RSS

Back in the Saddle Again

14 Mar

Guess what I did today!

?

?

Okay.  Here’s a clue………

Tuesday's Weather

?

?

Need more help?

How ’bout this…..

Okay.  Fine.

I’ll spell it out for you.

I WENT FOR A MOTORCYCLE RIDE TODAY!

I wanted to go yesterday, as the temps were in the 80s, but it was incredibly windy, and gusty at times.  And with  my inability to stay in an upright position these days, I thought it best to wait.

I worked a long shift today.  I was scheduled 6am – 3pm, but ended up staying til 3:40. I knew I was cuttin’ into my motorcycle time, and was worried about being too tired after my hour drive home.  But enjoying the beautiful sunny skies during my commute kept me excited enough to stay awake.

I rushed inside, tore off my tie, vest, and button down shirt.  Threw on my jeans, leather jacket and motorcycle boots.  My hubby very kindly had started my bike before I got home to make sure things were running smoothly.  All I had to do was clean the spider webs out of my helmet – along with one spider :/ – and I was ready to roll.

I can not describe how exhilarating it is to ride.  I love the strength of the wind against me.  I adore the scents of spring – well, except for the one dead animal we passed, and the freshly manured field.  And I love the camaraderie that all motorcyclists share.  We were only gone 45 minutes, but those were by far the best minutes I’ve had in a long time!

Welcome Spring!  (at least for the week….)

 
18 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2012 in Everyday Living, motorcycle, My Shadow

 

Tags: , , , , ,

18 responses to “Back in the Saddle Again

  1. agg79

    March 14, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Shiny! ‘Bout time you got to air it out on the bike. I bet you’ve been itching for that since early November. There are a lot of hobbies or habits you can spend your time and money on, but I wager that riding the open road on two wheels is, by far, the best therapy money can buy. I imagine that life seems a wee bit sweeter now.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      I woke up in such a great mood this morning thinking about the ride yesterday. It really is great therapy, although part of it could be the great weather we’ve been having. Right now, the sun is shining, the birds are chirping… and I’m getting ready to go into work. I have to remind myself there will be more days like this, and I’ll be able to get out again. The anticipation makes the ride that much sweeter! 🙂

       
  2. Jules

    March 14, 2012 at 6:04 am

    Haha you should have seen my face when I was reading about the spider in your helmet. Not good! Didn’t you kill bugs for me at work??? Aww…I miss working with you. But I AM glad you got to go on your much anticipated motorcycle ride! It was been gorgeous outside lately!!!! We’ve had our windows open the past couple days and throughout the night.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      I was picturing your face while I was writing the words! 😉 This wasn’t a ‘thick’ spider, so I was okay killing it. I don’t normally freak out unless the spider is actually on me. And for the record, I miss working with you too. **pout**

       
  3. Janet

    March 14, 2012 at 7:12 am

    I guess havin a spider in my helmet would have brought me to shivers. My cats ain’t much help with those!! I hope you had a great day!! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      Thanks Janet! It was an awesome day – spider and all. (I guess I shouldn’t mention how many bugs met their demise on my hands, face, and legs, while riding. That’s all a part of the experience! 🙂 )

       
  4. Rock Chef

    March 14, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Good stuff! I know a lot of bikers – my little brother has a huge trike!

    I prefer pedals, but being able to just cruise along does sound good.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2012 at 2:29 am

      It’s very exhilarating, I must say. It’s funny that when I switch to a pedal bike after the motorcycle, it feels so skinny… and tall…. and I can never make it go as fast. 🙂

       
  5. Mike

    March 15, 2012 at 12:23 am

    I think it would be fun to ride one, but I’m not brave enough. Maybe one of these days.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2012 at 2:31 am

      When hubby first got his, I was deathly afraid to go on it. It didn’t take long for me to want to ride one myself, and I love it! We try to ride very defensively, and we wear helmets. I’m aware of the dangers, but I try to use that awareness to make me a safer rider.

       
  6. Abby

    March 15, 2012 at 12:40 am

    Aloha!

    80’s wow. We’ve hit 70 a couple of days this week and it’s weird fun. Enjoy while you can!

     
  7. territerri

    March 15, 2012 at 1:19 am

    I want a motorcycle! Except I probably wouldn’t come back after 45 minutes. Maybe not at all! 😉

     
  8. shadowrun300

    March 15, 2012 at 2:35 am

    Believe me, there are times I don’t want to come back. I’m really looking forward to taking short overnight trips with them. It gets boring taking the same ol’ route over and over again. And if I can do it, you can do it! Does your hubby have a desire??

     
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 15, 2012 at 3:37 am

    LOL! Two things:

    1. I am terrified of motorcycles….

    2. Your post reminded me of a funny pic I saw on Facebook today, it was one of those pics of “signs” that say something funny… and this one said: “We are so excited about spring that we wet our PLANTS” LOL! … anyway… good post! Welcome Spring! Bye bye motorcycles (at least for me!)

     
  10. Stevie D

    March 15, 2012 at 10:11 am

    I couldn’t go all winter without riding. But it’s a special pleasure when, in spring, I feel the warmth of the sun for the first time. Then I know that summer is indeed on the way.(and not before time).

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 15, 2012 at 10:29 am

      It’s tough to put it away during the winter, but I just don’t have the gear to ride through the winter comfortably. I do see plenty of motorcycles out when temps are near freezing, and although I’m jealous, I’d much prefer riding in the warmth of the sun.
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I’d like to head over and see what ‘notwithoutthebike’ is all about!

       
  11. shadowrun300

    March 15, 2012 at 10:25 am

    “Wet our plants.” Too funny! I used to be terrified of motorcycles too,and it was scary first learning to ride my own, but I was determined and once I got comfortable, the thrill was too good to pass up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
