RSS

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

12 Feb

The Good:

I arrived at work this morning about 30 minutes before I was due to clock-in. I like to be this early so I can put on my work shirt, tie my tie, and don my vest. This procedure is done in the car while listening to the radio. Once I’m in the hotel, I put my lunch in the fridge, attach my earpiece to the walkie, check myself out in the mirror, and then head off to the time clock. Today I still had a couple minutes to kill before my allowed clock-in time. (6 minutes before the scheduled work time – and those of you who know me well, ahem, know that if I clock in 5 minutes before, then I consider myself to be 1 minute late. It’s that OCD again.)

So anyway, since I had a few minutes to spare I passed the time reading the surveys that had been posted on the bulletin board while I was off.  One said, “Good Job, Baron.”  The second one said, “Good Job, Cory”.  And the last one said, “Good Job, Robyn” (that’s me).  Well, of course I looked a little more closely at that one.  As soon as I began reading, I realized this wasn’t a survey that was sent randomly to this guest.  This was a letter that he initiated. He actually took the time to write our company to tell them how much he appreciates me.  He wrote about how I always have a smile on my face, how I always remember his name (he usually stays with us about once a week) how I will have a friendly conversation with him without keeping him from where he needs to be, or without keeping others waiting too long. The letter was quite long, and with each passing word my heart swelled even more.

It doesn’t matter how old you are, or how self-motivated you are to do a good job, when you read something like this about yourself, it can really put you in a good mood!  And I was…. til about lunch time…..

The Bad:

About six hours into my shift, the crowd calmed down long enough for me to want to take a short break and inhale my lunch.  My sweet co-worker told me to “Go for it… Quick… Before it hits again.”

I didn’t delay.  I grabbed my soup mug and high-tailed it to the breakroom microwave.

I was on such a mission that I didn’t notice the wet floor signs…..

Yep.  You guessed it.

I hit the ground. Hard. With my bony elbow taking the brunt of the fall.

A kitchen employee saw everything and ran over to help me up.  I, of course, wanted to act like I was just. fine. So, I continued towards the microwave with my soup.  My elbow was throbbing and my ring finger on the same hand was completely numb.

I started the microwave and headed to the sink to wash my hands.  I could see my finger turning black and blue, and it was swelling quickly.  Suddenly, I was feeling very light-headed and hot, so I quickly sat down to avoid passing out.  This worried the few employees who knew what had happened, but I continued to blow it off.

When the nausea passed, I began analyzing the pain.  I knew that if I mentioned it to management they would have to take me to the ER to get checked out.  I did not want to do this, (much to the witness’s chagrin), because we were so busy…

But my swelling finger really concerned me, (I had the foresight to take my wedding ring off before it swelled up too much) and my elbow ached tremendously. I finally convinced myself to say something.  Mostly because if I didn’t get better, I would probably end up having to go the doctor next week, and that would void any workman’s comp.

So I told on myself.  And they tested me for drugs. Then drove me to the ER.

Long story short, nothing is broken but the x-rays showed swelling in both my finger and elbow. Hmmm… I can look at it and see that!  They gave me some prescription Advil along with the ‘okay’ to work tomorrow, and two hours later, (not bad), I was back at the hotel, clocking out.

My husband, so sweet, offered to come all the way out to get me, but as usual, I would much rather go out of my way to help other people, than have someone help me.  So I single handedly drove my stick shift vehicle all the way home.  The advil had kicked in by that time, so it wasn’t bad at all.  And I was comforted with the fact that he agreed with my decision to tell management.

The Ugly.

It was 16 degrees when I left for work this morning.  It was 26 degrees and extremely windy when I walked from the hospital parking garage to the hospital. It’s gonna get even colder tonight.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in Blunders, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

  1. abby

    February 12, 2012 at 2:15 am

    First of all… Good job Robyn! Doesn’t it feel great to get a rave review like that?! Good on you!

    I’m glad nothing’s broken, but it sounds like you took a pretty hard fall. But what’s the “And they tested me for drugs”? Is that normal procedure when someone falls down at work??

