RSS

March Fools?

20 Mar

Hard to believe it’s the end of May already.  Time is passing by so quickly. It seems like it was just last month that we celebrated Valentine’s Day, and I could swear we just celebrated St. Patrick’s Day not too long ago.

I’m embarrassed to admit that I don’t even remember April.  (And please don’t tell anyone I didn’t go to church on Easter Sunday… Honestly – how did I miss it?  These shifts at work are really playing havoc on my mind.  My days are so mixed up… but missing Easter?  Who does that?)

I love the month of May though.  The birds are chirping and building nests.  The dogwood trees are in full bloom.  The tulip buds have started to open and their colors are stunning.  The sound of kids playing outside drifts through the air, along with the aroma of the neighborhood barbecue grills   The scent of freshly mowed grass is almost heavenly.

This is the time of year when I can pack up my sweats and hoodies that I would normally run in, and replace them with tank tops and shorts.  I can take in a little sunshine on my deck, with my hubby strumming his guitar in the background.

I can finally dust off my motorcycle and take it out for some nice long rides.

I absolutely love May!

.

Wait.   What?   It’s only March?

Coulda fooled me.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “March Fools?

  1. Abby

    March 20, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Ha! At first I thought you made a typo. But it does feel like May doesn’t it?! I know it won’t last, and soon we’ll be back the January.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2012 at 1:08 am

      I know! And I worry about that, because all those things listed above are really happening in my yard. If we return to winter now, the trees, the flowers, the birds….. it’s too sad to think about.
      Not to mention the bugs. Holy Cow! Red wasps everywhere. The mosquitoes will be bad too. I know I’ve complained all winter long about the cold, but I didn’t mean for us to have such an EARLY spring. And the forecast isn’t showing too much of a change over the next week to 10 days.
      Oh well, guess I’ll make the most of it. vroom, vroom.

       
  2. territerri

    March 20, 2012 at 2:15 am

    Okay… I was really thinking, “She’s been working too hard. She’s off by two months!”

    Good one! I would love to think this lovely summery weather would last, but that might just be too much to ask.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2012 at 10:38 am

      Working a lot of weekends usually throws me off on the days of the week. I honestly had to think hard yesterday morning on what day it was But I usually can keep track of the month. 🙂
      I’d like to think we won’t go back to 30 degree weather, but I could probably handle 60s again. It’s been in the 80s for over a week now. Too early for that!

       
  3. Rock Chef

    March 20, 2012 at 11:45 am

    That is exactly how I feel – 1 month to finish my dissertation? Really? I meant to nail it by Christmas!

     
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    March 20, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    LOL! I was also thinking you had a typo first, then I rechecked to see if I was reading your latest post and then I was just scratching my head wondering what you would say… LOL! You got me! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2012 at 8:30 pm

      🙂 I’m glad you finished it! Otherwise you would have thought I was a little whacko I’m sure!

       
  5. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    March 20, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    I know, I can’t believe it’s March either. It sure does FEEL like May with this amazing weather we are having!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 20, 2012 at 8:32 pm

      Has the northeast been just as unseasonably warm? Kinda crazy. It worries me a little, but mostly I’m enjoying it!

       
  6. agg79

    March 21, 2012 at 1:57 am

    I’m like the rest of the crew, thinking you had spent too many days on the job and lost track of time. What happened to winter? Where’s that last freeze we always get in March? I know that mother nature is just setting me up for one last surprise (freeze/hail in April). I bet you are just itching to saddle up and hit the roads. Time to air up the tires, change the oil, tighten up the chain and hit the streets. Hope you are able to take lots of time in April for some long runs.

    If you want to make a long ride, the Bluebonnets are in full bloom down here now.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 21, 2012 at 2:06 am

      Bluebonnets. Do they have purple flowers? (Is that a ‘blonde’ question?) I’m wondering if we have those up here, in full bloom as well. Not that I wouldn’t drive all the way down to see the Texas bluebonnets….
      I’m really looking forward to some longer rides. I’ve never been on an over-night ride, but expect to sometime this spring or summer. I just wanna go far enough away that we need to spend the night, but not so far that I become a little saddle sore.
      And I sure hope Mother Nature isn’t playing a cruel joke on us all.

       
  7. Jules

    March 23, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Haha. I knew it wasn’t May, because there are still March Madness games going on! Other than that…I don’t know what month it is.

     
  8. shadowrun300

    March 23, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    Oh… so that’s how you keep track of the months. 🙂
    Every time I marvel about how green everything looks right now, I just can’t believe it’s March. Still blows my mind.

     
  9. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Ha. You threw me off at first. There are times, though, when I can relate.

     

Leave a Reply

 
