RSS

New Identity?

05 Jan

So I’m thinkin I need to change my name to shadowbum180.

Shadow can stay the same, because I still love my Honda Shadow motorcycle. Sadly, it’s a little dusty right now because we have this very unfortunate season known as winter. But as soon as the weather nears 70 again, I plan to be goin out a lot.  April can’t get here fast enough.

Run will probably need to change because as I get older, it gets harder for me to recuperate from a run.  When I was in my 30s, I ran 5-6 days a week for at least 4 miles.   At 40, I was only running about 3 days a week for 4 miles. I found the day or two rest in between was easier on me.  But at 42, I’m down to 1 or 2 days a week.  I still enjoy running,  but my legs appreciate 2 or 3 days off now.  I’m accepting it.  It tends to work better into my schedule anyway.  I do try to fit the elliptical machine in a few days a week which is much easier on my legs, but not as much fun as being outside.  So technically I’m not really being a “bum” but ShadowElliptical180 doesn’t sound as good. 🙂 Hmmmm…. but maybe ‘bake‘ would fit.  Strong possibility!

300 was a part of my name because of the 300 game I bowled a few years back.  At that time I was obsessed with bowling.  I lived and breathed bowling.  I was pretty good at it, and practiced often, and bowled in some pretty major tournaments.  If bowling was on the schedule, everything else was pushed aside. This didn’t always go over well with my husband and family, but they were very supportive.  When my job changed from being an elementary school teacher to a front desk agent at a hotel, things quickly changed.  At first, I tried to keep up with my bowling schedule, but since my job required me to be away from home 50 hours per week (drive time included), I was understandably exhausted.  With no time to practice, and no energy on league nights, my average slowly dwindled.  That’s when the downward spiral began.  Since I wasn’t bowling as well, I wasn’t having as much fun.  And since I wasn’t having as much fun, I didn’t want to spend my rare night away from work at the bowling center.  So this season I have cut way back on bowling, and when I am bowling I have no worries at all about how I am doing.  My husband and I still attend our Sunday night league every week, but I constantly look for excuses to get out of my Thursday night league.  I’m only averaging about 180 now – 20 pins less than I would normally consider acceptable, but surprisingly, I find it – well- acceptable.

So there you have it.  When I get brave enough I may change my identity.  It’s difficult to say goodbye to the old me, so I have to come to terms with it first, but when I do, I hope you will welcome ShadowBum(or Bake)180. She’ll need lots of support.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “New Identity?

  1. territerri

    January 5, 2012 at 3:14 am

    I would be thrilled to have a 180 average. I don’t practice enough and the girls on my team aren’t serious so there’s little improvement. I’m signing up for a clinic in a few weeks. Hopefully that will help me raise my average.

    I like ShadowBake. That’s a cute name. You should keep the 300 though. Just because your average dropped doesn’t mean you didn’t bowl a 300 once! It’s an honor you should keep.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 5, 2012 at 3:33 am

      You are probably right about the 300. I kinda like ShadowBake300, but I have to be ready to replace “run”, and since fitness is still a big part of my life I’d like it to be incorporated somehow. I’ll welcome any suggestions!

       
  2. Mike

    January 5, 2012 at 4:54 am

    Cool – I always wondered how the pseudonym originated. For what it’s worth, I’ll take baked goods over running any day. Of course, my ever-growing waistline speaks for itself. 🙂

     
  3. Jules

    January 5, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    If you find baking more enjoyable than running, go for it! It doesn’t have to be a negative thing. I look at is as hobbies change for a person over their lifetime. I hate running (but used to like it when I was competitive) and don’t work out on a regular basis, but now I like doing my kickboxing videos and my new Kinect Sports game that gives me a pretty good workout. They have bowling on there too and I bowled a 232!!! Never would happen in real life, but it was fun. I like ShadowBake300 too. You should definitely keep the 300 because that is amazing and not many people can say they have bowled a 300. In fact – you should just get a tattoo that says 300. 🙂

     
  4. Abby

    January 6, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    Wow, my first visit here and I already learned a lot about you – and that we EERILY have much in common. I run, but not every day. I’m a teacher now, but spent many years as a hotel desk clerk, and I have recently gotten into bowling and want to get into it even more. Now, all I need’s a motorcycle! (One of my best friends in college had a Shadow).

    I agree with Terri. Once you bowl a 300, you get to keep it in your blog name.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 6, 2012 at 5:58 pm

      So glad you stopped by for a visit! 🙂 How funny that we’ve had the same careers, just backwards. If you ever need any tips on bowling or motorcyle riding, just let me know!

       
  5. agg79

    January 7, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Another first time follower. I’m glad you dropped by my site. Like Abby, I can partially relate to your identity. I’ve have a similar running pattern, but I’ve got a few more years on you and my knees and legs don’t hold up as well as they used to. Still, I try to shoot for the 2-3 times a week just to keep the lbs off. Motorcycle? Your Shadow looks absolutely gorgeous. I am so jealous. I had a motorcycle back in high school and would love to have one again. Someday I hope to get back on one. But I haven’t done bowling for years and the only way I could see 180 is look at someone else’s score. You earned the 300, so vote you I’d keep it in the name.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m definitely not mentally ready to give up running. I enjoy being outside, and it’s a very productive way of keeping pounds off – in fact I ran 4 miles this morning, taking 3 one minute walk breaks thinking it would be easier for my legs to recover. So now I can go eat a huge pulled pork sandwich at a bbq joint I have been anxious to try. 🙂 I think if I cut back to just a few times a week and spend a few days on the elliptical machine, that I should be fine. I strongly recommend the motorcycle. It’s exhilerating and coming up with new places to ride to has been fun as well.

       
      • agg79

        January 8, 2012 at 1:18 am

        I like your style of running (or maybe the rationalization) – If I run 4+ miles, I can justify that pulled pork sandwich (or that stout beer). One could wonder: How much further for those onion rings? I applaud your stamina/dedication. I have the same motivation to running outdoors, even if the weather is not cooperative. In fact, I hate despise treadmills. And you don’t have to convince me on the exhilaration of motorcycles. It’s been years and I still yearn for the open road on two wheels. But until that day that, I live vicariously through my friends who ride and others like you.

         

Leave a Reply

 
