RSS

My Not-so-Off Day

17 Mar

Today was my day off…. of work that is.  Since my days off were split this week (one Monday, one Friday), I felt like I needed to get everything done today, because tomorrow I will be back at work for the next 5 days.

It started off well.  It was so nice out at 6am this morning, that I added an extra mile to my run.  And nothing hurt! Woohoo!

Then I got the kids off to school, grabbed some coffee and breakfast, read a few chapters, then caught up with my blog friends.

Next on the list was the dreaded trip to the store. The store that always has me wondering why I keep going back.  Actually the one closest to my house is a smaller version of the big superstore.  It doesn’t have near the variety, but it also doesn’t have all the people, the long lines, or the unmotivated cashiers.  In this store I can actually go in, get what I want and get out in a decent amount of time.

That would be an impossibility at the superstore – unless I had a Poofer.

Even the customers are nicer at the smaller version.  Today I had parked my cart along the side of the aisle, studying the baking chips – looking for the perfect combination for the cupcakes I planned to bake.  I’d been there for about a minute, when I heard the lady next to me, who had been studying the different bread crumbs, say in a sweet voice….  “Excuse me, but am I in your way?”  and she proceeded to move her cart.  She was absolutely NOT in my way, but she obviously knows the shopping aisle etiquette.  Then, as I was moving to the next aisle, another shopper pulled out in front of me. WAY in front of me. We weren’t even close to a collision, nor was I going to be slowed down, but she she smiled sheepishly and apologized.  I offered a big smile back.  I was almost enjoying myself.

When my cart was full, I rushed to the front of the store, and right up to the cashier.  NO LINE!  I was a little skeptical when I saw her tattooed arms and kind of scraggily hair, but she smiled at me and began to check me out. QUICKLY. And she bagged everything just like I like it.  (Another example of my OCD)

After this heavenly shopping trip, I may never go back to the superstore again.  And in that case, you might just be able to cancel my Poofer order, Terri.

Because this trip went so well, I had plenty of time to bake some Thin Mint cupcakes that I’ve been researching the past couple of weeks.  I thought they would be nice for St. Patrick’s Day – you know, ’cause mint is green.  And because I absolutely adore Thin Mint cookies!!

I baked my first batch using the recipe for a death by chocolate cake that I’d found.  The recipe did not call for cocoa.  Instead it called for tons of melted chocolate.  It sounded good, but the cupcakes turned out very spongy and almost like a dry brownie texture.  They tasted okay, but I wasn’t happy with them, so I went to my back-up cake recipe.  Super Moist Chocolate Cupcakes.  I only changed two things in the recipe.  I added vinegar to the milk before mixing it with the sugar, and oil, and instead of vanilla extract, I used pure mint extract, for the Thin Mint flavor.  I also put a Thin Mint cookie at the bottom of each cupcake liner before putting in the batter.

These baked up much, much better!  They totally lived up to the recipe name!

I debated for a long time about what kind of icing I should make.  I considered a minty chocolate ganache.  I considered a minty butter cream icing and a minty cream cheese icing.  Then it hit me to use white chocolate with the pure mint extract.  I found a recipe for white chocolate icing, and used the mint extract instead of the vanilla, added a little green food coloring to make it look minty, then topped it all off with some crushed Thin Mint cookies.  Holy Cow are they yummy!

Thin Mint Cupcake

White Chocolate Mint Icing with Thin Mint Crumbles

If I make these again, which is likely, I will top the cake with the mint ganache first, then ice them with the white chocolate mint icing.

So I guess the day was a success even though I wasn’t able to squeeze in everything I had wanted to accomplish.  The fridge is stocked.  The cupcakes are baked. I washed my car. Took the kids to make-up the bowling they are going to miss this weekend.  And three loads of laundry were at least washed and dried, although not put away yet.  Oh well.  I’ll have another day off in a week.  And this time I’ll have two off in a row!  My house cleaning can wait til then.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2012 in Baking, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “My Not-so-Off Day

  1. agg79

    March 17, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    Hey, that sounds like a pretty darn good day in my book. I imagine the only thing you could have done to top that would be to get in for another ride on the bike. Sound like your store trip was pretty good and you didn’t once have to poof anyone. Funny how those kinds of trips can sometimes make or break your day.

     
    • agg79

      March 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm

      Oh, yeah, BTW – do you ship cupcakes to Texas?

       
      • shadowrun300

        March 17, 2012 at 11:03 pm

        It was an absolute perfect day for riding, but when I only have one day off, I had to make choices. 😦 I get off work at 2pm the next four days, though, so I should be able to hit the road after work.

        What I should do is get a cupcake delivery van/rv/motorcycle and hand deliver them – especially to areas SOUTH of me. I usually end up bringing them to work, because I don’t want all those cupcakes sitting around the house enticing us. If I could figure out how to keep the quality of the cupcakes, I would absolutely ship you some. Any ideas?

         
  2. Mike

    March 17, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    The cupcakes look delicious, as always. Glad the shopping trip was a success as well. I can’t tell you the last time I had a shopping trip like that!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 17, 2012 at 11:07 pm

      The cupcakes were a hit with the family members who like mint and chocolate, and the people at work seemed to enjoy them. I’m thinking I’ll try Samoa cupcakes next time – or whatever the politically correct name for them is now.
      The shopping trip was funny to me, since it came right after reading Terri’s post. I kept thinking, this is SO opposite of her experience. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    March 17, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    What a perfect cupcake for St. Patrick’s! Heck, even if for no other reason than to have some cupcakes! Way to use your day “off”!

    I usually have to psyche myself up to go grocery shopping. Then I remember that whole “starving people in Africa” thing and I feel like such a whiner. Still, the Poofees can ruin the fun. Glad you had a good, if rare, experience!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 17, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      I often feel like a whiner, and try to remind myself that some people have it much worse than I do.
      I’m thinking it’s better for my sanity to avoid the stores that drive me crazy. If I have to make a quick stop, I’ll hit the more expensive grocery store that has self check-out lanes. I’m in and out of there very quickly, and I don’t feel the need to Poof anyone. And if my small super center works for my other items, I really may never go back to the overcrowded/understaffed super center store again.

       
  4. territerri

    March 18, 2012 at 12:16 am

    I think I would enjoy grocery shopping too if I had a trip like you did. Actually, I think my frustration is more likely to occur when I’m doing a big shopping trip. I am so much more relaxed when I’m just there for a few things. (Thanks for the link-up, btw!) 🙂

    Now as for those cupcakes… they sound absolutely divine! Makes me want to make some specialty cupcakes. I think I would have a hard time just having one or two though!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 18, 2012 at 12:53 am

      With your baking background, you’d probably be great at cupcakes! The fun is definitely finding and creating a specialty cupcake. I thought long and hard about how I wanted these to be. I didn’t come up with the icing idea until I was on my way home from the store. I did not have white chocolate at home, but I was so adamant about having white chocolate mint icing, that I went back to the store! I’m telling you, though, it was well worth the trouble!

       
  5. Jules

    March 21, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    Those look amazing!!!!! Thin mint cookies are my next favorite girlscout cookie….shortbread is #1 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 21, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Thin Mints are my #1 and these WERE amazing. I’m so proud of how the white chocolate mint icing turned out!

       

Leave a Reply

 
