RSS

ShadowRun: Still on the DL

23 Feb

ShadowRun, the town’s most dedicated only runner, is still on the disabled list.  Currently known as ShadowLimp, she’s been nursing her injuries for a week now.  Reasons for the injury remain a mystery, however most believe it was caused by straining her abductor muscle while performing a sideways lunge.  This is an exercise she’s been able to perform in the past with no difficulties, however, age may certainly be playing a factor this time around.

This injury comes only a few days after suffering a harsh blow to her elbow.  Having received no broken bones as a result of that mishap can only be attributed to her daily intake of ice cream.

Some fear this latest casualty may be the end of ShadowRun’s running career, however, past experiences show she has never been one to give up easily.  Most believe she will fully recover provided she rest, ice, compress and elevate (R.I.C.E.) , however the naysayers clearly know how stubborn she is about taking care of herself, and seem to think it may be months before she can run with no pain.

Only time will tell what ShadowRun’s outcome will be.  Until then she remains on the DL.  When asked to comment on her current situation, her response was an agonizing:       “This Sucks!”

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2012 in Blunders, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 responses to “ShadowRun: Still on the DL

  1. Janet

    February 23, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Oi, I hope you will feel better soon and that the age explanation will not be true. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 23, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      Thanks Janet! I hope so too… Every day I feel a LITTLE improvement, so I think I’m on the right track.

       
  2. agg79

    February 23, 2012 at 11:59 am

    I’d say take it easy and lay off the running for a while, but somehow I don’t think that is in your genes. Compression shorts might help but I’d keep doing the RICE therapy to see if it makes a difference (what about heat?). Get some more couch time and rest up. I’m sure you’ll be back out pounding the pavement around town by the spring thaw.

    And, yes, getting old does really suck, but don’t let it get you down. You are only as old as you feel. Illegitimis non carborundum.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 23, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      When I posted this, I knew it made it sound like I was still running, but I haven’t run since I’ve hurt it. It’s been over a week now… But I AM on my feet all day, especially at work. I have to be on my feet at least 8 hours non-stop. So I rest it as much as possible when I’m off – but I could be better at that. I’ve put heat on it as well, especially because a lot of my muscles around it are tightening up, but the ‘main’ part burns so much that I prefer ice. And elevation SOUNDS good, but when I finally put my leg down, the blood rushes to it, and the pain from that is AWFUL! So morning time is definitely the worse – when I first stand up.
      I’ll give it more time… and don’t worry about me feelin’ down about gettin’ older. I FEEL young (and immature…) I don’t plan to let this beat me. 😉 I just need to be smarter about stretching and staying loose. I’ll be alright….

       
  3. abby

    February 23, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Visualization. Visualization and meditation. Visualization and mediation and yogic chanting…

    …and drugs.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 24, 2012 at 11:43 am

      omg – I have to tell you about the drugs… stay tuned…. I’ll try to write about it tonight! 🙂

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    February 23, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Oh that does suck! I hope you feel better soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 24, 2012 at 11:43 am

      Thanks Meleah! Everyday is a little better.

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    February 24, 2012 at 5:33 am

    Being standing all day long cannot help I guess but you are a tough, immature, stubborn, young (what else did you say?) etc. 😉 It might take longer than you think but I don’t believe there is something that can stop you from being a runner…just have to be patient 🙂 Take care!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 24, 2012 at 11:46 am

      Patience is definitely key, and if you noticed, not a word I used to describe myself… immature and stubborn probably best fit me! lol
      I’m actually feeling a little better today! Good proof that my rest is paying off! Woohoo! 🙂

       
  6. Jules

    February 24, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    lol Shadowrun: Journalist style. Love it! I do NOT love that you are still in pain, however. I just picked up some IcyHot at Walmart today to see if it helps with my neck muscles Also in Walmart, I was looking for fennel seed only to find it ~$5.00 yet again, but I also looked at the cardamom and it was almost $13.00.

    I remember getting some real vanilla beans at World Market for a stocking stuffer one year. I don’t remember how much it was, though, but they do have several spices there.

     
  7. Jules

    February 24, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    here you go!

    http://www.worldmarket.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=cardamom&origkw=cardamom&sr=1

    World Market’s cardamom. Vanilla bean is $2.99 though it doesn’t look like it comes with that many beans.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 25, 2012 at 2:51 am

      Thanks for the info! We actually have a World Market near us that I love going into. I’ll have to try them. I buy coffees from them often and other unique foods. It’s a fun place!
      $2.99 for vanilla beans doesn’t sound so bad now that I’ve paid $13 for cardamom. 🙂 I want to use it in icing so that you can see the specks of beans.

       
  8. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    I have faith that Shadowrun will return to her former glory in no time at all. It sucks that it’s lasted this long, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
