RSS

On the Seventh Day She Rested

30 Mar

Well, more like did what I wanted to do, and only what I wanted to do.

It was a glorious day!

Yesterday, after finishing up my 6th consecutive day of 6am shifts (and 8th out of 9 days total), I plopped in my car totally exhausted, wiped out, and relieved almost to the point of tears that I was going to have the next two days off.  I, thankfully, made it home without dozing off, but I was concerned.

At that time, I thought I would spend today sitting on the couch.

Not the case.

I slept in til a luxurious 6:00am and went for a run.  It was a cool 56 degrees (awesome!) and the sun was just coming up over the horizon. (Beautiful!)

I got to see my kids off to school.  I got to have coffee and breakfast with my husband, who had earlier asked who I was, and what was I doing in his house at this time of day.

Because the weather was so nice, I was in the mood to clean.  I wiped the kitchen counters, polished the stainless steel appliances, vacuumed and scrubbed the kitchen floor, all before 10am.

Then I put on a tank top, shorts, and my new lawn mowing shoes and headed out to mow.  We’ve mowed 3 or 4 times already this year, and are finding it hard to keep up.

At 12, I fixed my favorite lunch of an egg sandwich with cheese, chips and salsa, and an apple and yogurt.

Then I headed back outside to wash my car and motorcycle…. ’cause one of them is going to take me on a bbq run tomorrow.

So, not exactly a day of rest, but thoroughly enjoyable none-the-less.  And the best part?

I took bathroom breaks when I wanted.

I sat down when I wanted.

And I ate lunch at the first sign of hunger.

It doesn’t get any better than that!

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “On the Seventh Day She Rested

  1. territerri

    March 31, 2012 at 12:34 am

    So glad to hear you had such a great day. You earned it, girl!

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 31, 2012 at 2:45 am

      Thanks Terri! It was awesome. We ended the day watching my freshman son’s school play “Fiddler on the Roof”. They did a fantastic job, so it was a great ending to the day. AND I have tomorrow off too! 🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    March 31, 2012 at 4:39 am

    Nothing like 6 long days to make you enjoy this one and make the most of it! Good on you and I hope you have another terific day tomorrow 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      March 31, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      So far, my second day off has been awesome too! I’ve had the convertible out, and plan to head out on the motorcycle this afternoon!

       
  3. Abby

    April 1, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    Sounds like a great day(s)! Mowing the lawn already? I’m just hoping for the green to come back.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 1, 2012 at 7:33 pm

      We’ve mowed the lawn at least three times. I’m tellin’ ya, it looks like May around here. Today and tomorrow we’ll be in the 90s!!

       
  4. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 1, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Well that sure sounds like a FANTASTIC day off! Good for you!

     
  5. Jules

    April 3, 2012 at 2:46 am

    Gotta love those convenient bathroom breaks! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed your day!!!! I think coffee with the husband (when we actually just sit and enjoy coffee with each other) is one of the best things. Glad you did all that outside work then, since today it was over 90 degrees!! Yikes!

     
  6. agg79

    April 3, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Sounds like a great way to spend the weekend. A lot of well deserved “me” time. Clean house, clean car, clean bike, some run time thrown in along with unlimited bathroom breaks? What more could a person want?

     
  7. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    6 am is “sleeping in?” Yikes…

     

Leave a Reply

 
