RSS

Clementines, Cardamom and Chai

16 Feb

I did it.  I bit the bullet. And I’m glad.

I’d been debating whether or not I wanted to buy some cardamom. I’d been looking through a few recipes for chai cupcakes and I also came across a recipe for clementine pound cakes. Both of them call for the spice.
I’ve never used it before, so I had no clue what it smelled or tasted like, but I love chai tea, so I figured it couldn’t be too bad.
I went off to my usual grocery store in search for some.
It wasn’t hard to find. Right there in the spice aisle, filed under C.
I was hoping to purchase a small bottle since I wasn’t sure how much I would use, but all they had were the larger ones. I winced when I saw the price. $12.97!
Yikes! I barely pay that much for an entire meal!
So I put it down and walked away.
I couldn’t get the recipes out of my mind, however. And I’d come across a few others that called for cardamom, so the other day I did it.
I made the purchase.

And yesterday….  I used it to make the clementine pound cake that I’d come across.  I opened the bottle up and sniffed right away.  Yum!  It’s got a sweet smell that would seem like it would go well with the clementines.  Whew.  Money well spent!  The pound cakes are awesome.  I actually made individual ones in muffin tins, and then glazed them with a honey/butter mixture.

Clementine Pound Cake

Then today… I used it to make the chai cupcakes.  I followed the recipe exactly since I’d never made them before, and I’m really happy with how they turned out.  I chose to ice mine with a honey buttercream frosting that I found from this site.  Good choice!  🙂

Chai Cupcake with Honey Buttercream Frosting

Mmmm....

Wonder what I can make next?

 
17 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Clementines, Cardamom and Chai

  1. agg79

    February 16, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Ok. Quit that. Here I am stuck in a meeting and you are out there posting obscene food pictures. After buying those high end (expensive) apples earlier, $13 spices should be right up your alley.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 17, 2012 at 6:06 am

      Well I AM becoming a culinary snob – buying only the best, most expensive food that Walmart has to offer. 🙂
      And if you’re in a meeting… should you really be gawking at my “obscene” photos???

       
      • agg79

        February 17, 2012 at 11:41 am

        Hey, it was just another in a long line of meaningless meetings I am invited to where we debate critical, life altering decisions (like what color we want the box to have or if we are going to sell the stylus or give them away). At least I now have a high techie device to keep some portion of my sanity. And I wasn’t gawking, more like drooling.

        And I always thought you might be a Wallmartian.

         
      • shadowrun300

        February 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

        I am impressed! You’re able to check email and comment on blogs already? You’ve only just gotten your high techie device, haven’t you? I’m happy to have been able to bring a much needed break to your oh so important meeting. Will the box be orange for clementines or brown for cardamom? Hopefully you chose to include the stylus. People love getting things for free. Or is it only us ‘Walmartians’ that like that?

         
  2. territerri

    February 16, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Oohhh they both look scrumptious! I have a new cupcake/muffin pan. I really need to put it to good use like you do.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 17, 2012 at 6:11 am

      Are you kidding? You’re banana muffins were AWESOME looking! I think you HAVE put it to good use. 🙂 Are you still making yummy suppers? That’s where my downfall is – we have frozen pizza for supper, but our dessert is made from scratch. lol

       
  3. Abby

    February 17, 2012 at 1:39 am

    Well, the sure LOOK delicious! I can almost smell them, and I don’t even know what cardamom smells like. And I love the idea of individual “pound muffins”.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 17, 2012 at 6:17 am

      I’d never tried individual pound muffins before. They don’t take near as long to bake. But if you love the crust of a pound cake as much as I do, you’ll love these! Crust all the way around! It’s hard to explain what cardamom smells like. I suppose it’s similar to ginger or nutmeg but seems to be a little sweeter. I’ll be searching for more ways to use it. 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    February 17, 2012 at 1:44 am

    I just love cardamom! In sweets, chai tea, rice or couscous YUM. You should look at the price of safron next time you go shopping, it should make you feel better about your purchase lol. It looks so delicous but I will not bake any cupcakes for a while after me turning into a piggy yesterday and the day before. I don’t think I would only have one so I will stick with looking at a photo 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 17, 2012 at 6:27 am

      Mmmm… cardamom in rice. That sounds like it would be yummy! I don’t know what saffron is either – is it sweet?
      And it’s probably best you don’t tempt yourself for at least a few more days. 🙂 I’ve thought about trying to make “healthier” cupcakes, but I’d much rather go for the taste. For me, I get the most joy from creating the taste I’m looking for. I’m satisfied with a bite or two, then I share some with my family and bring the rest to work. I like to BAKE cakes, but EAT ice cream. 😉

       
      • towardshealthylife

        February 17, 2012 at 6:45 am

        Well I guess it’s like any spice if you put it with sweet it could be sweet. It is really expensive but very unique taste. The best one omes from spain and I think it is picked by hand. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saffron
        I realised that the more I eat sweet stuff the more I want…lol

         
  5. meleah rebeccah

    February 17, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    that looks SUPER delicious!

     
  6. Jules

    February 21, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Those look AMAZING!!! I hate how spices are so expensive! I was going to buy some fennel seed last week and it was more than $5 so I didn’t buy it it, and only one of the brands available had it! I’ll try again at a different store someday.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2012 at 1:43 pm

      I can’t say that I would ever buy fennel because I’m not a fan of it, but I was going to buy some real vanilla beans… omg…. have you priced them? I stuck with vanilla extract. Let me know if you find a place that sells spices cheaper, or at least gives a variety of choices, because you’re right, there’s usually only one brand choice, so no price competition.

       
  7. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    My mouth is watering from looking at your pictures. Well done, ma’am! I’ve never heard of this spice of which you speak, though.

     
  8. Erin

    March 13, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Will be trying your recipe…my office has a Caribou in it (yes IN) and being prego I miss my chai caffeine indulgences!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2012 at 10:34 am

      Hi Erin! Thanks for stopping by!
      The chai cupcakes were awesome! The honey buttercream icing was perfect with it! Let me know what you think!

       

Leave a Reply

 
