RSS

Is It Really a “Happy” New Year?

01 Jan

It’s New Year’s Day.
Last night, I worked 1pm – 11pm at our downtown hotel. I had been very excited about working because I knew we would be extremely busy, and our guests didn’t disappoint. For hours they came in droves, non-stop. We literally had a line to the door continuously during that time. There were 6 agents working the desk, and we were all enjoying ourselves. But as soon as it slowed down, even a little, we ran to the back. As fun as it is, it is exhausting being overly friendly and patient for so long….
I left right at 11pm, wiped out, not having received a real break of any kind, not having eaten for 11 hours, and hoping to get home at midnight to ring in the new year with my family.
I could see my house as I listened to the count down on the radio. I floored it, but was still a block away when the clock struck twelve. I received an immediate email from my 17 year old son – one of a mass of them he sent out – and then pulled in the drive way a minute later. I rushed into the house expecting a party. Instead I found darkness. My 17 year old came up for a hug and to tell me ‘Dad went to bed at 9:00.’ I went to my daughter’s room… she was on her bed having just watched the ball drop in New York. I gave her a hug as she said she was going to miss 2011 – “It’s the year I turned 13!” she sighed.
With the other boys closed behind their bedroom doors, I grabbed my bowl of icecream and sat wearily on the couch to catch up on a few blogs.

At 1:30am I finally climbed in bed, and fell asleep immediately.  I had set my alarm for a luxurious 7am, and was looking forward to spending New Years Day with my family. I hopped on the elliptical to counteract the pizza and cupcake I knew I was going to eat, then came upstairs to work on the baking blog that I’ve been trying to get posted for a few days now.  That’s when the fun began.

I don’t know how you all manage to post a blog daily.  Especially one that contains pictures.  I struggled with trying to get the pictures where I wanted them, and finally just centered them all in a line.  Then I worked for an hour or more trying to figure out how to link them up with a website.  I was able to do it with one, but the others never did work.  And each time I tried, I would lose one of the other pictures I had inserted.  I was soooo fed up that I finally just gave up and posted the blog “as is”.  Feeling extremely frustrated at wasting my whole morning on this, I decided to begin getting the video camera hooked to the TV so we could all watch old home videos.  As you might have guessed it was another frustrating experience, and when I finally did figure it out, the tapes were so static-y that it would be impossible to sit through.  So I dug out the old-er vhs tapes.  (Which required digging up an old vhs player.  Luckily Grandma had one…)  So with that problem solved I began working on the pizza toppings for our homemade pizza lunch that we were all excited about.  I asked my daughter to go out to the garage for the onion that we moved out there today (along with the potatoes and bananas and trashcan – cuz yes, we’re fighting with fruit flies).  She comes back in with the bag complaining that it’s dripping wet.  “WHY is it wet?” I practically yelled at her. “I don’t know!!!”, she yelled back.  I grabbed the dripping bag, threw it in the sink, and began slicing the onion along with tomatoes and mushrooms, and then set them under the broiler. Shortly after, I hear my husband call from the garage: “Maria, was that onion you took from the bench wet?”  I answered for her, cautiously and slowly.  “Yeesss….what’s it from?”  He answered just as cautiously… “ummmm…. I think the bug spray is leaking.”

OMG.

By this time I was at my witt’s end.  My husband could only say “There are some days that should just never begin.”  I yanked the vegetables out of the oven, threw them away, and began again.  Ugh.

The story ends well, however.  I finally got the “bugspray-free” vegetables finished and the kids formed an assembly line to create their own pizza.  We all gathered in the kitchen talking about the past year while the pizzas baked, then we swarmed to the living room to watch videos from 13 to 17 years ago. We laughed (and cringed) about how we looked and acted. It was a happy couple of hours that we shared before everyone headed their own separate ways again.

Perhaps the worst of 2012 is already behind me.  🙂

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Is It Really a “Happy” New Year?

  1. territerri

    January 2, 2012 at 1:17 am

    It’s so frustrating when you have a vision about how things are going to be and they turn out so opposite of your plan. I’m glad that you were able to enjoy your family, finally, in the end. Sounds like a fun afternoon!

    (I wonder what was going on with your photos? I’ve not had that problem when posting pictures. Hope you can get the kinks worked out for future blogs!)

     
  2. Mike

    January 2, 2012 at 4:18 am

    Ugh. Sorry this year started out so roughly for you. Hopefully it’ll be smooth sailing from here on out!

    By the way, homemade pizzas are the BEST!

     
  3. towardshealthylife

    January 2, 2012 at 5:10 am

    It looks like you worked hard to finally get that happy moment with your family lol. I agree with you for the technical stuff, it is so frustrating sometimes. I use window live writer and it seems a little less complicated but only after swearing at it for a few times.

     
  4. Jules

    January 2, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Holy moly…bugsprayed onion!? That sucks. Especially when you had already mixed it with the other veggies. What a pain. I’m glad the next batch came out well and that you had a good laugh over the videos. Hopefully you’ll be laughing about the pizza incident in a month or two.

     

Leave a Reply

 
