RSS

Du-u-u-h….

24 Feb

Ok people.

I’m hard-headed.

I’m stubborn.

I’m impatient.

Not always bad traits to have….  They show I’m strong, motivated, and determined.

I’m also, open-minded, but sometimes it needs to be pried open.

This time, I pried it open myself.  Let me explain.

If you haven’t heard,  I am hurt.  (No, you can’t say “duh” here – wait til you finish reading….)

I’ve been hurt for about a week.  I’ve complained, I’ve whined, I’ve begrudgingly rested, iced, elevated, heated, etc.

But I still hurt.

The strained muscle has caused swelling on the inside of my knee, and because I stand most of the day, the swelling has traveled downward.  So every day the pain travels downward as well.  The pressure is so intense that I feel like someone’s taking a sledge hammer to my whole calf/shin, and someone else has my upper leg muscle and is squeezing it tight without letting go – ever.

So like I said, I’ve been applying R.I.C.E. therapy whenever I get the chance.

But not once did I ever consider giving in to the little brown pills in my cabinet.  I thought about them occasionally, but I’ve never been one to take medicines.  I’m a firm believer in developing my own immunities to fight off sickness, and because I literally have not been sick for many, many years, I’ve taken that as proof that I’m right.

But I’m not sick.  I hurt.  Yet I still never gave in to the pills…..until yesterday.

You see, I had 2 major work shifts coming up.  One was a 3pm – 11pm at my hotel.  Then I was driving further away to another hotel to sleep for a few (four) hours before going to work for them from 7am – 3pm.  I didn’t think I was going to be able to stand the pain for that many hours and still be NICE.  So I surrendered, and took TWO of the pills.  That’s HUGE for me.

But when I got to work the pain had decreased so dramatically.  I felt like the people in the V8 commercials – the ones that smack their forehead and said “I shoulda had a V8!” only I said “I shoulda done this sooner!”

DUH!

So I learned a few things… but all is not quite perfect.

Some of the reason I didn’t take the medicine is because I knew that if I felt better, I would do more.  And if I did more, I could damage it further.  So last night at work I was walking around like I was cured.  Of course I didn’t do anything major, like go out and run, but I didn’t baby it either.

And even though I didn’t take any more little brown pills today, I still felt pretty good… just the occasional burn to remind me it’s still there.

Now I’m home.  As soon as I walked in the door, I took off my sock.  I could feel it getting tighter and tighter.  And sure enough my ankle is swollen like a balloon.  My ANKLE.  It’s the muscle near my knee that is injured.  But the swelling has traveled all the way down.

Yet I FEEL better, so now I don’t know what to do…..

I’ve got it elevated with ice frozen corn on it while I type.  I don’t even know where to put the bag.  On the ankle?  On the injury?  Both?

I’m a mess.

But I really am done with this topic.

Thanks for stickin’ with me.  I’ve committed to going to the doc on Monday if things aren’t better.  I’ll do a brief update later if you care to know.

One final comment:

After a week and a half of no running and no cardio, I’m filling out my pants pretty nicely.  🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2012 in Blunders, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Du-u-u-h….

  1. towardshealthylife

    February 25, 2012 at 1:33 am

    You are getting me worried now, how about going to the doctor to make sure it is not getting worst? How about not going to work for a week? If the pill lure you into thinking you are fine and then you walk on it more than you should it must hurt when it runs off! 🙂

     
  2. shadowrun300

    February 25, 2012 at 2:58 am

    I thought it would hurt too, after the pill wore off, but I’ve really felt pretty good for over a day now. The swelling has increased though. That’s what I don’t understand.
    I’ll go to the doctor Monday if the swelling doesn’t go down, or if the pain comes back full force. I can’t really take off of work at this time, though. I’m off tomorrow and should be able to take it easy.
    Thanks for your concern though! I’ll let you know if it turns out to be anything major.

     
  3. Jules

    February 25, 2012 at 2:59 am

    Hope you feel better!! I will definitely be looking for an update!

     
  4. shadowrun300

    February 25, 2012 at 3:18 am

    Thanks Julia! Hope you’re feeling better as well! I may just send you a text when I have an update. I think this topic has over-stayed its welcome. I have fun things I want to write about!!
    Have a great weekend! Once again it was good seeing you! 🙂

     
  5. agg79

    February 25, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Ouch. I agree that you need to see the doc sooner rather than later. The way it’s progressing, it sounds like much more than just a strained abductor. The pills might help take the edge off, but they aren’t fixing the problem. I’d be more worried about getting it fixed asap, even if it means you are off the cardio for a while. You’ll just have to find other low impact ways to burn. In the meantime, I hope you will stay off your feet.

    I hope you feel better soon. Let us know what the doc says.

     
  6. shadowrun300

    February 25, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Yep. I think the doc is is in my near future. Looking at the swelling last night in my ankle and calf really scared me. I elevated it while sleeping last night, so the swelling has gone down but the pain has returned. Not quite as intense, but still there. I plan to stay off my feet as much as possible today. Unfortunately I work tomorrow, but then I’m off the next two days. I miss the cardio, but I know this needs to be fixed first.
    Thanks for all your advice, and the concern. I’ll update in the near future. In the meantime, I want to write about something else for a while – this topic has obviously consumed my life, and I’m ready to move on…..
    Hope you have a great weekend!

     
  7. Mike

    February 25, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Ugh. Your injury doesn’t know where it wants to live. I hope it gives up and goes away soon! I’m sure you miss your running, bowling, and all of that fun stuff you normally do.

     
  8. shadowrun300

    February 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    I absolutely miss it. 😦 But I kinda think I’m on the mend. It’s not near as painful, so it’s weird that the swelling has increased. I keep thinking that pretty soon it’ll travel down to my toes, and escape from there.
    Thanks for catchin’ up with my blogs! It musta taken you a while…

     
  9. abby

    February 26, 2012 at 4:09 am

    This has gone on too long. Now with the swelling in your ankle, I agree that it’s time to call in the professionals!

     
  10. territerri

    February 27, 2012 at 12:45 am

    I’m glad to hear you are going to the doctor. This just doesn’t seem like a typical muscle strain.

     

Leave a Reply

 
