RSS

Happy 50th!

15 Feb

I hate to do this again so soon, (another meme of sorts), but it’s either now or wait til I’m a hundred.
I choose now, but you’re more than welcome to wait, or skip it completely…..

Here’s the deal:

Infomercial was my 50th post. 50! To me, it’s a big deal.  I’d never really knew about blogging until my friend, Jules, taught me about it.  I was skeptical at first.  I began by reading her posts and found myself cracking up.  Then she introduced me to Terri, explaining that Terri reminded her of me – a mother of teenagers and a bowling fanatic.  So I hopped on over to Terri’s site and read “Go Ahead. Ask Me How I Bowled.” And it was so fun reading through her stories.

I was still skeptical about writing my own.  After all, I have a tough shell around me, and posting my thoughts on the internet seemed like it would allow others to break into my tough exterior and see my vulnerable insides.

Little did I know how much I would enjoy it.  Not only has it been a fantastic way to memorialize events, but it’s helped me through some stressful times, and I feel like I have made some very good friends along the way.

I didn’t post a whole lot during my first few months.  Mostly because I was busy, but also because they took me a long time.  I felt like they needed to be perfect, so I would read through my drafts over and over again, until I felt they were decent enough to publish.  And then after I published them, I would still rehash them in my mind and sometimes go back in and change them.  Ugh. Sometimes it’s hard to be me.  But lately, I haven’t been as critical with myself, so I’ve been able to post more often.

And now I’m at 50 posts! So I wanted to just share a few of my favorites with you.

My very first blog happens to be one of my favorites.  It took me a very long time to write, because as I mentioned, I felt a little vulnerable putting my story out for all to see, so I had to make sure it was perfect.  But it was so much fun, and I excitedly showed it off to my husband after I’d posted it. I grinned giddily whenever he laughed.  I thought, “This is good!”  🙂

Talk About Distracted Drivers is my most embarrassing topic.  It took some guts for me to write about it, but the story was too funny not to share.

I had fun with Double Whammy as well.  This was the first time I got to show off my husband’s sense of humor.  And it also gives you a sense of my stubbornness.

Our Awesome Adventure will allow you a look at my family.  There are plenty of photos, although my oldest was unable to join us.  It was only a three day trip, but we squeezed in so much that it really was awesome!

These last two posts that I’ll refer you to stemmed from Terri’s posts about Kacey leaving for college.  Terri really has changed my way of thinking.  I had been caught up in the stress of everyday living and parenting, and wasn’t really focusing on what’s important.  She has helped me look at my daughter, especially, with a new set of eyes. A Taste of College Life and She’s Back! are my favorites about her.

So, if you’ve taken the time to look back, thanks!  It’s been a fun ride, and I’m looking forward to the next 50!

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Happy 50th!

  1. territerri

    February 15, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    I’m so glad that you joined the blogging community and that Jules connected us. It’s so good to have a friend like you, with similar interests. I love your sense of humor, your ambition, and your love for baking. I have hopes that one day, our little blogger circle will have a chance to get together and meet in person.

    Congratulations on your 50th post! I’m looking forward to many more to come! (And thank you for the recognition you gave me here. I’m honored!)

     
  2. shadowrun300

    February 15, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    Thank you Terri! I have loved getting to know you all, and I’ve thought, too, how awesome it would be to meet with everyone at some point. I know we’d have a good time! 🙂

     
  3. Abby

    February 15, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Happy 50th! Thanks for those links so I can go back and dig up even more stuff about you!

    It’s funny, of most of my current blog friends we all seem to know that it was Terri that brought us together. That would be awesome if we ever got together in real life!

     
  4. shadowrun300

    February 16, 2012 at 12:01 am

    Thanks Abby! Hope you enjoy the links. It was fun for me to look back.
    And I nominate Terri for president!… *grin*

     
  5. agg79

    February 16, 2012 at 3:12 am

    Congrats on the big 50. I’ve only just joined the tribe, but I have learned a lot in the last few weeks. I like your style and stamina and drive. Your running escapades inspire me to go that extra mile. I love the back stories you listed. I just wish I had gotten here sooner (I would have added some comments on Branson). Of course, we can all blame Terri for this since she seems to be the glue (or duct tape) that brought us together.

    Again, kudos on number 50. I am looking forward to the next 50.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 16, 2012 at 3:24 am

      Thank you! Hard to believe I inspire YOU to run. I was just about to give it up when you came along and ran a half marathon. I now run with renewed energy and a much more positive outlook.
      You have me curious about Branson….. should I ask, or really believe that curiosity killed the cat?
      And hooray for Terri! 🙂

       
      • agg79

        February 16, 2012 at 11:25 am

        Nothing really too wild. We spent a week in Branson in 2005 on vacation. We did a lot of of the touristy stuff (amusement park, duck rides, two shows, go cart rides, dinner). It is a great town for families. Sort of like a mini Vegas without all the sleeze. The thing we found funny is all the old performers that headlined there. Several times the comment was heard: He’s here? I thought he was dead.

         
      • shadowrun300

        February 16, 2012 at 3:38 pm

        Branson is definitely ALL that! And I feel the same way about the performers… He’s still alive??? It’s hard to get too wild and crazy there. We didn’t take in any of the shows or do the amusement park. We just ziplined and rode horses. Much more fun.

         
  6. towardshealthylife

    February 16, 2012 at 7:29 am

    I had such a great time reading through those post you linked! You have a beautiful family! Of course I laughed lol I like the way you make unfortunate adventure sound funny 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      I’m so glad you took the time to read through them. 🙂 When I was younger, I used to let the stress of life really get to me. It seemed like I was in a “woe is me” mood ALL the time. Now, I try to look at the bright side of things – at least AFTER the situation is over. I’ve found I’m much happier when I can see the humor within.

       
  7. Jules

    February 21, 2012 at 12:31 am

    Thanks for the shoutout! I knew you would enjoy Terri’s blogs, even if you didn’t end up writing your own. I’m so glad you did though, because I really enjoying reading your blogs! Sometimes it is hard to hit that final ‘post’ button. I’ve even written a few blogs about work knowing that I probably wouldn’t publish them. I didn’t publish them…I just saved it as a draft and then later deleted it, but writing is definitely a way to help ease the stresses and vent a little, as well as talking about all the positive things.

    Congrats on your 50th blog! We’ll need 200 more by the end of the year 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2012 at 6:56 am

      Uhhh… you’re not the boss of me anymore…. 😉

       
      • Mike

        February 25, 2012 at 4:58 pm

        HA!! ^^

         
  8. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Congratulations on hitting the big 50! You’ve certainly taken off as a blogger. I wish I had your drive to keep up with writing like you do. I’m the same way. As I’m writing a post, I sit and read it like 50 times before I finally hit the ‘publish’ button. I really enjoy reading your stories, though. Looking forward to the next 50.

     

Leave a Reply

 
