RSS

And Now For the Rest of the (Apple) Story

07 Jan

I thought you all may want to see it.

So here it is.  The aforementioned    APPLE

Ta da!

 

 

I know….

Glorious, right?

It damn well better taste good…..

You see, I was all set to return these apples of gold.  The plan was to stop by Walmart  the store on my way to Junior League bowling.  It’s not really on my way, but it would be quicker and more efficient to go there and then take the kids bowling, rather than go there, come back home, then go bowling.  So I warned the husband and kids that we would be leaving at 11:15 am so that we would have plenty of time.

At 11:15, we piled in the car, the kids with their bowling balls, the husband with his IPad, and me with my apples.

“Need anything from town?” my husband asked as he started to turn away from town towards the direction of the bowling center.

“Ummm… no,” I answered, “but we need to go through town to go to the store.”

“You mean we are going all the way to the store to return the apples?  Is it really worth it?  I mean, how much would they have cost if they were priced correctly?  Wouldn’t we be burning that much in gas?”

Then I got the lecture about businesses and how the smart ones learn to cut their losses before they end up further in the hole.

As the lecture went on, I slunked further in my seat, crossed my arms, chewed my gum a little more fiercely, and stared out the window.

“I mean, I’ll take you there if you want, but I think you should just keep the apples, enjoy them, and know that you got screwed,” he continued.

“Nevermind,” I shot back.

Silence.

“It’s just the principle of it,” I said.  “I know we’d be losing money or breaking even by going back there, but I was charged $1.57 per apple!!!!  That’s ridiculous!”

So I lost that battle, and I’m still a little perturbed that I gave “that store” way more money than I should have.  And I still may bring the receipt with me the next time I have real reason to go there, just to see if they were rung up correctly.

Until then, I’m kind of afraid to try the apples.  What if they don’t meet the expectations I now have for them.  They certainly don’t hold the luster they did when I thought they were cute, shiny little apples at 97 cents a pound.

I’ll have to wait one more day to find out.  You see, I just got back from Bogart’s Smokehouse….. and my belly is full of pulled pork, brisket and coleslaw…. Don’t worry.  I’ll share that story with you as well.  🙂

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2012 in Blunders, Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “And Now For the Rest of the (Apple) Story

  1. agg79

    January 8, 2012 at 1:27 am

    Sounds like you are fighting a losing battle. Stick to your guns. It’s not the cost of the gas to get there, it’s the principle of the whole deal. Don’t be suckered in by some really good pulled pork. Shelling out $1.57 per apple would really chap my behind and I’d drive out of my way to make it right (even if it cost me more in gas).

     
  2. shadowrun300

    January 8, 2012 at 1:33 am

    Yay! Someone on my side. 🙂 I’m pretty hard-headed, so I doubt I will be able to drop the issue that easily. I just didn’t want to fight with my husband about it – so we didn’t go today. I’ll keep you updated though!

     
  3. Abby

    January 8, 2012 at 3:04 am

    Well, it IS a pretty glorious looking apple, but it’s not worth no dollar fifty seven!

     
  4. territerri

    January 8, 2012 at 3:39 am

    I would have pushed to bring them back too. The stores won’t be motivated to make sure they are pricing things correctly if they make big mistakes like that and no one calls them out on it.

     
  5. Jules

    January 9, 2012 at 2:28 am

    You could always make a pie or cupcakes or something with them 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 9, 2012 at 4:19 am

      I had one with lunch today. Again, I was very apprehensive and nervous about taking the first bite. What if it didn’t live up to it’s price? But you know what? It was a deliciously, crisp, tart yet somewhat sweet apple. I thoroughly enjoyed it. But I’m still taking the receipt back to the store… because there is no apple worth $1.57. (Have I said that yet? 🙂 )

       
  6. Mike

    January 14, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, think of it this way. You remember the stereotypical lecture parents give to their kids who don’t want to eat their dinner. “There are kids starving over in third-world countries, blah blah blah…?” If you were to take them back to the store, they’d just have to throw them away, because they can’t resell food once it leaves the facility. So you’re preventing the waste of good apples by keeping them.

    Did that make you feel better? No? Oh… well I tried. 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
