RSS

My Beloveds

15 Feb

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I would like to commemorate my top 10 loves:

.
1. My Husband. (He calls himself StratoSit279)

Of course this should go without saying, but I LOVE my husband.  We’ve been together over 20 years.  He treats me like a princess and would do absolutely anything for me.  Including, warming up my side of the bed so that it’s toasty when I climb into it.  If that’s not love…

2. My Children.

Yes they drive me crazy… after all, they’re all teenagers – that’s their job.  But they are GREAT kids.  They’re very creative, artistic, and musically inclined.  And although they don’t help around the house as much as I would like, they are more than willing to help with things that make my life easier – driving the young’uns around, running errands for us, tending to the animals, and all the while growing into very respectful, law abiding adults.  I am incredibly lucky to be their mom.

3. Exercising and Healthy Living.

Ten years ago I never would have included exercise on the list.  Now, however, I love it.  In fact, if I go too many days in a row without any form of exercise, I get incredibly grumpy.  Running and butt toning are my favorites. 🙂

I also love reading articles on fitness, and watching or reading stories about people who have lost weight and/or gotten in shape.  I think this is because I overcame some very unhealthy habits and I’m proud of where I am today.

4. Cupcake Wars and The Amazing Race

Cupcake Wars airs on the Food Network.  Basically, 4 different bakers compete to see who can bake the tastiest cupcakes and then display them in the most creative way.  I love this!

And how can you not love The Amazing Race? I have a smile on my face the whole time I am watching it.  And all the while I think to myself, “as soon as I am able to leave my kids and job for 3-4 months… I am ON it!”  I’d love to race with my hubby, although I’d imagine that we’d fight… but I think we’d do very well.  We’d be the obligatory “old couple” by the time we’re able to drop everything and go.

5. Researching Recipes and Then Making Them.

I can spend hours on the internet googling cupcake recipes, cookie recipes, bread recipes.  Then once a week, I make the hard decision of which one to bake.  I share some with the family, then bring the rest to work.  I think they like being my guinea pigs.

6. Reading.

I love a good book!  Right now I am reading “After Ann”.  It’s different from my normal reads of crime thrillers.  This book is about an unlikely friendship between two ladies, and their on-going struggles.  It’s very moving. My favorite time to read is while I’m eating breakfast. The kids are either at school or still in bed.  This only works however if I’m not eating breakfast in my car.  (On my way into work for a 6am shift)

7. My Heater.

My heater is my best friend during the winter months.  It usually stays plugged in my bathroom, because that’s where I’m most likely to be cold.  But if I could attach it to me, I most definitely would.  I hate being cold.

8. Couch Time.

After a long day, I can’t wait to relax on the couch.  I have my own spot.  It’s crowded with blankets, and has a few ice cream spills on it, and it’s ALL mine.  As you know, however, it’s only really appreciated when I feel like I have earned it.

9.  Ice Cream

There is not one day that goes by where I don’t have ice cream.  It began when I was on my way to losing 60 pounds.  At the end of each day, I would treat myself to ice cream.  At the time, I would measure out a half cup serving, and then eat it as slowly as possible, savoring every bite.

Now I find the biggest bowl around, fill it up, plop on the couch, and still savor every bite. I suppose it’s still a treat for me, and something I look forward to.  Maybe that’s why I love couch time so much.  They go hand-in-hand.

10. My Blog Friends.

I have to thank Jules for getting me started on blogging. (Her husband, Mike, also blogs).  From there I have met Terri who led me to Agg79 and Abby Normal.  Then very recently I have met TowardsHealthyLife and Some Frozen Cookies.  And although StupidTom tends to keep to himself, I find myself cracking up while reading about his mishaps. Too funny!  I feel like I am making some very good friends, all over the world, and I am enjoying it tremendously.  Thank you all for allowing me into your blog-dom.

