RSS

The Cost of a Healthy Lifestyle

06 Jan

I just paid $15.57 for a bag of apples.  WTF.  I didn’t know I was paying that amount.  When I walked by the bin it had $.97 on the sign.  I took that to mean they were 97 cents a pound.  They were cute little apples, all shiny and crisp looking, so I grabbed 10 of them.

I continued shopping for the few items on my grocery list and a full cart load later I was finally checking out.  My total bill was over $195 dollars.  Dang.  How come I can never get out of that store without spending hundreds of dollars?

Anyway, on my way home I grabbed my receipt…. just to see.  When I came across the apple price, I hit the brakes.  Since I was already halfway home, and really needed to get home, unpack and head to work, I simply called the store.

I explained the situation to them, and she said I could just bring in my receipt and they would fix it.  But later I was thinking….what if they really are $1.57 an apple?  If that’s the case, I don’t care how cute, shiny and crisp they are. They’re going back.

Great.

Now I’ll have to go back to the store, and probably will spend another $100 dollars before leaving.

It does get me thinking though…. it’s no wonder the people in our country are overweight and unhealthy.  It’s very expensive to eat well, and eat fresh.  I’m not the perfect picture of health, but I do try to eat a lot of fruits and vegetables, and they can be very expensive.  Heck, a box of Little Debbie snacks costs around a dollar.  So if you’re on a tight budget, wouldn’t it make more sense to eat a Little Debbie snack at 10 cents a snack, than a nice crisp apple at $1.57?

What’s your take on it?

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Cost of a Healthy Lifestyle

  1. territerri

    January 7, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I’ve had those same thoughts about eating healthy. Not that I’ve ever been in one, but I understand that Whole Foods stores are the place to go if you want to eat healthy. Funny that people jokingly call the place Whole Paycheck!

    I never get out of the grocery store for under $200. Of course, it might help if I shopped more than once a month! 🙂

     
  2. Jules

    January 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    I completely agree with you. I would love to start that topic with America and somehow pressure whoever prices this stuff to turn it around so that junk food is more expensive than healthy food. Juice and milk are expensive too. Why not buy a 2 liter of soda for 97 cents rather than a carton of juice for $3.68? I don’t understand it. Organic stuff is always way more expensive too so I bypass all that stuff. I can’t go grocery shopping without spending at least $80….it is usually somewhere around $120.

     
  3. agg79

    January 7, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    So true. You try to watch what we eat. but those healthy choices are 3x the cost of the fat laden, sugar coated, bacon filled good stuff. And the farm raised, organically grown, chemical free stuff (like most of the stuff at Whole Foods) is way more expensive than the commercially produce. I do most of the grocery shopping and try to pinch pennies while buying the healthier stuff, but I usually cannot get out of the store for under $120. $1.57 for one apple? No freakin way. I can get a whole box of Little Debbies for that price.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 7, 2012 at 4:36 pm

      I am heading back to the store today to either get a price adjustment or return them. I am a huge apple eater, and will willingly pay $1.57 for a pound of apples, but I would never willingly pay $1.57 for one. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

       
  4. Mike

    January 14, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    That’s crazy. There’s no way I’d pay that much for apples either. Get your cheap, standard-issue apples if I buy them. (Which isn’t often, as Jules typically does a lot of the grocery shopping… for good reason.)

    This is one area that Canada seems to have it figured out. My company bought out a Canadian company a year or two ago, and I got to know several of the people who worked there. Apparently, since the Canadian government pays for healthcare, they try to encourage people to stay as healthy as possible. Healthy foods are priced far less than the fat-laden alternatives. Beer drinkers and cigarette smokers pay about five times what their American counterparts pay for their vices. The train of thought is that if they’re going to pay for their healthcare, they’re going to get their money’s worth out of the person.

     

Leave a Reply

 
