RSS

This Little Piggy Went to Pappy’s

26 Mar

Most people would probably celebrate an anniversary by going to the movies, or to dinner at a nice restaurant.

We don’t consider ourselves to be like most people.

We used our anniversary as an excuse to go to one of our favorite barbecue joints, Pappy’s Smokehouse.

There is absolutely nothing romantic about Pappy’s, but that’s what we love about it!

We arrived around 1pm and the line to order food was out the door.  Luckily we had arrived in between rains, so it was actually kind of nice out.

While in line we listened to the first-timers discuss what they were going to get.  Some of the regulars were helping them decide.  I added my expertise to a conversation about what kind of coleslaw they have – creamy or vinegary.  I proudly let them know it’s vinegar based.  My favorite!

The Line Ahead of Us

The Line Behind Us. It goes out that door, winds to the right, then to the left, then to the outside.

Forty-five minutes later, we finally placed our order.  We filled our soda cups, then searched for a table.  At Pappy’s, you DO NOT sit at a table until you have your drink.  It’s the rule.

The menu and the only cashier

As usual we found a table, (I’ve never figured out how, in such a busy place, a table always opens up… but it does.)  We took our seats, and immediately heard our name called.

This is the before picture of my plate.

The Large 2 Meat Selection. Pulled Pork, Brisket, Coleslaw and Green Beans.

I don’t have an after picture, but I can tell you…

I ate my weight in pork…

and loved every bite!

My favorite barbecue joints, and I’ve been to my share of them, serve the meat dry with a variety of barbecue sauces on the side.  I love to mix their Pappy’s bbq sauce with their original sauce.  Hubby prefers the sweeter sauces. In fact, if you look close, you can see his basket behind mine.  He ordered the pulled pork sandwich with sweet potato fries and fried corn on the cob.

It was a fabulous anniversary meal, and a great way to start off the motorcycle season (even though the weather was too iffy to ride there this time).  I’m hoping this will be the summer when we can travel by motorcycle to try out the different bbq joints in the nearby states.  With hubby working from home now, he’ll be able to take his weekends the same time I have my weekends!

It’s starting off pretty promising!  I’ll be sure to fill you in on our findings!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in BBQ, Family

 

Tags: , , , , ,

16 responses to “This Little Piggy Went to Pappy’s

  1. agg79

    March 26, 2012 at 11:13 am

    That’s our way of celebrating an anniversary. No fancy dinners. I’d much rather go eat myself into a coma at a good BBQ place. I like their style – butcher paper, a slab of meat, a couple good sides. Good start to bike season. Is Pappy’s a local joint or a chain? BTW – we have a ton of good BBQ places down here in Texas.

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 26, 2012 at 11:35 pm

      Pappy’s is a local St. Louis joint. It’s about an hour 15 from our house, but close to where I work. It’s been on the food network, so it’s a popular place. Bogarts in St. Louis is closing in quick on Pappy’s, however.
      We’ve never had Texas bbq…. I’m thinkin’ we’re going to have to take a trip… You’re making Texas sound more and more tempting! Do you have a favorite down there?

       
      • agg79

        March 27, 2012 at 10:31 am

        There are many excellent choices down here, but I’m still looking for that “just right” joint where the meat just falls off the bone, the ribs are just this side of sweet/tangy, the links have just a little zip to them, the sauce is slap yo’ momma good. Joe’s BBQ in Alvin is a favorite, if not a wee bit of a drive. In Austin, I always have to stop by Ruby’s – a real dive looking place north of campus that has some of the best BBQ and amazing sides.

         
      • shadowrun300

        March 27, 2012 at 10:53 pm

        Wee bit of a drive doesn’t bother me! Especially if bbq is at the other end. Ruby’s sounds like my kind of place! And I’m definitely up for trying Joe’s BBQ. Just gotta figure out where Alvin is. I am very interested in taking a trip down to Austin as soon as I can get some time off work. I think my youngest two would like to go also. You make it sound very inviting! 🙂

         
  2. Abby

    March 26, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    You and the husband sound like our kinda people. No hoity toit dinners for us either. Blackboard menus and food in a basket! No wonder your marriage has lasted so long 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 26, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      That’s It! That’s the ticket to a long, happy marriage! 🙂

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    March 27, 2012 at 7:11 am

    Happy aniversary!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 27, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      Thank you! So nice to have you back! 🙂

       
  4. Jules

    March 27, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Happy Pappy’s! BBQ has passed pasta to become my favorite food. I just love BBQ sauce. I put it on anything I can.

     
  5. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    March 27, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Oh yummy! I love barbecue joints! Happy Anniversary!

     
  6. Meleah Rebeccah Hawthorne

    March 27, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    testing a comment logged in my from FB account – since WP changed the commenting format!

     
  7. territerri

    March 28, 2012 at 2:36 am

    That place must have SOME reputation! And spending your anniversary at a place you love, romantic or not, is just the perfect way to spend it.

    I’m glad you explained about the sauce on the side. I was wondering what kind of barbecue comes without the barbecue sauce!

     
  8. shadowrun300

    March 28, 2012 at 10:26 am

    There’s definitely sauce! Usually it’s made by the bbq place itself, and Pappy’s has awesome sauce! Their ribs however, don’t need any sauce at all! They are so moist and flavorful!

     
  9. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I love that place! The only time I’ve ever been is when Jules and I went with you and your spousal unit. I’d definitely go back, though. Delicious.

     

Leave a Reply

 
