RSS

On the ‘Road’ to Recovery

25 Jan

My beloved baby is going through major surgery today.

I’m extremely sad.

I’m a little worried.

and frankly, I’m quite upset that she’s having to go through this procedure at such a young age..

My husband noticed her symptoms first.

“She’s whining a little…” he mentioned one day with very little emotion. He’s so matter-of-fact sometimes.

“I don’t notice anything different.”  I tend to brush things off that I don’t want to think about.

“Well, maybe it’s because you’re around her everyday for hours at a time.  You’ve become used to her whining.”

I listened closer….determined to hear the change in her normal humming noises.  Nothing.  But I followed his advice and took her in to determine the source of her whine.

I was shocked with the results.

.

.

“It can’t be!!” I shouted to my husband when I got home.  “There is no way, at three years old, with the way that I take care of her, that she should be experiencing these problems!!”

I continue on before he can even answer.

“I take her in for regular check ups.  I clean her everyday.  I feed her only the best. (Ok….best priced) .  How can this be happening?

“You can always get a second opinion.”  He was desperate for me to calm down and think clearly.

My response was to do what I do best.  Ignore the situation and hope it goes away..

And that’s what I did.

For about 6 weeks.

By then she was experiencing other symptoms, so I brought her back in.  The prescription for her new symptoms were minor, so I was surprisingly calm about treating them.  But when I consulted again with my husband, he repeated his advice to have her bigger problem taken care of before it gets worse.

I stubbornly crossed my arms, and replied.  “She is TOO YOUNG!”

“At this point, it doesn’t matter how old she is.  It needs to be done, so you may as well quit putting it off.  You’ll both feel better when it’s all over.”  Dang.  He can be so unemotional sometimes.

.

.

So Monday night after work, I dropped her off. It hurt to leave her there… all alone.  But I’m trying to trust that she’ll come out of it okay.  And more important.  I’m hoping the insurance will change their minds and cover her procedure.

You see, they declined it when we first approached them.  They think she’s lived a lot longer life than she really has.  I know she’s growing up fast.  But she’s still only THREE!

So there you have it.

My Mustang is in the shop to get the real axle bearings replaced before they get any worse.  It’s about 6,000 miles outside of warranty, and when we tried to fight it (because it really is only three years old), they declined to cover it.  I know it has over 80,000 miles, but they’re all highway miles. (I put 100 miles on it everytime I go to work).  I really do take good care of it, and normally I am sooo proud of it, but the idea that Ford is not standing behind their product really bothers me.

So I’m sinking about $900 into a three year old vehicle and I’m ticked.  But the hubby is right. (Yes… again).  I’ll feel much better about her once she is up and running and behaving like a normal three year old.

Isn't She Sweet?

 
11 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in Blunders, Commute, Mustang

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “On the ‘Road’ to Recovery

  1. Janet

    January 25, 2012 at 8:51 am

    lol, you got me there for a moment….I went like, oh what wrong with her “baby”. I guess I feel the same about my scooter. 😉

     
  2. agg79

    January 25, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Poor baby. All alone with those menacing mechanics and their sharp tools. I hope they treat her nicely and she is back in your loving care quickly.

    It sucks when things break right after the warranty period and they won’t cover it. I had my rear a/c on the land barge go out after warranty and it cost me over a grand to get it fixed. But they have you over a barrel. If you don’t get it fixed, then it will get worse or possibly break down (usually at the worst place/moment). There are times that you just have bite the bullet and have the work done if you intend to keep her a while. And the older they get, the more expensive the work.

    And, for a moment there, I thought you were talking about your bike.

     
  3. shadowrun300

    January 25, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Well, my bike is my second ‘baby’. And she’s only 1 and growing up much more slowly. (I think I put 1000 miles on it last year.) But I would be just as sad if something was going wrong with it. Honda’s pretty good though. I have a little more faith in them. As far as the Mustang,..I know that it needed to be done, but coughing up $900 is tough. I definitely thought it would be more than 3 years before I would have to stick that kinda money into it. Anyway, I hope to get it back today. 🙂

     
    • agg79

      January 27, 2012 at 2:10 am

      BTW – you do know what FORD stands for, right?
      (Fix Or Repair Daily)

       
      • shadowrun300

        January 27, 2012 at 3:22 am

        Oh that is funny! I knew going into this purchase that Ford wasn’t the best maker out there, but I have loved the Mustangs since I was in High School. So as soon as my eldest got his license, and I felt like I didn’t need a family car anymore, I begged my husband for it. We searched high and low for my version of the perfect Mustang, until I finally decided to just order what I wanted – convertible, dark gray, black top, leather seats, 5 speed stick shift. It really has been a great car, I just wish it was made by Honda or Toyota. Oh well, if I’m gonna love it, I have to love all aspects of it. My kids aren’t perfect either. lol

         
  4. Jules

    January 25, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    You had me going on that too! Well played.. 🙂

    I hope you get your mustang back and don’t have any problems with it for a long time. I know how you love that car!

     
  5. Abby

    January 25, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Ford. Don’t they know better than to step between a mom and her baby?!

    Well, she is very precious. I hope she’s home soon and feeling better.

     
  6. shadowrun300

    January 26, 2012 at 2:25 am

    I brought her home after work today! Remember when I said I didn’t notice the “whining”? I guess I really was just used to it…. because now my ride is incredibly quiet. I can’t believe the difference. My excitement about driving it has been restored! ‘Course I haven’t seen the bill yet, but until then I’ll just pretend there isn’t one. 🙂

     
  7. territerri

    January 26, 2012 at 3:18 am

    She’s your baby, and of course you’ll do (or spend) whatever it takes to make her right again. But seriously… Ford should be pitching in here a bit!

    What a great car! I’m a little jealous. I’m up for a new vehicle soon. Wonder if I could convince the hubby… 🙂

     
  8. towardshealthylife

    January 26, 2012 at 4:39 am

    Sorry but I am just laughing right now… I tought Oh my, her poor daughter! But her daughter is older…? You got me too 🙂 Hope you and you baby feel better soon! Great post

     
  9. Mike

    January 26, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Haha… I totally thought you were talking about a dog there at first. Sorry your baby has to go through this trauma at such a young age. My mouth literally fell open when you said you put 100 miles on your car just to go to work, though. Yikes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
