RSS

Missed Opportunities

21 Mar

So as I’ve been saying….

The weather here has been awesome!  For over a week now, the temps have been in the 80’s, the sun’s been shining, and the scattered rain showers have done wonders for the grass, the trees, the flowers….

Very unusual for March.

I’m worried that winter will decide it wants to return, which will devastate not only the trees and flowers, but me as well!

I feel like I need to be taking advantage of these days!

Yesterday I worked 6am – 2pm, so hubby and I had planned to go out on the motorcycles when I got home. I had been tired all day from staying out ‘late’ for bowling the night before (yes, 9:30 pm is late for me), and having to wake up at 3 am to work.  On the drive home, I felt the need to lay my head back 20 minutes into my drive. Way earlier than I usually do.  This was not a good sign when I still had another 30 minutes to go.

Perhaps you know where this is going…..

When I was only 10 minutes away from my house, I dozed off.  The road turned to the left.  I stayed straight. I woke up with all four of my wheels in the grass next to the road, heading toward the ditch and a tree line.

No need to scold me.  I’ve done enough of it myself, and my husband has taken his turn as well.  It still scares me to think about what could have happened.

Because of this, I decided it probably wasn’t a good idea to go out on the motorcycle.  See? I use my head sometimes!

I went for a run instead – and managed to stay awake for it!

I also went to bed at 8:30, knowing that I needed to get up early again.  And boy did that help!  I have felt good all day long and was really looking forward to going for a ride after work today.

This time, it was the wind I was fighting on the way home – not sleep.  I was totally bummed.  I knew if the wind was blowing my car off the road, I probably shouldn’t be out on the motorcycle.  I love to ride, but I totally understand the dangers of it, so I don’t put myself in situations that might endanger me…. so once again I feel like I missed an opportunity.

But not all is lost!  I did the next best thing!

I took the Mustang for a ride instead.  🙂

 
10 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2012 in Commute, motorcycle, Mustang

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Missed Opportunities

  1. agg79

    March 21, 2012 at 2:10 am

    Ugh. That’s one hell of a wake up call there there, but I am glad you were ok. They say that driving tired can be as bad as driving drunk. I’ve had a close encounter as well so I know that exact feeling. Getting rest is the best solution, but be careful when you run. Hate to see you run off the trail into the field.

    And don’t sweat the bike time. There will be plenty of road time once the wind settles down. Spring has only just begun.

     
  2. shadowrun300

    March 21, 2012 at 2:20 am

    It was definitely a wake up call – and I’m taking it seriously. I actually had no idea that I was about to fall asleep. In fact I had just cranked up the radio ’cause my favorite song was on. Then suddenly I was off the road.
    I know that bike season is just beginning, and in “common” years, I wouldn’t be riding at all right now, so I’ll be patient. After all, absence makes the heart grow fonder! 🙂

     
  3. territerri

    March 21, 2012 at 2:38 am

    Holy cow! That’s scary! So glad you didn’t get hurt. Hope you get a good motorcycle day and SOON!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 21, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      I’m thankful I wasn’t hurt, and my car wasn’t hurt! 🙂 Just checked the forecast, and next week we’ll still be in the 70s. Lookin’ good!

       
  4. Abby

    March 21, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    OKAY, soup lady slipping in the kitchen has just taken a seat WAY in the back of the bus! I’m so glad this was just a “minor” message.

    I’m actually one of those people who gets drowsy the moment I park my butt in a car. Maybe that’s why I prefer bicycles? I know that it can and does happen. I had a close call several years ago, and that was enough. I can admit that I have limits.

    I know it’s tempting to try to pack a bunch o’ fun into the warm times, but you know the motorcycle will wait for you. Sweet dreams – just not in the car!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 21, 2012 at 7:45 pm

      LOL…. I am quite thankful it was a “minor” message. It definitely was a wake up call. REST! is what my husband keeps telling me. I keep telling him, “Who has time??? Too much fun to be had!” I hate going to bed at 8:30, but it’s a must if I have to be up at 3am. So, *pout* I guess it’s what I have to do. Especially if I want to enjoy my afternoons after work.

       
  5. Jules

    March 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Oh my gosh!! I’m so glad that nothing major happened to you!! I haven’t had too many moments where I have felt sleepy at the wheel, but rolling the windows down or turning the a/c on usually helped. I’d be too cold to sleep!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    March 25, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    That’s usually the problem. I like to be warm, so I keep the car warm, and that’s dangerous when I’m sleepy.

     
  7. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    I’ve come close, but I’ve never actually fallen asleep at the wheel. How scary! Glad you were ok!

    I feel like I need to be taking advantage of these nice days as well. Soon it will be in the triple-digits and too hot to be outside comfortably all the time. These beautiful days are precious.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 8, 2012 at 10:47 pm

      Scary enough to teach me a lesson.
      We are having an AWESOME spring!

       

Leave a Reply

 
