RSS

Off to a Great Start

01 Feb

Bathrooms are a hot commodity in my house.  Especially in the morning.  Even with four of the six members being male and three bathrooms total.  (Gawd, I couldn’t imagine if the ratio was the other way around…)

I normally am up, showered, and out the door before any of the others are even close to waking up.  But on days like today, when I don’t have to work, I tend to get up a little before 6 so that I can get dressed for my run before my bathroom gets overtaken by teenager #2. (Male, but concerned with how he looks….)

As usual, my ocd has me right on schedule.  I head to the kitchen to put on my shoes and drink a cup of water before heading out.  It’s then that I realize I don’t have my scarf, gloves, earmuffs etc.  (What? My ocd doesn’t usually fail me like this.)

So I timidly knock on my bathroom door, hoping he’s in the shower already and I can sneak in and get my things without being noticed.

But he answers, so I know he hasn’t made it that far yet.

“Are you dressed still?”

“umm… no.”

“Well could you get my white tub from the top shelf of my closet and set it outside the door?”

It’s quiet for a moment.  Then,

“The one with your purple purse?”
“No.  The one next to that.”

Quiet again.

“The one with your blow pops?”  (**don’t ask**)

“No.  Maybe it’s not a white tub.  It might be a basket that’s got my scarf, gloves, and earmuffs in it.”

My husband finally speaks up from under the covers – “Just tell him to get in the shower and then go in and get what you need.”

But the door opens, and out comes the basket.  Finally.  Success!

I head back to the kitchen, put it all on and then head out the door to run.

I don’t even make it down the garage steps, and I’m already peeling off the gloves.I leave them on the back of my car.  By the time I get to the end of the driveway I have unwrapped my scarf.  I drape it over the mailbox.

Why?

You guessed it!  It’s 43 degrees outside!  Woohoo!  Perfect running weather!

Now don’t get me wrong.  I still tucked my hands inside my shirt sleeves – warm enough, but allowing air in so I don’t get too hot.  And my cheeks were still rosy from the brisk air.  I also had the sense to keep my earmuffs on (but mainly because I felt so bad about putting my son through so much trouble that I wanted to  wear something…).

So yes, it’s still chilly, but I LOVE running in this type of weather.  Cool.  Calm.  Sun rising.

Awesome way to start the day.

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Off to a Great Start

  1. Jules

    February 1, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    I HAVE to ask..blow pops in the bathroom??

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 1, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      I know… you HAVE to ask… So here’s why – There are some things that I buy just for myself. And when I want one of those things, I expect them to be there. But with four teenage kids in the house, I’d be taking a huge risk by leaving them in the cupboard. So…… I keep them in my underwear basket that’s stored in my bathroom closet. Wouldn’t you do the same?

       
      • Mike

        February 4, 2012 at 3:55 am

        Makes sense to me. If I wanted a Blow Pop, I certainly wouldn’t think to look in the bathroom.

         
  2. Abby

    February 2, 2012 at 2:07 am

    I totally understand the blow-pops-in-the-bathroom. I have hershey kisses in mine. The purple purse, however…

    It’s funny, I was just thinking along these same lines this morning. My two high schoolers have “late start” on Wednesdays. Normally, they are in and out of the shower before I “need” it, but Wednesdays, it’s everyone for themselves and it can get brutal!

    And 43 at 6am! It makes me happy that you had such a nice start to your day! If only you could put it in a jar, right?

     
  3. shadowrun300

    February 2, 2012 at 2:13 am

    I think you would like my purple purse. 🙂 It’s lavender actually, and one of my most favorite purchases. Yet another reason why I am anxiously awaiting spring! (I wrote a blog on it once… if you’d like to see it. I tried to link it, but was unsuccessful. *sigh* but I posted it on September 1st if you’re energetic enough to hunt for it.)

     
  4. agg79

    February 2, 2012 at 2:27 am

    What a hoot! With my kid out of the house, we have plenty of bathroom capacity (3 Seats, No Waiting!). Isn’t it funny that, after you have given birth to them, nursed them, dressed them, diapered them, it mortifies them to be seen by their parents in their birthday suit.

    Great way to start the day. I like your ocd. I cannot run without wearing certain gear. I don’t have to armor up as much as you do since our weather are bit more temperate, but I have resorted to leaving some of my attire on the curb, mailbox, street sign when I misjudged the temp. I will forgo running pants if it is warm enough as well as a jacket, but I will keep the gloves as long as possible cause my hands tend to get colder. Ever tried arm warmers/sleeves? I used a pair for this year’s half (bought them last year) so that I could run in short sleeve shirt and dump the warmers if it got too hot. Don’t have too much use for cold weather gear down here.

    And I love the blow pops rationale. Makes perfect sense to me.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 2, 2012 at 2:38 am

      Never heard of arm warmers, but what a great idea! Come spring, if I’m not too sure what the temp will be, I wear a t-shirt under a long sleeve warm up jacket. But once I’ve started and realize I’ll be too hot, then it comes off – and yes – I leave it on a stop sign or the closest mailbox, or even the cow fence of the nearby farm. But arm warmers I could probably just tuck in my pocket. Thanks for the idea!

       
      • agg79

        February 2, 2012 at 11:58 am

        Glad to help. I scored mine through the Health Expo – lots of stores selling running gear/stuff at a steep discount. You can find some on line at: http://www.roadrunnersports.com/rrs/products/ASW3079/. I even found a runner’s blog that shows you how to make your own version using orthopedic socks.

         
      • Abby

        February 2, 2012 at 9:33 pm

        Arm warmers are the bomb! I wear them for those “borderline” temperatures. Then if they get to warm, I just push them down so they’re like wristbands. Hint: a pair of men’s socks with the feet cut off work in a pinch ;). Now, to go find that purple/lavender purse…

         
  5. territerri

    February 3, 2012 at 3:39 am

    I feel really out of the loop here. 😉 I have no candy in my bathroom. No lavender purse. I have no special running gear (since I haven’t really run for over a year, unless you count the couple of sprints I’ve done recently while out with the dog.) And it’s a rare occasion that I have to battle anyone for the shower.

    It sounds like a beautiful start to your day though. My sister and I just took our dogs for a walk this evening and it was 36 and wonderful!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    February 3, 2012 at 3:55 am

    It’s all relative, isn’t it? I mean the temperatures. Normally, I would not think 43 is nice, or your 36, but once you’ve experienced some real winter temperatures, those numbers look good! I really shouldn’t be complaining though. Like most of the country, we’ve had a pretty mild winter so far. I’ve got my fingers crossed that it’ll continue like this til May!

     
  7. Mike

    February 4, 2012 at 3:58 am

    You’re way more dedicated than me. I can’t get up early to run. I’m not a morning person at all.

    The conversation between you and your son cracked me up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
