RSS

For the Love of Running

20 Jan

Ahhh…..

Nothing like a brisk run to start the day off right.

.

.

.

Who am I kidding.

IT’S FREAKIN’ FRIGID OUTSIDE!!

Now, I don’t mind running in the cold.  In fact, I usually enjoy it.  The air tends to be lighter making it easier to breathe and the cold air keeps me from feeling like I’m working too hard.

I don’t even mind that it takes me 10 minutes to dress for my run.  Unlike Abby who has great ‘running fashion’, I throw on 2 pairs of sweats, a snug long sleeve turtle neck, a long-sleeve thermal shirt, an oversized hoodie sweatshirt, and top it off with a windbreaker pullover.

Jealous, Abby?

.

Right before heading out, I don my earmuffs, put up my hoodie, wrap my scarf around my face….say a few choice words after remembering I haven’t plugged my earbuds in my ears yet…repeat that process, and finally ball my hands up inside my gloves and head out the door.

And this I like —–

But today.

Today was miserable.  What I have failed to mention is that I am okay with cold, but I am not okay with cold wind…. and today was windy.

‘Course I didn’t know this until I got outside, and by that time I was not going to undo all that I had done to go down stairs on the elliptical, so I continued on.

The worst part was heading east.  The worser part was that I always seemed to be heading east.  Not sure how that could be, but I swear – it felt like every corner I turned I was heading east again.  And if I did turn west, and get a break from the wind, the next corner was east again.  Or so it seemed….

Normally after my run I would cool down outside before heading into the warm house.  But today I went right in…

…and immediately began sweating.  I felt a strong urgency to get out of all my clothes, but my fingers were so frozen that they hurt, making it difficult to remove my layers.

By now the blood has painfully returned to my fingertips, I’m snuggled on my barstool with a hot cup of coffee, and I’m thankful that I was determined enough to keep going.

Because as miserable as all this sounds, I love how I feel after a run.

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “For the Love of Running

  1. territerri

    January 20, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    Ugh…. that sounds MISERABLE! I tried being a runner for a while and this is the kind of thing that convinced me to give it up. I wasn’t good at it anyway.

    But… now you, and Abby and Agg and some friends closer to home are nudging me to maybe give it a try again. I don’t know…. maybe… I might…

    Not today though. We’re in single digit temps right now.

    Stay warm!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 21, 2012 at 2:54 am

      Winter definitely puts a damper on running. I have never been one to even come close to enjoying running on the treadmill. Soooo boring, and therefore much harder. But I honestly don’t mind the cold….unfortunately there is usually wind accompanying it. It’s invigorating though, and it sounds like you may be gettin’ the itch – just like I get the itch to run a half-marathon everytime I hear someone talk about it. 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    January 20, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    AH, Girl, where DO you shop?! I must know!

    Oh, I’ve been there. I get out the door and it’s absolutely miserable, but I talk myself into going through with it because “I just put all this crap on, I’m not going back inside just to have to take it all off for nothing!” And you’re right, I’m usually better for it. There have been days where my fingers were too numb and frozen to open my door when I return, and that kinda sucks.

    Thanks for the motivation!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 21, 2012 at 2:49 am

      Yeah – if I could figure out how to keep my hands warm, I wouldn’t mind near as much. I need to layer them as much as I layer my body – just gotta figure out how to do that. Isn’t it funny how numb fingers can be so painful? Especially when the blood starts to return.

       
  3. Jules

    January 21, 2012 at 1:17 am

    Props to you for sticking with it in the cold AND wind. Those are two things I do not like! I stayed inside today and did 10 mins of kickboxing and then did some Kinect track & field and volleyball. A hot drink sounds great right now!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 21, 2012 at 2:57 am

      I wondered if you were still kickboxing… I suppose that would add some variety to my wintertime exercises. I just gotta figure out how to get a routine to follow. (I’m not too old to learn new tricks, am I? lol)

       
  4. agg79

    January 21, 2012 at 2:38 am

    Cold, windy, frostbitten fingers. God, you make me want to run more. I love the stylish running gear (parkas and ear muffs). Bravo for raising the bar for the rest of us lazy slugs. I’ll never complain about having to run in 36+ degree weather (ok, I may whine a bit, but I’ll try not to complain).

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 21, 2012 at 2:47 am

      Uh, yeah, 36 degrees sounds perfect to me. I think today was 18 degrees with a wind chill factor of negative 18, I think. 🙂 Like I said, I can handle 18 if it’s calm, but add wind and ugh…. it’s hard! You may think you’re a slug, but in case you’ve forgotten, you ran a half marathon, so I think we’re even.

       
      • agg79

        January 21, 2012 at 5:28 pm

        Yea, but something about running in weather where your snot freezes and you cannot feel your hands just doesn’t quite seem even.

         
  5. shadowrun300

    January 21, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Funny, but true! Actually my snot didn’t freeze because I had a scarf over my nose and mouth, but the condensation from my breath settled on my eyelashes, and I could feel little icicles on them. 🙂

     
  6. towardshealthylife

    January 22, 2012 at 6:22 am

    This is the kind of day when you want a cup of coffee only to warm your fingers up 🙂

     
  7. Mike

    January 22, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    Ugh. I most certainly do not do cold weather. When my ears get cold, they hurt unbearably. The cold air makes my lungs hurt as well. I suppose my body was just not built for frigid temperatures. I go to the gym, where they have a nice indoor track, to do my running. Kudos to you for toughing it out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
