hit a few small animals as well, and my son has had a deer run into the side of our brand new vehicle. Luckily there were no injuries in that case – to the deer or my son.
But by far the worse animal hit I have ever seen was while we were on our way to Joplin, MO.
About 3 of us cars had been traveling along side each other. We were cruisin’ about 75 mph, and had been on the road long enough to have settled down for the long ride. My family members were all immersed in their phones, ipods, etc. and I was enjoying the peace. A movement in the trees to my right caught my eye. I hit the brakes when I realized it was a deer running towards the interstate. I thought the Corvette ahead of me in the left lane would have noticed it too, but the deer ran right in front of it. I let out a little yelp, then a louder one as the corvette hit the deer. In disbelief, I watched the deer fly at least 10 feet into the air, spinning head over heels a couple of times, before landing in the median.
By this time I had slowed way down, and the Corvette crossed over in front of me to pull off. A glance in my review mirror showed damage to the right side of his hood, but they seemed to be okay.
It took a while for my heart rate to return to normal. Once there, all thoughts about what could have happened flashed through my head. It could have been me…. the deer could have landed on top of us… the Corvette could have lost control… etc.

So between witnessing that collision, and then witnessing Joplin’s damage, it was a very humbling day.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 4, 2011 in Family, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Deerly Departed

  1. Jules

    July 10, 2011 at 3:39 am

    Eeek. That’s scary to see someone else hit an animal. I haven’t seen anyone hit one like that! I’m glad everyone was okay!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
