RSS

A Week of Saturdays

18 Mar

A week of Saturdays.

Sounds relaxing.

Unless you work at a hotel in a downtown city that’s hosting a huge college wrestling tournament, a girls’ volleyball tournament, and a St. Patrick’s Day parade and festivities.

And this hotel offers a ton of free amenities, including a full hot buffet breakfast in the morning, popcorn and soda in the afternoon, and a happy hour with drinks and appetizers in the evenings.

I’ve mentioned before that we are one of the favorite hotels downtown, especially for families and young adults (the three free drinks totally appeals to these guys).

They began pouring in on Wednesday – most staying all the way til Sunday. By Thursday we were sold out.  A few guests left on Friday and then those rooms were all sold again Friday night.  Once again, a few left on Saturday, and although we still had about 10 rooms to sell when I left at 3pm, I’m sure it’ll be another sell out night.

So basically, everyday this week has felt like a Saturday.  The lobby is bustling with people all day long.  Our huge breakfast area is full from start to finish.  They gather again in the lobby in the afternoon to meet with friends, while munching on the free popcorn and sodas (or coolers of their own drink choices….), and then they SWARM the lobby for the free happy hour.

And it’s all incredibly fun for us at the front desk.  We’re watching people have a good time all day long.  They are in great moods, and come up to us often to ask questions, or get suggestions, or to let us know how their teams did, or how our recommendations panned out.

Today, we watched the St. Patty’s Day revelers flock out of the hotel in all their green clothing and accessories, in time to go to the parade.  We enjoyed an hour or so of peace before they all came back, along with the Saturday night guests looking to check in.

After working Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday, I had yesterday off (if you can call it that). Then I worked today and will work again at 6am tomorrow to check all our friends out.  (Followed by Mon, Tue, and Wed shifts.)

And as great fun as it is, having this many ‘Saturdays’ can wear a person out.  As soon as I sat down in my car, I knew it was going to be a struggle to get home.  I stopped off halfway to pick up my daughter from her bowling tournament, and she kept me awake the rest of the way home.

Once home, I yawned through an entire conversation with my hubby.  Then yawned all the way through supper. Right now I’m feeling a little better, but I’ll be heading to bed very shortly.  Another 3am wake up call on the horizon.

Sunday mornings always go quickly.  I just hope everyone will be on their best behavior tonight, so that we won’t have unhappy guests in the morning.  (Last week the fire alarms went off at 2am causing the entire hotel to have to evacuate…  ugh.  We comped well over 100 rooms the following morning. Turns out there was no emergency, thank goodness, but boy-oh-boy did it cause problems.)

Occasionally I get the idea that I’m not going to be able to keep this kind of schedule up, or keep up with these intensely busy days where we have to continue to provide great service despite the chaos.  But then I think about how fun it really is.  If I had the energy, I would try to find a similar ‘career’ where I could provide customer service in a fairly busy environment, with GOOD pay, and better hours.  I’m open to ideas… if only to keep my options open.

Meanwhile, I’m going to hit the sack… After all, it’s 9pm on a Saturday night.  Isn’t everyone going to bed now?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “A Week of Saturdays

  1. territerri

    March 18, 2012 at 2:54 am

    That kind of busyness can be invigorating for a while, but I can understand how it can wear you out after too many days in a row. I hope things start to settle down a bit and hope your busy week is pleasant and easy. You’ll surely earn your couch time this week.

     
  2. shadowrun300

    March 18, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Invigorating is a good word. It IS while I’m working, but it hits me after. We are actually just starting our busy season, so this could go on for a while. I’d much rather have it this way than no business at all, but you’re right… I’ll be earning my couch time. 😉

     
  3. agg79

    March 18, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Those kinds of days/weeks would wear me out. I imagine working that schedule with those events would even drive a nun to start drinking. I’m curious, what’s the capacity of your hotel? A fire alarm at 0200 would put how many people out in the parking lot? I bet there were a lot of unhappy campers that night (I would have probably been one of the testy ones).

    A similar/better job – Disneyworld? I think the pay and hours might be better and living in Florida you don’t have to drive in the snow as much.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 19, 2012 at 10:31 am

      We have almost 400 rooms in the hotel – and they were all full the night of the fire alarm. Some enjoyed the excitement, some missed it altogether, by returning late from partying, but quite a few were a little miffed by the disturbance. As they should have been. So we readily gave money back or comp certificates for a future stay to anyone who complained even a little. The hotel is very adamant about making things right by the guest, so we all did whatever we needed to do to make up for it.
      Disney is a great idea, however I’m not sure I could handle all the kids. But it brought to mind that perhaps a resort, on an island in the Caribbean, would be an ideal job for me. I’d love to be a concierge at a busy resort!

       
  4. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    March 19, 2012 at 1:33 am

    I would be exhausted too, if I worked that many days, with that much excitement. But, hey…at least it makes the day goes fast. It’s better to be busy than bored. Right?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 19, 2012 at 10:24 am

      The days go by extremely fast and they are incredibly fun. It doesn’t hit me how exhausted I am til I sit in my car. It’s a good exhaustion… but it takes a toll sometimes.

       
  5. Abby

    March 20, 2012 at 12:44 am

    I used to work at a hotel in Denver that was the hot spot for the country western types. Every year during Stock Show (January) it was a madhouse! Exhausting yet invigorating at the same time. What with all those broad shouldered cowboys packing the place… rough duty 😉

     
  6. shadowrun300

    March 20, 2012 at 1:02 am

    Sounds tough… all those cowboys…
    Madhouses are fun aren’t they? I really do love my job, so I don’t want to seem like a complainer… but yet I want to complain. Perhaps what I really want is someone to take care of ME when I’m not there. 🙂

     
  7. Jules

    March 21, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    Sometimes I go to bed at 9pm! Wow sounds like work has been hectic!! That sucks that your hotel had to comp so many rooms. Fire alarms are no fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 21, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Financially, it did suck. But I think we “saved” most of our guests, which was our goal. The good news is the management is really looking hard into the reasons for the complaints so that we can avoid them in the future. I love having proactive management!!

       
  8. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    Does a week of Saturdays equate to a week of earned couch time? 🙂

    When Jules and I were on our honeymoon, staying at a hotel in Nashville, the fire alarm went off in the wee hours of the morning, and we had a similar experience. We didn’t complain, though. We’d much rather have it go off and be nothing, than have something happen and it NOT go off.

     
  9. shadowrun300

    April 8, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    We like guests like you! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
