RSS

Two Peas in a Pod

19 Feb

My daughter is a mess.

She hears it from me at least twice a week.

Sometimes I don’t even have to tell her.  She’ll beat me to it, saying “I’m a mess, aren’t I?”  and give me a sweet grin.

The most common reason I call her a mess is because of her room.  It’s, well, a mess.  ALL the time.  Then there’s her bathroom. Messy.  Her ‘locker’ in the utility room. Messy.  Her breakfast table area.  Yep…. messy.  In fact everywhere she goes, she leaves a trace of her in some form.  A single sock.  A pony tail holder.  A bobby pin.  A book.  We call her a rabbit or mouse because she leaves droppings where ever she goes.

She’s also a mess in another sense.  She rarely takes her time with anything.  She’s the only one of my four children that doesn’t procrastinate.  She’s the exact opposite.  A school project that should take a few days to complete, is done in one evening.  Sounds heavenly, but she’ll be upset a few days later when she finds out she got a ‘B’ it.  If I ask her to clean her room, she’s done in 5 minutes.  Of course on closer inspection, I see everything has been shoved under her bed or in her closet. She rolls her eyes when I drag it all back out, and make her clean it again.  If she has things to bring to her room or carry to the car she piles it all up in her arms and tries to get it taken care of in one trip.  This usually results in her dropping a few things, breaking something, or getting hurt.  When this happens, I rarely have sympathy.  I explain to her that if she would just take her time to do it right, she would 1.) Possibly get an ‘A’.   2.) Not have to re-clean her room.  3.) Not have to cry over a broken IPod, or hurt toe.

Lately, I am the one that’s been a mess.    Okay, I’ve probably always been a mess, but didn’t realize it until I started to see the same characteristics in her.

After all, I don’t always take my time either.  My first blog came about because I tried to get everything to the car in one swoop.  My purple, yellow and green elbow is the result of  rushing to get my lunch heated up.  And my latest injury, a muscle strain in my knee/inner thigh area, is probably because I didn’t take the time to warm up before doing side lunges. (I’ve had muscle strains before and I know from experience that they are painful and debilitating for a long time.  I’m very aggravated.)  Then today, when I arrived home from work, I grabbed ALL my things as I usually do – 3 bags, my purse, my empty coffee mug, my laptop – and struggled to get out of my car.  I started to lose my balance and fell into the edge of my car door hitting my elbow right where I’d landed on it last week.  Now it’s throbbing all over again. Will someone please come right out and tell me…..

I am a mess.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in Blunders, Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Two Peas in a Pod

  1. towardshealthylife

    February 19, 2012 at 6:35 am

    lol Isn’t it anoying when we find that our kids have bad trait and it’s our fault! Does it means that it will be a never ending mess for me and my daughter as well? I am trying so hard to teach her not to be one but maybe I should just stop worring about that 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      My husband and I argue over who they got their bad traits from. We each blame ourselves, not each other, if you can believe that. I’ll say, “he gets that from me. I’m sorry” and then he’ll say, “but he gets THIS from me!” It’s kinda funny actually.

       
  2. agg79

    February 19, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Reminds me of the proverb: The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree. I’d agree with you (you are a mess) but that would be a perfect example of another idiom: The pot calling the kettle black. As much as I’d like to deny it, I have the same tendencies. And we wonder where our children get their bad habits…

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm

      Well, recognizing it in myself (and I have noticed it long before now – trust me), has helped me be a little more patient with her. But SURELY I have some good traits that I’ve past down…. or am I just selfish enough to have kept those for myself. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    February 19, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    This is encouraging, I thought messiness was mainly a boy thing! Now I know it’s universal!

    I remember hearing or reading somewhere that traits we don’t like in others mainly annoy us because we know we have them ourselves. Yep.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 19, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      Oh no… it’s not just a boy thing. In fact, my second oldest boy could probably teach her a few things about organization and clutter-less-ness. And it’s definitely true about finding our own traits annoying in other people. With the kids, I think it’s because I don’t want them to have the same issues that I have, so I get mad at them for having them. Oh well… perfect parent I am NOT. 🙂

       
  4. Jules

    February 21, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I always try to carry all the groceries in at one time, unless I have a massive amount. I think everyone is a little bit of a mess. Plus how fun is it to keep everything picked up all the time? I am famous for leaving hair ties laying around everywhere, and chapsticks. Actually, I place a chapstick in each place that I usually stay for longer than 15 minutes, so that one is planned. But hair ties – you can find those all over this house.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      I think you’re right. We all have some “mess”-y tendencies. I even kinda like having something to make fun of myself about. It’s too stressful to try to be perfect…

       
  5. territerri

    February 22, 2012 at 2:36 am

    I do that struggling to the car thing with too much stuff in my arms all the time! And I said to my coworker today, “I used to think I was really organized, but I’m beginning to realize I still have a lot to learn.”

    I guess I’m a mess too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2012 at 3:09 am

      Yeah – I can add unorganized to my list of messes as well. lol
      I should mention, too, that I love that my daughter can laugh at herself for being a mess. It shows me she knows it, she accepts it, and because of that she’ll be able to meet the challenge of it…
      My #2 son could learn a lesson from her. He admits nothing – it’s much easier for him to blame others for his “messes”, which means he may always be a mess. nice. lol

       
  6. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    I’m generally pretty organized, but I’m definitely a procrastinator! Jules is just the opposite, and my putting off of things drives her crazy.

    Oh yeah… I always try to get the groceries in one trip too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      Yes, Julia is definitely organized and not a procastinator. One of the reasons I loved working with her. StratoSit is like Julia, so he and I balance each other out.

       

Leave a Reply

 
