RSS

Positively Negative

28 Mar

I’ve been making a conscious effort lately to keep my posts on the positive side, because I don’t want to exasperate the negativity, and I don’t want to keep whining and complaining.

So, I’m not going to tell you how I hit the wheel-well of my beloved car on a short wall in my hotel’s parking garage.  I won’t go into detail about how there’s a softball size dent and a footlong gash along the side.  I won’t rehash the number of tears I had to stifle all day long while pretending to be a happy front desk agent.

I’m also not going to write about how the next morning, the power went out while I was getting ready for work…. at 4am….. when it’s pitch black anyway.  I won’t express my frustration about how we have 50 flashlights in the house, and only one (the 50th one I checked), has enough battery power to shed a dim light.  I won’t complain about having to pack up my curling iron, make up, and clothes so I could finish getting ready at work.  And I won’t whine about having to eat a cold, untoasted bagel on my way in.

I’ll also shy away from telling you how busy it’s been at work, and how frustrated I feel that the management isn’t scheduling enough agents to be able to provide good service to our guests.  I won’t b*tch about how difficult it is to manage hundreds of guests, and dozens of phone calls after being told by the GM how important it is the next few days to provide better than ever service in order to improve our service scores – oh, and by the way I need to do it BY MYSELF! with NO bathroom breaks, NO lunch, and for 8 hours STRAIGHT!

oops.  My complaining may have come through on that comment.

I honestly don’t want to complain, but it certainly helps with the stress.

The good news though?

I got tons of praise from our guests the last few days.   Quite a few people walked away from the desk after shaking my hand, which lets me know I’ve done a good job.  How often have you shaken your desk agent’s hand when checking in.  😉

And I’ve taken my motorcycle out two of the past three days.  The weather has been awesome, and going to bed at 8:30-ish has been very helpful.

Yesterday, I planned to go for a run after work, but I was so tired that I didn’t know if I would be able to.  But once I got going I felt awesome and ended up running my 5 mile course.  I haven’t done that in months!

And today, I bathed my car, in 80 degree, sunny weather, and only winced a little when I came across the gash on the side.

So there has been a lot of good lately, too, but when a person works 6 days in a row of a 6am shift, sometimes it’s easy to succumb to the negative thoughts…. just ask my hubby.  The poor guy has to listen to even more complaints than you all do!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2012 in Blunders, Everyday Living, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Positively Negative

  1. agg79

    March 28, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Whining? You? Never crossed my mind. A wee bit testy, perhaps, Slightly terse, maybe. But never whiny. Sounds like a hell of a week for you. Reminds me of one of expressions (Some days you’re the bug, some days you’re the windshield). After the challenges you’ve had and long hours, I am impressed you haven’t gone all Air Tran on someone.

    I’m sorry to hear about your baby. Those first dents/dings/scratches are the most traumatic. And on top of that, seems life is piling on. All I can offer up is llegitimis non carborundum (Don’t let them grind you down). Keep the positive things in mind, take every day head on, and keep up the therapy (bike riding, running). I would recommend drinking heavily, but perhaps running the extra miles is a better option (it is a great stress reliever),

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2012 at 1:05 am

      Uh yeah…. I was a little testy yesterday. Did it show?
      I really thought I was going to go “all Air Tran” at work, but I stayed my usual composed (work)self, and then came home and majorly vented.
      I’m much better today. Work was manageable today, so it was fun for me again. It’s weird to have a job I love, yet cause me so much stress at times.
      I’m not much of a drinker (yet), so I’ll stick to an extra mile on my run or on my bike.
      I still love the bug/windshield quote. It certainly fits my situation the last few days. 🙂

       
  2. Jules

    March 28, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    When I come see you on Thursday I can always step in for you while you go to the bathroom 🙂 If management isn’t around then no one will ever know!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2012 at 1:13 am

      Oh my gosh. A bathroom break? I wouldn’t know what to do with it! 🙂
      You know…. we’re hiring for front desk….

       
  3. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    March 28, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Oy vey. You’ve certainly had a rough couple of days. But I’m glad there was good news too. Enjoy that awesome weather while out riding your motorcycle!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2012 at 1:11 am

      Honestly there has been a lot of good news, but when you’re as tired as I was yesterday, it’s easier to focus on the ‘woe is me’ side. I am definitely enjoying the weather. Unbelievable. Have you all been as lucky up there?

       
  4. Abby

    March 28, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    First off, this is your blog, b*tch away if you want!

    That’s a rough few days, I hope the running and riding have helped! Just don’t do this, k?:

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2012 at 1:09 am

      I could have used this laugh yesterday! Too funny! I’ve been known to have a little road rage, but nothing like that!

       
  5. territerri

    March 29, 2012 at 12:46 am

    So sorry to hear things have been difficult lately. But sometimes it helps to vent, so go ahead and complain. You feel better now, don’t you?

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 29, 2012 at 1:07 am

      Definitely! All I needed was a sympathetic ‘ear’! So thanks for listening! 🙂

       
  6. towardshealthylife

    March 29, 2012 at 2:58 am

    I do know from working in hospitality what it is to hold on until the need to go passes or it starts to hurt! It is worst for you since you still have to hold a permanent smile. You must be so tired. I am happy that you at least have some decent weather to enjoy biking in between you long shift. Hold in there and eventually management will figure it out(probably when they get too busy on your day off)

     
  7. shadowrun300

    March 29, 2012 at 10:27 am

    My General Manager was the one who had to help me out so much the other day, and I know she’s been in touch with the assistants, so it should get better. Some of the problem is you just don’t know how needy people will be on a particular day. Summer is close though, so we’ll get to the point where we’ll have plenty of staff on hand. Then it’ll be fun again!

     
  8. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    Writing about things always makes me feel better. Sorry you’ve had such a rough time. Being short-staffed always makes me incredibly frustrated too. I want to do a good job, and I always felt like they were setting me up for failure when they wouldn’t hire/schedule enough people.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 8, 2012 at 10:50 pm

      I’ve said those exact words out loud, (but not to management) “They are setting me up for failure.”

       

Leave a Reply

 
