RSS

To Toot or Not to Toot

12 Mar

That is the question.

I hope you can answer it.

I am one of six people who has interviewed for a supervisor position at the hotel.  The plan is to hire three agents to supervise the front desk in order to lessen the load of our Assistant General Managers.  During the interview we were told they would hire one supervisor a month starting in February.  There would be no more interviews, but they would be looking for certain qualities from each of us.   They kindly shared with us what areas they would like us to improve upon.

I agreed with some of them.

I disagreed with most.

I’d like to think I’m a shoe-in for the position.  I’ve already let you know how well I believe I do my job.  Along with that, I’m pretty intelligent, I have experience, I am respected and am respectful of all employees, I am professional, I receive highly rated surveys,  and I am old *ahem* …mature.

Probably the biggest issue I have is when they told me they would rather I focus on the quality of work rather than the quantity. They pointed out all the projects I am involved in – ordering for the pantry, creating a concierge binder, posting front desk focus signs for the agents (for example: ensure keys are made correctly, sign people up for our frequent traveler club…all positive suggestions for helping our agents provide better service.), following the Trip Advisor ratings, actively looking for ways to increase business…etc, etc.

I was offended for two reasons.  One, they’ve asked me in the past to take on more projects in an effort to show them I am wiling and able to take on more roles….  Two, my quality of work has NOT gone down because I have taken on these other responsibilities. Most of these were done during our extremely slow times when I thought it best to be productive while I am on the clock, rather than search for cupcake ideas on the internet.

There were other things as well that they would like to see out of me, most of which I do, but they don’t see or don’t notice, because when things are running smoothly, they allow their focus to go to the areas that aren’t.  I’ve mentioned before that they don’t seem to make the connection that the reason they are not called to the front desk area very often is because I have the desk, the agents, and the guests under control.  But because they are not at the desk very often, I am not being seen doing the responsibilities they want me to be taking on.

So I’m wondering – should I toot my own horn, or should I continue on with my usual quality of work and hope that they notice before hiring someone else into one of these positions.  One of these, by the way, has already been filled by a guy who I thought would be their second choice.  I believe I know now who their second choice will be, so that would hopefully leave the third position for me.  (I am the low man on the totem pole here, and I do believe that the two in front of me deserve it….)

If I am right about who will get the second position, then I only have one other person I am concerned might beat me out.  If that happens I will be perturbed for a couple of reasons – neither of which I want to get into right now.  No sense raising the blood pressure over something that has yet to happen.

So…. should I toot or not toot?  And if I do toot, what’s the best way?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “To Toot or Not to Toot

  1. Mike

    March 12, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I places I’ve worked, I’ve found that I’ve been more successful getting promotions when I’ve approached the decision maker and let them know I was interested. I’ve asked for things I can do to improve my chances of getting it.

    It also depends on how they addressed you. Was is collectively, as a group, or individually? If they gave the list of improvements to the group, then I wouldn’t take it personally. If, on the other hand, they sat you down and said directly to you, “We want to do better in these areas,” then yeah, I might be kinda pissed.

    Granted, I don’t know your environment, or your supervisors, but I’d think of approaching them and saying to them, “I’m interested in advancing with this company. I know you gave us a list of stuff to work on. These are the things I do on a regular basis [give a list of highlights]. Is this along the lines of what you’re looking to see?”

    It would show them that you both have initiative, and give you an idea of whether they are really aware of all the things you do.

    Just a thought. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2012 at 2:07 am

      Everyone was interviewed individually, but we were all given things to work on. I just thought the things I was given showed they don’t really see everything I do. So your line:
      “These are the things I do on a regular basis [give a list of highlights]. Is this along the lines of what you’re looking to see?”
      is perfect. Thanks, Mike! I’ll let you know how things turn out!

       
  2. Abby

    March 13, 2012 at 12:55 am

    Hmmm… this is difficult to answer. Personally, I am not much of a tooter (tutor yes, tooter no). Also, I don’t really know what your working relationship is like with those in charge. If it’s chummy, then yes, toot away. But if it’s more formal, I would just let them know that I was interested and continue to demonstrate a good example. Then if I wasn’t chosen, I would resort to covert sabotage.

    Okay, scratch that last thing.

