RSS

Trial Run

28 Feb

Yep. You read it right. I went for a trial run today.

You’re probably thinking I’m crazy and I have to admit, I’m wondering if I am….

I’ve had two songs going through my head the last couple of days:

I Feel Good by James Brown

and

Is It All In My Head? by Nelly

Let us review, shall we?

Two weeks ago, I pulled a muscle in my leg.  It hurt a little. I rubbed it.  I went for a run the next day.

Big mistake.  Later that day I was in excruciating pain.  The pain lasted for 6 more days.  It kept me from doing anything.  I didn’t run, I didn’t elliptical, I didn’t do my butt exercises…  nothing.

Finally, on Thursday, 8 days after the injury, I succumbed to the little brown pills.  And, oh my gosh, did I feel better!  Except….

the swelling had taken over my whole calf and ankle.  I had no pain, but I had extreme pressure from the swelling, and I felt like I had no circulation in that area.

I continued to take the ibuprofen, apply R.I.C.E. therapy and elevate it, and still discontinued to exercise.

 Two days later…..

NO PAIN!  NO SWELLING!

I kid you not.

So I braved a short run today. I took short strides, and stayed very loose, and focused on my leg, waiting for any kind of pain or tightness to occur.

Towards the end of my 1.5 mile run, I could feel some tightness.  I continued running since I was so close to home, then walked it off for a while.

I left my compression pants on. (thanks for the idea Abby and Agg! ..)  for an hour or so while I did some soft stretches and cooled down.  And now – I feel fantastic!

What the heck?

I’ve come to one conclusion.  Some higher authority knew that I was trying to gain the 6 pounds back that I lost a few months ago.  (Who knew cutting back my runs to two or three times a week would actually make me lose weight???)  So of course I thought the best way would be to add a few extra scoops to my ice cream bowl, but obviously that wasn’t working very well, so a virtual bat was swung at my leg.  That was the ticket!  I gained back the six pounds, and now

I FEEL GOOD!  dadadadadadada  I knew that I would now….

 
15 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2012 in Blunders

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Trial Run

  1. territerri

    February 29, 2012 at 2:44 am

    SO glad to hear you’re feeling better! I was getting worried about you!

    I know how much you love to exercise. I think someone was just reminding you to pay attention to your body when it talks to you! 🙂

     
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    February 29, 2012 at 3:17 am

    Read your post on “Towards Healthy Life” and it was so cool! 🙂 Looking forward to reading more!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 29, 2012 at 3:33 am

      Thanks for stopping by Thin Lady! 🙂 I’m going to try to fill in for HealthyLife while she’s gone. It’ll be fun for me to share my story with you all and hear your stories as well!

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        February 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm

        That’s great! I’ll sure miss HealthyLife but it will be great to read more about you too! 🙂

         
  3. Mike

    February 29, 2012 at 3:34 am

    Very glad to hear you’re back to your old self again. I was getting worried about that leg of yours.

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 29, 2012 at 3:48 am

      Thanks Mike! I just can’t believe how quickly it turned around! So…. how are YOU feeling??

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    February 29, 2012 at 4:16 am

    If I knew you couln’t find a way to gain your 6 pounds I would have shared with you lol. Just glad you are all better!

     
    • shadowrun300

      February 29, 2012 at 11:21 pm

      Aww….. lol….and I would have gladly taken it…. 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    February 29, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    YAY! You’re back! Smart you to take it easy for the first time after the layoff. I know how tempting it is to go all out.

     
  6. shadowrun300

    February 29, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    I am SO happy to be back. There was no way I was going to ruin it again by pushing myself. Even today, the day after running, I feel great! Probably won’t get to run again for a few more days due to work, so I should be more than ready to hit the trails again by then!
    I have a little more respect for my muscles now – I plan to treat them a whole lot nicer! 🙂

     
  7. agg79

    March 1, 2012 at 11:43 am

    Bravo. Glad to see you back in the saddle (or shoes) again. Just ease back into it and don’t be starting any marathons real soon. I’m glad it was nothing serious to keep you off your feet (for very long). Now, just lay off those those slippery lunch room exercises.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 2, 2012 at 1:54 am

      I guess I’ll never know exactly what it was. So odd that it would go from one extreme to the next within a matter of days.
      But I am definitely a much happier person right now.
      However, I AM still feeling the effects of my lunch room exercise. Any kind of pressure on my elbow causes pain. I can adapt to that though, so no real complaints!! Just happy to be lacing up my runnin’ shoes again!

       
  8. Jules

    March 2, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Yay!!!! Glad you are feeling good again!! 🙂 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2012 at 12:13 am

      I am in SUCH a better mood these days! I’m glad too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
