RSS

A Little Cheese With Your Whine?

20 Feb

Nope.  Just the whine, please.

And lots of it!

I’m sure you all are sick of my whine, and I’m pretty certain my co-workers are sick of my whine, and I know my husband is sick of my whine, but I am sick of my leg.

The pain started very locally at a muscle near the inside of my knee.  I thought it was just sore from the side lunges I had done earlier…

but then the pain became more intense and spread along the inside of my thigh.  Now, it hurts constantly and more so when I walk or bend or sit.  It’s also painful to touch, and seems to be a little swollen.  I’m sure it doesn’t help that I spend all day on my feet at work.  I don’t plan to see a doctor, because I feel like I know what it is,and it’s slightly better today, and I do plan to try really hard to rest it

Really.

I mean it!

I know you don’t believe me. (I don’t believe myself even, ;))  But I am not bowling tonight…. so that’s a good first step.

Anyway, thanks for sharing a little whine with me. I’m going to stop now as too much whine leads to more whine, and I don’t intend to make it a habit.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Blunders, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “A Little Cheese With Your Whine?

  1. agg79

    February 20, 2012 at 3:58 am

    Hey, if it hurts, it hurts. Whining is fully acceptable at this stage. Sometimes you have to take it easy to get well. Hope you are able to rest and recoup some of your strength and you are feeling better in the morning.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks for the whine support! It’s the “taking it easy” that’s hard for me to do. I got up this morning thinking I might try the elliptical – hah! As soon as I stood up, the blood rushed to my leg, and I was unable to put any weight on it even. I stood propped against my bed for a good five minutes before I could hobble to the bathroom. After a while it got to where I could limp. So, I begrudgingly chose to do sit-ups instead. I’m trying to be good. Patience, Girl, patience….

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    February 20, 2012 at 4:15 am

    I love the title lol I am a whiner too! If it makes you feel better go for it and maybe a glass of real wine would help with the pain lol Hope you feel better soon 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2012 at 1:18 pm

      I can’t say I haven’t thought about some real wine. I don’t usually drink, but this leg may drive me to it. I was forced to take some pain medication a few days ago for it. It was that bad. I’m a stubborn ol’ gal – no meds, no rest, just keep fightin’, but this time…. it may actually beat me.

       
      • towardshealthylife

        February 21, 2012 at 7:18 am

        …it must really hurt! I am sending you some positive vibes 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        February 21, 2012 at 1:43 pm

        Thanks for the good vibes! I’ll let you know if they’re helping…. 🙂

         
      • towardshealthylife

        February 21, 2012 at 6:48 pm

        probably won’t do anything but it’s the intention that counts lol

         
  3. Abby

    February 20, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I feel your pain. Well, not literally at the moment, but I’m the same way when something just isn’t “right” and it slows me down. Whine away!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 20, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      Yes! I’m aggravated by these little speed bumps. But I’m not holding on to the “woe is me” any longer. Instead, I’m putting my energy into treating it so it gets better fast. I think it’s a pulled/strained muscle. I’m icing it, resting it, elevating it, and keeping my fingers crossed. This is day 5 of the injury, but only day 3 of the treatment. We’ll see how long I last. 🙂

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    February 20, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    Oh no! Feel better soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2012 at 6:59 am

      Thanks, Meleah! I hope I do! I’m not one to like just sittin’ around waiting to heal….

       
  5. Jules

    February 21, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Rest!!!!! Prop your legs up, heat and ice, all that good stuff. You know the good thing about resting? It’s the perfect time to have ice cream!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 21, 2012 at 1:47 pm

      You’re absolutely right!
      But…
      If I rest, and eat ice cream, and rest some more, then the ice cream will catch up with me…
      such a dilemma!

       
  6. territerri

    February 22, 2012 at 2:32 am

    Okay, but promise you’ll go see the doctor if it doesn’t improve soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 22, 2012 at 2:50 am

      I promise. (Do you think I can somehow combine a leg check with a mammogram. You know, just to make it more worthwhile…)

       
  7. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Sounds like you’ve earned some couch time to me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
