RSS

Couch Time

05 Feb

It’s Winter.

I’m being scheduled very few hours at work.

My bowling average has dropped 20 pins this year.

My motorcycle is getting dusty.

And I am bummed.

I’ve been at home a lot lately.  No energy to go out – too cold anyway. No desire to do the laundry stacking up.  No ambition to clean out the basement or closets that have been piling up with junk.  No hankering to go out at night with friends.  No eagerness to even bowl.  **WHAT?**

And all this aversion has been bumming me out even more.  To the point where most days I have just wanted to bury my head in the snow  sand mud, and let life just pass me by.

Until recently.

I knew I needed to figure out why I’ve been feeling this way, and quickly.  And a few weeks ago it occurred to me.

I haven’t been EARNING my couch time!

I am very much a go-getter type of person.  I don’t like to sit still.  I yearn for busy-ness.  I crave physical activity.  I like to go, go, go.

That’s difficult to do around here in the winter.  But when cold, dreary weather is  paired with having very few hours at work. And the hours I do get are s-l-o-w and feel somewhat meaningless, it’s no wonder I’m depressed.

I thrive on working extremely hard, either physically or mentally, throughout the day, so that when I sit down on the couch at night, with my laptop, a huge bowl of ice cream, and the food network on TV, I can say

“aahh….  It feels so good to sit down and relax.”

What’s funny, is that I preach this to the kids all the time.  They get lost in their world of video games and TV and have no real purpose, so they just keep wasting their day away.  However, when they’ve had a grueling week of band camp, or a long day at work, or a cool helmet making project or hidden knife project to work on, they’re excited and feel good about themselves.  And I always point that out to them – how having a purpose and working hard is extremely rewarding.

And yet, I couldn’t see it in my own self.

But now I have.  So I’ve made an extreme effort to not just laze away my days off, and instead, make sure I’m doing things that will make me feel good about sitting on the couch at night.  And when I am determined to do something….  it gets done.

And today was one of those days!  (We were busy at work – yahoo!!) So, I will be dragging my butt to the couch, (just like I want) with my array of guilty pleasures and know that I have EARNED them.

And, Aaahh!  It’ll feel good to finally sit down and relax!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Couch Time

  1. Abby

    February 5, 2012 at 2:20 am

    This seems to be a common theme. I know my “go getter” friend shared that she had no motivation last week. I was shocked. I think it’s just winter cold and less sun and all the other things you mentioned. I’m glad you were busy at work and hope it continues! I know for me, I just like to feel like I’ve accomplished something by the end of the day, otherwise motivation drops. Annoying how that happens!

    Also, for what it’s worth, I take vitamin D during the winter months. I think it helps. Enjoy your well-earned couch time!

     
  2. shadowrun300

    February 5, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Definitely enjoying couch time! Funny you should mention Vitamin D. I bought some for my husband last year because he was experiencing the winter blues. 🙂 I think he’d rather just move to Florida and forego the vitamins. Nice to know that others are feeling the same way in winter. If anything, I really appreciate springtime when it comes around.

     
  3. territerri

    February 5, 2012 at 4:06 am

    Funny how so many of us are on the same page with these feelings right now. I always experience a bit of the winter blues. Maybe I should add some Vitamin D to my daily routine along with the multivitamin that I take.

    I have those same feelings of lacking motivation, but today I made myself move and go and do. I did a bunch of cleaning around the house. I went to church with my sister and her family and then out to dinner. I feel like I made the most of this day. So I guess you’re right. We have to feel like we’ve earned the right to collapse and relax.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 5, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      Exactly. My most depressed days are when I just do things to pass time. Then when couch time comes, I don’t enjoy it. I’m much happier with a busy, even stressful day, if it means I deserve to sit on the couch at night.

       
  4. Mike

    February 5, 2012 at 4:48 am

    I’ve been the same way lately. I have no energy or motivation, and would be perfectly content to just curl up with a blanket in my recliner and sleep through the rest of winter. I need to find something to keep my physically active. My winter waistline would appreciate it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 5, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      I’m pretty good about getting some early exercise in, so my lack of motivation hasn’t even been awakened yet. It’s usually after my exercise that it kicks in. Sometimes I wish I could be satisfied by curling up in a blanket and sleeping all day. But that would drive me insane! (Unless it’s following some massively busy days at work…. and then I’ve earned it.)

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    February 5, 2012 at 6:26 am

    Winter blues or bear syndrome, I have it too because I just want to hibernate and wake up when spring is here…
    I feel the same… when nothing is acomplished it makes me feel useless, tired and depress.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 5, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      Yes. Accomplishment brings pride and self-worth. You’ll be heading off to warmer weather soon, though. Right? I am sooo jealous!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        February 7, 2012 at 3:32 am

        Oh YES! Cannot wait to get outside without having to wear 15 pounds of clothes and soak up the warm sun. I know the sun is suppose to be always warm but in Alberta it can be sunny and -20 celcius so…You’ll be fine when you move to Florida 😉

         
  6. agg79

    February 5, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    It’s the winter doldrums. Too cold/nasty to venture out, too dreary to enjoy the outdoors, and spring’s too far away. It’s a let down from the holidays and all post Christmas celebrations where we feel like curling up on a couch with a book or watching bad TV. We have the same feelings down here – work, eat, sleep, walk the dogs, repeat. We feel like hibernating. I try to plan a full agenda for the weekends to keep busy so that I can enjoy the couch time. The only problem is that my plans don’t always work out the way I intended.

    Don’t fret. Spring will be here soon enough and you’ll be back out on the road and working off some of that energy. And moving south ain’t that bad of an idea, but come summer, you’ll be sweating it out down here.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 5, 2012 at 10:58 pm

      You’re right. Spring will be here soon. And it probably wouldn’t seem so far away, if I wouldn’t sit around and pout about how dreadful winter is. 🙂 I’ve had another busy, somewhat stressful day at work, followed by a few errands, and then Sunday night bowling, so I have earned my couch time for tonight!

       
  7. Jules

    February 6, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    I’m glad you found what was missing! It’s nice to put the pieces of the puzzle together sometimes, then that lightbulb goes off above your head. I feel the same way – I don’t like to just sit around, but if I spend my days working on sewing projects and trying to make myself better, then after Mike gets home I can just lounge around a play a video game or find something interesting on tv. It’s all about balance!

     

Leave a Reply

 
