RSS

The Longest Day

15 Jan

Today was a “bury my head in the crook of his neck” kinda day.

I awoke at 3:20 am, got ready for work, made coffee, and then packed my breakfast and lunch.  I dashed out to the car, started it, and dashed back in the house.  Dang it’s cold!!

While the car warmed up, I wrote a note for the family with reminders of all the day’s activities, and promptly left the house at 4:40am.

So far so good.

I arrived at the hotel and clocked in, put on my radio and proceded to the desk.  DeJuan, our night auditor, had 4 people lined up at the desk – wanting to check IN.   It was 6 AM!

We had clean rooms, so like always, we were accommodating and checked them in…..

……It didn’t end there.

DeJuan went home, and I checked in guests one after another.  The numbers never dwindled however, because I had a handful of “walk-ins”, and tons of “same day reservations.”  In between the check-ins, I checked out our “check-outs”.  That’s what I was expecting to do this morning. I think that’s what our managers expected as well, otherwise I surely wouldn’t have been scheduled by myself.

9 hours later, with no breaks and no time to eat, I clocked out and collapsed in my car…. not very satisfied with my day….  It was busy (and I like busy), but not so overwhelmingly busy…

I had also left my unfinished checklist with the second shift, who had their own  share of people to check-in.  But at least there were 2 of them, and 2 managers as well.

I ate my lunch on the way home.  At 4:10pm, almost 12 hours later, I walked in my house, got a brief run down of the family’s activities, and then sat in my chair to catch up on emails and blogs.

I turn my computer on…..     and it doesn’t boot up.

I turn it off, then back on again.   Still doesn’t boot up.

I am beyond the whining stage at this point, and just want to cry.  Can’t any part of this day be easy?

For an hour or more, I search on my son’s computer for reasons why my computer won’t boot up.  No luck.

So I resort to pushing a lot of buttons on my computer, and powering it off and on again, and all of the sudden….

it worked.

You can imagine the relief.

I dried my tears, (yes, I really was crying…), and then went to my husband who had very smartly been avoiding me.

I sat on his lap, and buried my head in the crook of his neck.

It’s weird how comforting this is to me.  And even though I am interrupting him, he stops what he’s doing, wraps his arms around me, and lets me just breathe until I feel better.

I may have only worked once in the last three days, but I feel like I worked 3 days in one today.

So it’s Saturday night.  9:30.  And I’m going to bed.  I’m off again tomorrow.  Thank goodness.  I feel like I’ve earned it.

 

 

 
13 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in Everyday Living, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

13 responses to “The Longest Day

  1. Mike

    January 15, 2012 at 4:19 am

    Please tell me that is a typo. You woke up at 3:20 am?? As in… three-colon-two-zero? I don’t even know what that is. I don’t start breathing again until at least 5:45, much less be up and about.

    Sorry you had such a crappy day. I’m worn out just reading about it. I hope you don’t have to deal with something like that again anytime soon! Here’s to a better tomorrow!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 15, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      Yes… 3:20 AM. That’s typical for me these days, as I’ve been working the 6am – 3pm shifts. I’ve become used to it, so it doesn’t bother me…but for most people, I could’ve stopped my story there and they would have understood my reason for crying. lol

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    January 15, 2012 at 7:27 am

    Wow how come you were alone and they were 4 on the next shift? Anyway I can imagine how drained you must have been! I used to work as a chef doing long crazy shift but I did not have to smile permanently for 10 hours. Trying to understand a bloody computer after that cannot help at all 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 15, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      I really don’t think they expected me to have all those early check-ins. Then when we started to pick up more reservations, they called in more employees. I was definitely feeling the stress after about 6 hours, which requires more “work” to continue to be friendly, outgoing, and smiling. Inside I was feeling “OMG! Just GO AWAY! Lock the doors!” It was hard, but I hope I was able to give good service. I usually pride myself on that,

       
  3. Jules

    January 15, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    You definitely deserve the day off!! Just be thankful that every single phone call doesn’t ring in to the front desk like it did at the last hotel we worked at. It could always be worse!! I hate those days too though….I’m like you – I like busy days – but not the ones that are beyond chaotic and especially not the ones where there is no time to eat. Those are the days I put on my ‘angry’ playlist on my iPod on the drive home. Sucks that you were scheduled by yourself. It’s amazing what can be accomplished with two bodies instead of one, especially in that work environment. Now if you could somehow make it work to where you were sitting on your husband’s lap on your motorcycle outside of a bowling alley eating ice cream with a mini-homemade-delicious-cupcake on top, you would be set!

     
  4. shadowrun300

    January 15, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    You’ve just described my perfect day off! (We are doing this in Florida, right?)

     
    • Jules

      January 15, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      Oops I forgot to add that. Of course in Florida!!

       
  5. territerri

    January 15, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    What an awful day! I’m sorry! I would have been crying too. When things start out difficult and just get worse, it’s hard to maintain a positive attitude. I’m glad your hubby was there for you and helped you breathe easier.

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 15, 2012 at 5:25 pm

      Thanks Terri! Since I had to hold my emotions inside at work, it was really easy to let them go when I got home and had the first excuse (like my computer not starting…). Things are much better today. It’s sunny, yet brisk, making for a nice run… and I can do what I want the rest of the day. 🙂

       
  6. Abby

    January 15, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Oy, what a day! This brought me back to my hotelling days. Why were you checking people IN at 6am? Was it just bad driving weather?? Oh, how I fondly remember those days. NOT. Sorry it was you this time.

    Enjoy your time off, get in some extra neck crooking.

     
  7. shadowrun300

    January 15, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    The hotel next to us was hosting the Cardinals Winter Warm Up – where many Cardinal players would be signing autographs. But a lot of people prefer our hotel, so they stay with us. 🙂 Most just wanted to get parked so they could head over there early, but since we had the rooms clean, we went ahead and gave them the keys to their room as well as the parking garage. I just keep thinking, this is my first time going through the Winter Warm Up at his hotel, so I had reason to be naive, but it wasn’t managment’s first time. Didn’t they remember from last year how crazy it got?

     
  8. agg79

    January 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    Wow. That is one sucky day. I think you got the shaft on that shift. They should have called in the cavalry sooner. I admire your stamina to keep a smile on your face after nonstop check ins. You definitely deserved a little cuddling time. Too cold to take out your frustrations on the bike.

    I hope tomorrow brings you a better/easier day.

     
  9. shadowrun300

    January 15, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    It has been a much better day so far! Thanks for the good wishes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
