RSS

Rescued Dogs

08 Mar

Unlike Terri, I am NOT into shoes.  I have the normal mix of running shoes, flip flops, work shoes, and jeans shoes.  I sometimes have two of each type – one brown, one black – to match what I’m wearing.  I look for shoes based on comfort first, then price, then style.  I wear them til they fall apart, or become so thin on the soles that I basically am going barefoot.  At that point, I will shop again.

Well, today was that day!

I’ve been needing a new pair of running shoes – desperately.  I used to be more diligent about buying a new pair after so many miles, but since I have cut back my running to 3 days a week, I kind of let the shoe buying slow down as well. My current shoes have lost all bounce and feel really flat.  But no biggie, right?  I mean, there happens to be a big trend in barefoot running these days – I read the book.  And I almost believed it.  So I thought, instead of spending a hundred dollars on those light shoes, I would just let my shoes wear down so much that they become that kind of shoe.

Sadly, I’ve learned I’m not a barefoot kind of runner.  I like bounce.  I like comfort.  I like to feel light while running. I don’t like clunking, and feeling flat-footed.

Since I didn’t have to be at work until 2pm today, I decided to stop at a shoe store on my way in.  I chose a store I don’t normally shop, but know they have good deals.  I walked immediately to the back of the store in search of a bathroom.  Every girl knows – okay, every MOM knows – you can’t shop for anything if you gotta pee.  And I had just driven 40 minutes with 2 cups of coffee and a bottle of water in my system.

I search the back area for a few minutes, before I ask.  I was a little dumbfounded to learn that there was no public bathroom in this HUGE shoe store.  I politely thank him, then walk out the door.  I cannot shop in a place with no bathroom.  Their loss.

So on to the next place.  Actually, it’s my favorite place, and I don’t know why I didn’t go there to begin with. It’s a one stop shop for clothes, home goods, and shoes.  They carry all the name brands and have a pretty good selection.  And I’m a preferred customer (just ask the credit card guys),

….and they have a bathroom!

So I’m not sure why I went somewhere else.

I was able to find pair of shoes that met all my criteria.  And I may have found a new pair of work shoes too.  I’m going to wear them tonight at work and see if they’re comfortable enough to stand in for a looong period of time. If so, I keep ’em.  If not, they’re going back.  (Just don’t tell them what I did.)  **update** They are going back.  😦 After 4 hours my feet hurt bad, and I still had 4 hours to stand. But that’s okay – I’ll just shop again…..

In the morning, barring any rain showers, I’m going for another run.  Temps should be in the upper 50s again at 6am, and I am looking forward to a cool, cushy, run!

And my old running shoes have now become my NEW lawn mowing shoes!  I’m officially ready for Spring.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2012 in Everyday Living, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Rescued Dogs

  1. agg79

    March 8, 2012 at 10:40 am

    Ditto for me as well. I don’t have many shoes, but the ones I do have I’ve worn down until either soles are gone or the laces have broken (for the third time). When I find a brand/style I like, I will wear it until it basically disintegrates. Probably not good for my running. Once they start to wear out, my running shoes usually make the rotation into dog walking, car washing, and lawn mowing shoes. The last two pair were a splurge, one from the local sporting store and the most recent one was a from a specialty running store (via a gift certificate) where you get more hands on attention. The manager convinced me to up an 1/2 size to improve the fit (it worked). My work shoes are more along the line of casual/Dockers. I’ve got a pair that I am wearing down and I am on the hunt for a new pair, but the no longer make that style. I figure if I ever do find that pair/brand again, I’m getting two.

    Ever considered ordering shoes on line? That’s the shopping item I haven’t yet accepted. I still like to “test drive” the shoes at the store.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 8, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      I have not considered ordering shoes on line. I’ve thought about trying them on in the stores and then trying to find them cheaper online, but I always decide to just purchase them at the store. I like to “test drive” them as well.
      I’ve never been into a specialty running store. We have plenty around, but I can’t bring myself to pay that kind of money for a pair of shoes. Again, I’ve thought about getting advice from them and then going elsewhere, but that doesn’t seem quite fair either. So, I’ll just stick with my tried and true New Balance shoes.
      Good thinking on your work shoes. I think when I find a pair that’s comfortable to stand in for 8 hours, I’m gonna by two. 🙂

       
  2. Rock Chef

    March 8, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Hi, found you!

    I will be back to read something soon!

    John

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 8, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Hi John! Talk to you again soon! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    March 8, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Shoe hunting – I’m not really a shoe girl either. A gene that my shoe loving mom didn’t pass down to me. But it’s a necessary evil if you’re a runner. Like you, I think my feet missed the window for barefoot running.

    A couple of years ago, I went to a specialty running store and got the deluxe treatment with gait analysis and all – mainly because the middle son runs track and cross country, and I was there with him. I think it’s a good idea to have that done once. Now I know the type of shoe I should get, but I don’t buy them at the $$pecialty $$tore.

    No bathroom? That’s just wrong.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 8, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      I’d like to have the ‘deluxe treatment’, especially now that I’m older. It would probably be beneficial, but I’d worry the whole time that they knew I was using them.
      No bathroom. No business. They just missed out on two sneaker sales a year. 🙂

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    March 9, 2012 at 12:19 am

    Oh man, sorry the work shoes have to go back. Bummer.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 10, 2012 at 11:23 am

      Me too. And I thought they were THE ones. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    March 9, 2012 at 2:17 am

    That is the frustrating thing about “work” shoes. You have no idea if you’re going to love ’em or hate ’em until you’ve worn them a while and walked in them a bit.

    Not sure if the style you buy is dressy or a bit more on the casual side. If you can get away with a little bit casual, I highly recommend Clark’s. A little pricier than some but very worth the money.

     
  6. shadowrun300

    March 10, 2012 at 11:24 am

    I can totally get by with casual. I just need comfort. I’m okay spending a few extra bucks for my work shoes, so I’ll definitely be checking these out. Thanks Terri!

     
  7. Mike

    March 11, 2012 at 5:24 am

    Heh… it’s nice to see that you “retire” your old shoes like I do. My old tennis shoes become my grass-cutting/paintball/fourwheeling/ok-to-get-dirty shoes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