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 12, 2012 at 2:30 am

      Apparently it is. I had to ask twice what she said, because I didn’t think I had heard her correctly. I guess they need to rule out the possibility for workman’s comp sake?? That’s the world we live in today, I guess.

       
  2. agg79

    February 12, 2012 at 2:34 am

    Damn. I am glad it wasn’t a serious injury. Those innocent spills have ended many careers. I think you were absolutely right in alerting your management, despite your fears. Better to keep it in the open than to make it appear like some sort of unfounded worker’s comp claim. I think that really shows character and loyalty to the hotel. Bravo. BTW – I feel your pain. Three years back I went running during my lunch break in preparation for the half marathon and tripped over a sidewalk and went down hard dislocating my shoulder. Like you, I tried to deny the injury but wound up in the ER for 6+ hours getting my shoulder reset. Not fun. I hope the Advil is helping. I imagine that the cold won’t.

    And great job on helping out the guy. I know that complements/notes like that was something you cannot buy, but it really lifts the spirit to see someone appreciate your efforts. We all need a few “attaboys” to make it through the day.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 12, 2012 at 2:45 am

      Yikes. A dislocated shoulder? Kinda hard to blow that one off. I’m extremely stubborn when it comes to my own injuries. I fell last summer down the stairs of a hotel I was “subbing” at. I bruised my leg pretty bad, but didn’t say a word to anyone. Three days later, I went out for my first run after the fall, and slipped and fell on some wet rocks while turning a corner. Tore up my knee and elbow pretty good, but ran the rest of the 2 miles home. Took me a few days to recover from that one. I’ve also bowled and run with a broken rib before I got smart enough to realize it’s never gonna get better unless I rest. Ugh. I hate rest. But that’s the reason I had a huge debate going with myself about whether or not I should tell managment. I’m glad I did.

       
      • agg79

        February 12, 2012 at 2:58 am

        Forgot to mention that I really respect that you drove the Mustang home despite the arm. I drove myself home from work (40 minutes) with my shoulder and it wasn’t fun. I’m kinda like you and tried to work through the pain (not sure if that was hard core or stupid) and I was able to get my doc to clear me to do the half marathon. I my younger days, I was bulletproof and could shake off those spills.

         
  3. shadowrun300

    February 12, 2012 at 3:09 am

    I PREFER to think of it as ‘hard core’, not stupid. I just don’t like anything slowing me down. I still can’t imagine a dislocated shoulder, but I think I woulda been on my doc to clear me to run as well. Let’s just hope I never have to experience that. But if I ever do, it’s good to know that at least one person will understand my need to keep going. 🙂

     
  4. towardshealthylife

    February 12, 2012 at 4:39 am

    Ouch you took a big fall! I hope you the pain doesn’t last too long…so tomorrow if it hurts just go read that letter the guy wrote you again ! It’s only fair that doing such a good job you receive such a letter. It should also come from the employer too every now and then.:-)

     
  5. Janet

    February 13, 2012 at 6:47 am

    I hope your ellbow will get better soon and that you won’t have to make another trip to the hospital. In situations like this I am really glad to be living in Germany, where I don’t have to be worried about health insurance and stuff.

     
  6. territerri

    February 16, 2012 at 12:08 am

    I used to work in a customer service oriented position. Over the years, I received several written acknowledgments/thank you notes for helping someone. It’s amazing what a boost you get from having your efforts acknowledged, isn’t it?

    That fall sounds just awful! I’m glad to hear nothing was broken, but cut yourself some slack for a few days and feel better!

     
  7. Jules

    February 16, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Be thankful there were no stairs involved and that you didn’t break anything! I hope you’re all better now!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 16, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      Yikes – adding stairs to it is a scary thought. I’m better now. Just bruised and still can’t rest on my elbow, but healing. 🙂 I’ve missed you! Good to see you back!

       
  8. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Congratulations on the write-in from your guest. I can’t say I’m surprised. I’ve seen you in action, so I know how good you are with people. Wife Unit used to get so excited when she got to work with you.

    Sounds like you too quite a fall. Sorry to hear that. Definitely glad to hear there was no serious damage, though. Hope you’ve healed up by now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
