RSS

Pecan Pie Cupcakes

29 Jan

One of my most favorite things to do is search the internet for cupcake ideas.  Usually I plug in a flavor combination that I think sounds good, and then search Google Images for pictures.  The cupcake has to appeal to my eye first, and if it meets that criteria, I’ll go to the website it came from and see if there is a recipe attached.  This could and usually does take hours.  But, oh, what fun it is.

With my husband’s birthday approaching, I knew I wanted to bake a cupcake he would love.  His favorite dessert happens to be pecan pie.  But was I going to make him a pecan pie?  Nope.  I was going to make him a pecan pie cupcake.

I searched, and searched, and searched the web until I finally stumbled upon the recipe.  Gooey Pecan Pie Cupcakes.  Usually I will alter the recipes, or mix and match from others, but I decided this one looked good enough.  I doubled the pecan pie filling, ’cause I thought he may want some extra for ice cream topping, etc, but followed everything else as written.

They were awesome.  However…..   they totally stuck to the wrappers and were almost impossible to eat without scraping it off the wrapper with your teeth.  My husband enjoyed them anyway, his only comment being that he would like to see how they would taste without the chocolate chips in the pie filling.

Always after perfection, I tried them again today, this time with a few changes.

For the filling, I omitted the chocolate chips and added dark corn syrup instead.  I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and used a tsp of rum extract instead of the vanilla and bourbon.  OMG. That’s all I have to say about that.

For the cake, I made some changes as well.  I added some finely chopped pecans to the flour mixture, and added just a wee bit more milk – that I added vinegar to in order to create sour milk.  (I recently read somewhere that the key to a moist cake is adding vinegar.  I don’t know if it’s true, but as long as it’s not ruining the flavor, I will probably keep doing it.)  Then I baked them in aluminum wrappers instead of thin paper ones.

My husband could barely wait.  They’d only been out of the oven a few minutes when he easily pulled the wrapper off and took a bite.  I anxiously awaited his response.

“Oh yeah,”  he says.  “These are much better than the last ones.”

My heart beamed.

I could have left them alone at that point and they would have been delicious.  But I had some filling left over and thought it would be good mixed in a buttercream icing.  Soooo, I made a buttercream icing.  It made a ton, but I just added bit by bit to the pecan filling, until I had a ratio I was happy with.

A dollop on each cupcake with a whole pecan for garnish and …. voila ….

A delicious Pecan Pie Cupcake

Pecan Pie Cupcakes

Wonder where my kids get it from?

I clean up after myself though. Sometimes.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2012 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Pecan Pie Cupcakes

  1. Mike

    January 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Those look delicious. You’ve outdone yourself once again.

    Wife Unit has a similar approach. She’ll mix and match recipes to suit her taste, and the outcome is usually phenomenal. Before we got married, she’d decided she wanted to have a cupcake tree instead of a wedding cake. She wanted to make the cupcakes herself, so she spent many an hour researching/trying cupcake recipes to find ones that were “worthy.” As a result, I ended up being a very popular guy at work, because I’d bring in the extras and share them with my co-workers.

     
  2. agg79

    January 29, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Oooooh. Can I come over for one? Those look and sound (and probably taste) absolutely obscene. I’m sure there is some health/taste law violated there. I really like your experiment and am tempted to try it as well. Just how much vinegar do you add to the milk?

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 29, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      You know, it’s funny that I like to bake so much and that I am obsessed with desserts, because I am a health nut deep down. But I’m pretty good about eating just one – and sometimes making that one last for a day…. but anyway, to answer your question. You use one tablespoon of vinegar to one cup of milk. If you let it sit for 5-10 minutes it will curdle and become sour milk. This is okay and maybe even preferred. I found this by googling “the key to moist cakes”. Most times it’s used in chocolate cakes. I’ve also found some recipes for boiling the milk or water. I wonder if there’s something to that as well. Give it a try though. These cupcakes and the chocolate whoopie pies I made with sour milk were very moist. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    January 29, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    It wholly impresses me the thoughtfulness you put behind your cupcake creations! Again, I must keep your blog hidden from my family, lest my mediocrity be revealed!

    These look and sound really yummy!

     
  4. serialcupcake

    January 29, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    not only is our theme, somewhat similar, but our kitchens are pretty much identical! cool site! keep up the awesomeness!!!

     
  5. towardshealthylife

    January 29, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    I better not attempt to it ,It looks to good for only 1…I do exactly like you and harly ever follow a recipe exactly…I need to create something new everytime lol

     
  6. territerri

    January 30, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Pecan pie is my FAVORITE kind of pie. I WANT some of these cupcakes! I might have to give these a try. YUM!

     
    • shadowrun300

      January 30, 2012 at 4:05 am

      Don’t mean to brag, but these are probably the best cupcakes I have made so far. My husband is devouring them! And I take that as a compliment because he normally doesn’t like cake. These certainly take time, but they are well worth the effort! Maybe they’ll even go well with your potato cheese soup! 🙂

       
  7. Jules

    January 30, 2012 at 2:15 am

    Yummy!!!!!! Have you done a mint chocolate cupcake yet? Or strawberry shortcake? Butterscotch? Peanut butter? Ooh I bet you could mix a lot of different things with peanut butter. I love coming up with different flavors but haven’t been in a cupcake baking mood in a while. When I practiced for our wedding I made a pretty good banana cupcake…some kind of banana filling with a vanilla wafer in the bottom of the foil before pouring in the mix. Then crumble some on top. It was pretty good. There are also some good apple cupcake recipes that use small diced apples.. those ALMOST made it for the wedding. Then there was another…where you make chocolate chip cookie dough balls then stuff one of them in the middle of the mix before you bake them. Anyway… I love your creations and can’t wait to see what you come up with next!!

     
  8. shadowrun300

    January 30, 2012 at 4:21 am

    lol Whoa Horsie! 🙂
    Let’s see. I’ve considered a mint chocolate cupcake (in fact I’ve considered “Thin Mint”, “Samoa” and “Tag Along” cupcakes.) I want to do a strawberry shortcake, but I’m waiting for summer. I LOVE butterscotch and peanut butter so those two flavors will be showing up soon. I’ve made an apple pie cupcake already, with real diced apples, and they were incredible. I’ve also made a cinnamon roll cupcake that the kids have been begging me to make again and of course the s’mores cupcake. I plan to make a cookies and cream cupcake and a salted caramel cupcake and a mocha or coffee flavored cupcake.Key Lime Pie sounds like a good flavor as well – but more for summer. The ideas are endless! 🙂
    You kinda got me started with all your wedding cupcake flavors, and the more I looked into different recipes, the more anxious I was to try them. You’re banana cupcake sounds awesome! I love bananas and vanilla wafers together, so I’ll definitely be trying that. Anyway…. I’ll be sure to share my creations. The ones I’m proud of anyway. 🙂 Feel free to keep submitting ideas though! Coming up with flavors is my favorite part!

     

Leave a Reply

 
