RSS

Daily Archives: March 21, 2012

Missed Opportunities

So as I’ve been saying….

The weather here has been awesome!  For over a week now, the temps have been in the 80’s, the sun’s been shining, and the scattered rain showers have done wonders for the grass, the trees, the flowers….

Very unusual for March.

I’m worried that winter will decide it wants to return, which will devastate not only the trees and flowers, but me as well!

I feel like I need to be taking advantage of these days!

Yesterday I worked 6am – 2pm, so hubby and I had planned to go out on the motorcycles when I got home. I had been tired all day from staying out ‘late’ for bowling the night before (yes, 9:30 pm is late for me), and having to wake up at 3 am to work.  On the drive home, I felt the need to lay my head back 20 minutes into my drive. Way earlier than I usually do.  This was not a good sign when I still had another 30 minutes to go.

Perhaps you know where this is going…..

When I was only 10 minutes away from my house, I dozed off.  The road turned to the left.  I stayed straight. I woke up with all four of my wheels in the grass next to the road, heading toward the ditch and a tree line.

No need to scold me.  I’ve done enough of it myself, and my husband has taken his turn as well.  It still scares me to think about what could have happened.

Because of this, I decided it probably wasn’t a good idea to go out on the motorcycle.  See? I use my head sometimes!

I went for a run instead – and managed to stay awake for it!

I also went to bed at 8:30, knowing that I needed to get up early again.  And boy did that help!  I have felt good all day long and was really looking forward to going for a ride after work today.

This time, it was the wind I was fighting on the way home – not sleep.  I was totally bummed.  I knew if the wind was blowing my car off the road, I probably shouldn’t be out on the motorcycle.  I love to ride, but I totally understand the dangers of it, so I don’t put myself in situations that might endanger me…. so once again I feel like I missed an opportunity.

But not all is lost!  I did the next best thing!

I took the Mustang for a ride instead.  🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2012 in Commute, motorcycle, Mustang

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,