RSS

Holiday Baking

01 Jan

Well, it’s all over but the mess.

And oh what fun it was.

We managed to surprise the kids, which is hard to do now that they are older, and they were able to surprise us with a few things as well.  It’s so heartwarming to see that side of them – the side that thinks about someone other than themselves – and they did it with us and with each other.

And I also managed to fit in a lot of baking… yippee! After hours of searching the internet and finding dozens of recipes,  I managed to settle on a few to try.

My first shot was at some chocolate eclair cupcakes.  I wanted to mimic the creamy center and the chocolate topping, and boy did they turn out yummy.

Then I came across some peppermint popcorn.  I decided this would make a great teacher gift, and when I found the popcorn containers in the dollar bin at Target, I knew it was destiny.  🙂

Peppermint Popcorn

The kids got into the baking as well.  I helped them gather everything they would need, and then I headed off to work.  When I got home, the kitchen was cleaned and these were on the counter.  I was totally impressed!

Maria's Creations

David’s Creations
I also made some eggnog truffles, oreo truffles and cranberry bars.  I totally forgot to take pictures of them, but here are “look alikes”…  🙂

Eggnog Truffles

Oreo Truffles

Cranberry Bars

My proudest creation, however, has to be the champaign cupcakes that I made for New Year’s.  I spent a ton of time on them and made a huge mess in my kitchen, and I think they taste just “ok”, but they are so darn cute, that none of it matters.

Champaign Cupcakes

Yes, I baked them in the glasses, and iced them with champaign buttercream icing, and sprinkled them with edible glitter.  These I made for the family, but the ones I brought to work were baked in gold wrappers and then placed in a plastic champaign glass with champaign colored confetti.  I will definitely make these again, but I’m leaning towards “strawberry daiquiris”.  I can’t wait.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2012 in Baking, Family, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Holiday Baking

  1. Mike

    January 1, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Wow, you outdid yourself. All of that looks absolutely delicious.

    My mom used to make the Oreo truffles, and I loved them. They are among my top ten favorite desserts.

     
  2. territerri

    January 2, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Oreo Truffles! YUM! First I read about your s’mores cupcakes. Now all of your holiday goodies! You’re making me want to bake something!

     
  3. towardshealthylife

    January 2, 2012 at 5:15 am

    Can I have a few of those egg nog truffles? Please 🙂

     
  4. Jules

    January 2, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Ooh I think I tried some of those truffles when you brought them to work one time. I was a little timid, not having much experience with truffles and not knowing what to expect, but they were excellent!

    Is this the post you were having picture problems with? (I read your posts backwards). I always have problems with inserting pictures and resort to how you did, just center them and go with it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 3, 2012 at 1:02 am

      Yes, this is the post that I had trouble with. I wanted the kids’ pictures to be next to each other, and I wanted the truffles and cranberry bars to be linked to a recipe, but everytime I thought I had it right, I would preview it and everything would be messed up… so I gave up and this is what you get… 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
