RSS

Blessing in Disguise

11 Dec

Lately I have been quite upset with my work schedule.  I work at a hotel in downtown St. Louis and from the time I started at that hotel, we have been extremely busy.  We are located a block away from Busch Stadium and very close to the other main St. Louis attractions, so when the Cardinals are in town, or people are coming to see the sites, they choose to stay with us.  I like that.  🙂

But now that summer is over, we are d-e-a-d. Not surprisingly, management is having to cut back on spending.  The first to go?  Employee’s hours.  ugh.

For the last 3 weeks I have been scheduled 3 days a week.  Not good for someone who’s husband just quit his job to start his own business, has 1 kid in college, 2 in a Catholic school,. and a daughter who always “needs” something.  On top of that, the family is now dependent on me for medical insurance, so I have that cost taken out of my slowly dwindling check.

So I have been stressin’ a little lately about how little money I am making.  My husband was quick to assure me… “Honey, we are in a hole so deep right now that you being cut a few days a week really isn’t going to make that much of a difference.”

Okay… I feel better now.  Not.

Well, maybe I do a little.  He’s a smart guy.  For years he was in the investment business, and he has managed to build up a nice little nest egg for us.  It was supposed to be used for retirement, but we both feel this new project he is working on is well worth the investment, so we are making the necessary sacrifices to jump start his new business.

So he’s probably right.  The money I would make in the one to two days that I am not working, really isn’t going to make a dent in our budget – most of it goes towards gas anyway since I have a 50 mile commute one way.  So instead of stressing about it, I plan to enjoy the extra time at home.

I’ve gotten some rooms cleaned out that I’ve been meaning to get to.  I’ve done a lot of baking.  (Stay tuned for more of my yummy cupcake ideas.)  I am able to keep up with the kids’ activities, and I can enjoy mornings such as this – where I wake up with the sun, head outside for a brisk run, then snuggle under a blanket with a cup of coffee and my adored computer, and reflect on how blessed I really am.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2011 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Blessing in Disguise

  1. Jules

    December 13, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    I know everything will work out just fine for you and your family. Just hang in there!

     
  2. towardshealthylife

    December 17, 2011 at 5:00 am

    I love the way you make yourself look at the positive side of working less hours! Enjoy your time while it pass and I am sure your husband’s bussiness will kick in soon!

     
  3. Mike

    December 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    You drive 50 miles one way to work? Holy crap. I can definitely see how the cost of gas would eat into those two days. Enjoy the break while you can. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