.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2012 in Everyday Living, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “My Beloveds

  1. Abby

    February 15, 2012 at 3:44 am

    Wow, how informative – like a “love” meme! Really good stuff. It’s nice to stop and smell the roses… or eat the ice cream… or watch some TV… or tone the butt…. etc…

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2012 at 1:44 pm

      That was some of my intent – to stop and smell the roses. But then I realized there are a ton of things that I “love” , and I keep thinking about all the things I left off, and my OCD really wants to go back in and edit it, but maybe I’ll just do a sequel sometime. lol

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    February 15, 2012 at 8:02 am

    It’s funny because my husband warms up my spot too sometimes but I suspect him to plan on steeling my side of the bed lol. Great post! Thanks for sharing about your loves and I am honor to be considered one of your blog friends. It’s so weird, I never taught this kind of virtual frienship was possible until I started my blog…:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2012 at 1:41 pm

      I always wonder if there’s another motive behind warming up my spot…. but I think most times he does it just because.
      And I love having blog friends. I share lots of stories with my husband and co-workers about you all. It’s definitely been fun!

       
  3. agg79

    February 15, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you as well! Hope you got lots of love and attention from #1. I like the meme although I would think that #3 counters 8 & 9. It is always good to stop and count our blessings.

    And where on your list is the Mustang and Honda?

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2012 at 1:57 pm

      Yep. The exercise offsets the ice cream and couch time for sure. 🙂
      And you know what, I tossed and turned all night because I after I posted this, I realized I left off my motorcycle and car. I felt so ashamed. What is winter doing to me? I suppose if Valentine’s Day fell in July, I would replace “heater” with my motorcycle and convertible.

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    February 15, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Awww. What a lovely post! Happy Valentine’s Day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 15, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      Meleah! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 You, too, are one of my most favorite blog sites to visit! Your stories crack me up! Hope to see you back again soon!

       
  5. territerri

    February 15, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    You have so many loves! It looks like you are really able to appreciate the simple pleasures in life. I share a lot of those loves, though I would replace ice cream with Caramel Bugles, and I WISH I could say I love running. I WANT to do it, but it does not come easy to me.

     
  6. shadowrun300

    February 15, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    First off – Caramel Bugles? Never heard of them! I’m a huge caramel fan, (Caramel Pecan Crunch is my ice cream of choice), and if they have the salty/caramel-y flavor that I’m thinking it does, I could add them to my list!
    And running is definitely not easy. I think it’s the workout, sweat, heavy breathing and feeling of accomplishment that I love. And the fact that I can eat a ton of ice cream because of it. 🙂

     
  7. Jules

    February 19, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    I’m so glad you decided to start blogging!

    Reading your comment above, and because I can’t remember all your cupcakes you have done, have you tried a caramel icing? Or some of the harder candy caramel, maybe putting one of those in the center to see if it melts when it bakes.

    Why does your husband call himself StratoSit279? I’ll have to check out some of the bloggers you mentioned.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2012 at 10:44 pm

      I have not tried a caramel icing yet. One of my next cupcakes will have a salted caramel topping. I adore salt and caramel together….
      And I’m happy I started blogging too. Thanks for introducing me to it. It’s made what could have been a dreadful winter, very fun!
      Finally, he calls himself StratoSit279 to make fun of me. (He doesn’t blog…) Strato because his motorcycle is a Stratoliner (mine’s a Shadow) Sit because I run and he sits, and 279 because that is his highest bowling score. (One strike away from a 300).

       
  8. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    HA! Your husband’s name made me laugh once he explained it. You guys are so funny.

    This is a good list. I love my heater too. I have a small space heater that I purchased years ago when I rented a house with some buddies. My room was always freezing, even when the heat was on. I hate being cold, so I bought a heater to fix that. Years later, I still lug it around with me and plug it in if I’m going to be sitting somewhere less than 75 degrees. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      I LOVE knowing that. People make fun of me at work because I plug the heater next to where I’m standing. I get crabby when I’m cold, and a crabby desk agent is no fun!

       

Leave a Reply

 
