RSS

Spring is in the Air!

02 Mar

And I’m starting to feel a twinge of excitement!

Temperatures were into the 60s today, the sun was shining, and there was just a slight breeze out of the south.

I worked the 6am – 2pm shift today.  It kinda sucks to get up at 3am, but it rocks getting off work at 2pm.  Especially on a day like today!

As I was leaving the hotel garage, I gazed longingly at the runners circling the Arch grounds, wearing shorts and t-shirts!  I was bone tired from standing all day, but I knew then that I would be going for a run when I got home. This day was too good to pass up!

I merged onto the interstate and crossed the river to Illinois.  It wasn’t long before I began seeing them.

Motorcycles.

I tried not to stare.  I tried not to drool.  I tried not to go green with envy.

It’s still not quite warm enough for me to dust mine off.  It has to at least be 75 degrees out, otherwise my hands go numb from the cold, even with gloves on.  And numb hands trying to shift, break and steer does not make for a safe motorcycle driver.

But seeing these guys leaves me itching to ride.  And the more of them I see out on the roads, the more I feel that Spring is near.

I’ve just about made it through my 5th final winter here in the midwest.  Only 4 more to go, before I can fly south!

I only hope I’m not too disappointed in a few days when the temperature goes back to the average of 45 degrees.    Perhaps then I’ll be working a mid-day shift, and not even notice…..

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2012 in motorcycle, My Shadow, Running, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Spring is in the Air!

  1. Mike

    March 2, 2012 at 3:43 am

    It was beautiful outside today. I went for a run this evening, and didn’t want to come back inside. I finally gave in after it got dark, but it still felt great… and I was wearing shorts.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2012 at 12:24 am

      A run! Yay! I enjoyed my run, but I didn’t brave shorts. I did wear ONLY one pair of pants, and a long sleeve shirt with a light jacket over it. That’s dressing down for me! 🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    March 2, 2012 at 6:21 am

    Being able to enjoy the afternoon outside when it’s nice almost makes you forget that you worked the first part of the day. Well it used to be like that for me when I would go for a swim after cooking breakfast and lunch in a restaurant.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2012 at 12:17 am

      Definitely! I feel like I still have a good part of the day to do something else. Lots of times I’m too tired after my long drive home, but I’ve found if I get up and walk, run, or elliptical, it wakes me up enough to be able to stay awake til 9:00! 🙂

       
  3. abby

    March 2, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    AHA, light at the end of the tunnel!

    There’s a guy who rides a scooter, even on the most frigid mornings, through my crosswalk. He has a full-face helmet, but I wonder about his hands!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2012 at 12:09 am

      Yes! The light! If I know the end is near, it’s easier to make it through the cold days!
      I’ve seen a handful of motorcycle riders riding in the early FREEZING morning hours throughout this winter. They must have heated handle bars and be wearing electric clothes – similar to an electric blanket. They make those things, but I can’t see spending that kind of money. It’s probably cheaper to just move south. 😉 I’m glad winter is not slowing them down, but I can’t see how it’s as much fun that way.

       
  4. territerri

    March 3, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Don’t you just love days like that? I think we kind of fail to notice them during the warmer months, but when it’s supposed to be cold and they show up, it’s great! Everyone and everything seems to have more energy on days like that.

    Hope you got a good run in!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 3, 2012 at 11:00 pm

      I usually don’t run after work. Since I stand all day, my legs aren’t usually up to running, but I couldn’t pass this day up. So I just took it nice and easy, and took in the sunshine and warmth. Thank goodness I did , because the days following have been back to cold and windy.

       
  5. agg79

    March 5, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    It is nice to be able to run after a long day, even if your dogs are tired. Spring is just around the corner and warmer temps are not too far off. Pretty soon you can be cruising the back roads on the bike. Of course, I won’t mention we’re bumping the mid 70s down here. The bluebonnets are just about to start blooming.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 5, 2012 at 3:56 pm

      I love just being outside. And thanks for not rubbing it in too much about how nice it is down there. 🙂 Hope your trip to Austin was good!

       
      • agg79

        March 5, 2012 at 6:38 pm

        It was but I am paying for it now. 2.5 days of playing class and I am now 2 weeks further behind. At least the drive up & back was nice and I got to share a beer with my son. Austin is a really nice town, if you can deal with the traffic.

         
      • shadowrun300

        March 5, 2012 at 7:02 pm

        I know how that is. Sometimes it’s more work to be away from work.
        But, if you got to have a beer with your son, at least you were able to get a mix of business and pleasure.
        Hope your Monday isn’t too taxing on you. Don’t mean to rub it in, but it’s my Saturday. 😉

         
  6. Jules

    March 7, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    haha you could always ride your motorcycle up and down the driveway 🙂

    I am ready for warmer weather. I’m never a fan of cold weather. Eew.

     

Leave a Reply

 
