RSS

The Joy of Baking

28 Oct

So the past few weeks I have been lazily following everyone’s blogs without commenting (too much work) or writing my own (even more work).  I have given myself the excuse that I have been busy enough at work that I deserve to do what I want while I am at home.  Naturally, what I want to do is be lazy.  Not a very good option when I have four children, tons of dirty laundry, unclean bathrooms, etc.  And on the days where I don’t feel lazy, I still don’t do those things…. because I have found an awesome new hobby.

BAKING.

OMG.  So Much Fun.

I absolutely love “flipping” through recipes online for ideas, and then creating my own versions.  Allrecipes.com has become a favorite site.  Just yesterday I found an even awesomer site.  Bakingdom.com.  You gotta check it out.  Her ideas are so creative, and she’s already done all the trial and error, so all I have to do is follow the recipe.  I can hardly wait for my next day off to try out the cinnamon roll cupcakes.

Last week, I baked an “apple pie” cupcake.  I used ideas from a few different recipes, and they turned out totally awesome.  In fact I still get comments at work about how good they were.

Apple Pie Cupcake with Maple Rum Icing

And before that, I made some pumpkin pancakes for the kids with homemade apple cider syrup.  Totally delicious!

I’ve also been trying out some new recipes for dinner… a few weeks ago, I made a chicken pot pie that I have always wanted to try, and finally did.  The family loved it and it was so fun and easy to make!

And a few days ago, I made chili (not that unusual for me to make chili), but I made cornbread in a cast iron skillet, cuz I’ve always wanted to try that.  Once again…. delicious!!

I don’t think my family minds that they have been my guinea pigs this past month.  Although not every recipe that I have tried has been a hit. (They didn’t like the oatmeal, cranberry, white chocolate chip cookies that I baked, and the apple muffins were just an “ok” recipe.)  But I have had so much fun trying them out, and searching online for recipes, that it doesn’t bother me that the housework isn’t getting done.

And to top everything off, my ever loving husband bought me a new laptop for my birthday… so now I don’t have to share with anyone… and I can look at recipes whenever I want.  I honestly feel like I am in heaven.

And since I don’t have to give the computer to the next person in line, I can make time to blog again.

I’m a Lucky Girl.   🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2011 in Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “The Joy of Baking

  1. tinkerbelle86

    October 28, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Oh wow!! these look great. I had a bit of a bake off recently and i would love to know what you think of the results 🙂
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/08/27/to-your-posts-let-the-bake-off-begin/

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 29, 2011 at 2:14 am

      Thanks for the link! 😉 The Cookie Monster cupcakes are too cute! I will definitely be trying those out.

       
  2. Jules

    October 28, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Oh my gosh I missed your birthday!!! 😦 I hope you had a happy birthday! I don’t even know when it was lol. But I still feel like I shouldn’t have missed it.

    I love allrecipes.com too. That’s where I go to search all mine. I will definitely check out the other website you listed. The pumpkin pancakes sound delicious and I have created a mental post-it note to try that recipe sometime. I love making chili too, especially because it’s so easy to make a whole bunch of it then have leftovers for days.

    Tonight I am making pasta, but nothing special. I have some store-bought spaghetti sauce still in the fridge, though I like homemade sauce better.

     
  3. Jules

    October 28, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    Oh and how do you organize your recipes? Do you have them all in writing or printed? or just look at your laptop? Most of the time I just pull up the recipe on my laptop because I have a lot saved on allreceipes.com, but I’m in the market for something bigger and better to organize myself.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 29, 2011 at 2:12 am

      Sorry, I don’t have any bigger and better ideas. I have them organized in my recipe book online, and then set my computer on the counter, with Pandora in the background, and get to work baking. Sometimes I will have many tabs pulled up because I mix and match some of the recipes.

       
  4. Mike

    October 31, 2011 at 6:56 am

    The wife uses allrecipies.com as well… and makes good use of it. She is an amazing cook.

    Congrats on the new laptop! That is awesome!

     
  5. territerri

    November 9, 2011 at 1:27 am

    Sounds like you’re having a great time in the kitchen and I’m sure your family loves it.

    I make those oatmeal cranberry chip cookies at Christmas time and the kids love ’em!

     

Leave a Reply

 