    But good luck, and do keep us posted!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2012 at 2:18 am

      My relationship with the managers is friendly, but professional. Some who have interviewed are very chummy, so I worry about that a little. I think if I would go to my main supervisor and let her know what I’ve been working on and find out what else I can be doing, that it wouldn’t sound too much like tooting. Like you, I’m not much of a tooter, but I wonder if that hurts me.
      If I’m not promoted, I’m coming back to you for advice on sabotaging…… 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    March 13, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Ok, first of all, “to toot or not to toot” had me thinking this was going to descend to a third grade level (maybe that’s just the 3rd grader in me).

    Selling yourself can be difficult for some. I always found it a bit self-centered and/or narcissistic to go around telling everyone how great you are, but, unfortunately, that’s how some places or people operate, I discovered a long while ago back in the Army, your best advocate is yourself. People don’t always recognize your efforts and dedication so you may have to find ways to promote your successes and achievements to the right group. I agree with Mike, you ought to compile a list of your achievements or the things you shine at and talk with the ones making the decision. But it is a fine line to take, if you push too hard, you risk being perceived as being too manipulative and you may knock yourself out of consideration.

    It may be hard, but it is almost like you are running for political office – you have to sell yourself to them on why you are the best thing since sliced bread. That’s how some people (undeserving, I might add) have gotten ahead. Good luck and I hope they see the light (and keep the sabotage plans as a back up).

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2012 at 11:42 pm

      This would actually be much easier for me if I meant what you thought I meant. Oh, to have the troubles of a third grader…. 🙂
      I think you’re totally right about being my own advocate – it’s that fine line that worries me. One of the guys that applied toots way too much, and for that reason I know he will not get it. He’s perceived as someone who thinks he can do no wrong, and is not liked by most employees because of that.
      So I have to sit on this a while – think it through – get comfortable with how I can approach the topic and still be myself. I can become quite timid in these situations, so I need to feel confident about it before I let out a toot. 😉 heehee

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 13, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Oh! How aggravating! I can totally relate and see your dilemma! I am not currently employed outside my home but I remember wearing so many hats in the company where I was working, I enjoyed doing it all and I pride myself I did it all with quality… and even when everybody praised me for that… later I realized it was “seen as a weakness” ( I guess they saw it like that when it was time to increase salary!!!) when I finally left that company (in great terms, received a beautiful plaque, money, etc.) they hired 4 people to do my job! HUH!!!??? WOW! so I would say… toot but I wouldn’t know how (I never knew how) Sorry I can’t be any more help!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 13, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      You sound like me!! I know I should toot, I just don’t know how. Even with everyone’s advice, including my hubby’s, I still don’t know if it’s in me to do it. I won’t be happy with myself unless I try however. So I’m trying to be brave enough to step outside my comfort zone, and toot away.

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    March 13, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    I vote you TOOT.

    Mike & Agg gave some great advice!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    March 13, 2012 at 11:45 pm

    I vote you toot for me. I have a feeling you would do a much better job at it! 😉

     
  7. Jules

    March 14, 2012 at 6:01 am

    hm…I think it would show dedication and desire to have the person follow up after criticism has been given… you know, ask them how you have been doing since they mentioned you focus on fewer things (even though that was bs)… It shows that you were taking their suggestions seriously, which I think they would want to see in a future supervisor.

    I think you should be honest with them and show them where their inconsistencies are or just ask for clearer directions….like you want to know if you should take on more projects like they recommended, or take on fewer projects like they recommended. Urghh!!

     
  8. territerri

    March 15, 2012 at 1:23 am

    Definitely toot your own horn. If you don’t, no one will. And I’m speaking from experience. I’ve been told that I’m too quiet sometimes at work and if I want to be recognized for my abilities, I need to be vocal about them. It’s not in my nature. Maybe it’s not in yours either, but apparently, in the business world, this is what they look for in a successful employee.

     
  9. shadowrun300

    March 15, 2012 at 2:24 am

    You’re right. I think that is what they look for. I am very forward about taking charge of a situation, and being in control, but to ‘brag’ to my managers about what I do is difficult for me. I plan on having a talk with them this week after things slow down a bit. It’s been crazy busy there, so I’ve had plenty of chances to strut my stuff. Thanks for the advice – I’ll be using it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
