RSS

ALVin

06 Apr

Remember a few years ago when the government was offering the Cash for Clunkers program?

Well, lucky for us we had a clunker – a big ol’, gas guzzlin’, 4wd Expedition.

from Google images

When we first got it, I absolutely loved it!  It hauled my entire family, without making me seem “wussy-ish” like the conversion van I owned, and it was a little less mom-like than a minivan.

When my oldest began driving, he used it to drive the 15 mile trek to school and back, and to drive the younger kids around when needed.

That’s when I got the Mustang.

As gas prices rose, the Expedition became very costly to run.  When we heard about the program, we decided to trade it in for a new, smaller vehicle that got better gas mileage.  Hubby did a lot of research and this is what we decided on.

Honda Fit

Isn’t it cute?

He liked it. One, because the price was right, two it was big enough inside to fit his 6’3 frame, and three it got excellent gas mileage.

After picking it up we drove immediately to a car show being held in our county.  We were one of the first ones there, so we parked and began walking through the car show.  When we were ready to leave, we couldn’t find the car.  Literally. Turns out two pickup trucks had parked on either side of us, and The Fit was dwarfed in comparison. We were laughing out loud about how ridiculously small it looked, especially in comparison to the trucks.  But we proudly hopped in and headed home.

The kids loved it.  Our oldest began using it to go to school.  He’s 6’3 as well, and has a good 75 pounds on my husband, but he fit very comfortably in the driver seat.  We were amazed at how roomy it was on the inside, while being so tiny on the outside.

My husband developed a mantra that we all use now.

“Everything Fits in the Fit”

At Christmas time, he took it to pick up a tall, 6-drawer dresser that we found on Craigslist.  He arrived with the Fit and the lady we bought it from took one look at the car, and was shocked.

“Oh… it’s not going to fit in there,”  she said.

My husband told her:  “Everything fits in the Fit.”

And he quickly lowered the back seat, picked up the dresser and slid it in through the back.  He smiled smugly as he shut the door and left her standing in awe.

It’s become a joke in our house, but it’s absolutely true!

Today, he stopped off at Lowe’s to pick up our new hardwood flooring.  The loaders came out to greet him, and practically laughed in his face.

“Uh, those are not going to fit in there,” the young kid told him.

Hubby replied, “Well, I didn’t intend to pick them all up today, just some of them until I can get back this way again.”

The kid, shaking his head, said, “I mean none of them will fit in there.”

Hubby, becoming frustrated, just told him to bring the loader over with the boxes….

And they promptly loaded 12 boxes of hardwood into the car.

I’m telling you.  This is an Amazing Little Vehicle.  (Hubby has taken to calling it ALVin) It gets 44 miles per gallon, it holds 5 adults comfortably and still has room for bags and groceries.

My penny pinching 15 year old has already called first dibs on it when we’re ready to sell.  We plan to keep it as a 3rd family car until all kids have their license and are out of the house.  With the Honda name, and their excellent service, we expect it to last a very long time.

Funny, how we’ve all become so attached to it.  It’s the exact definition of “wussy-ish”, but it’s like the runt in the family.  It’s determined to keep up with the bigger boys, it tends to forget its size, and it’s claimed a soft spot in all of our hearts.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “ALVin

  1. towardshealthylife

    April 6, 2012 at 4:50 am

    loll It does looks cute and VERY tiny! If you say it’s big inside I believe you but I would like to have a look inside anyway loll. My first car was a tiny hyundai accent and I loved it because it was easy to park. I am now at the utility vehicle stage but here with the snow it’s kind of handy to have at least one 4 wheel drive per household. It is hard on gaz but I like it anyway 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 6, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      You definitely need a utility vehicle where you live. Once we gained other drivers in the household, we were able to move to smaller vehicles. The Fit definitely fits the bill. We love it.

       
  2. agg79

    April 6, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    ALVin does look cute, but down here most people are driving F150s or Suburbans. I’m still driving an 11 year old Expedition all around town. It is a gas hog but it will haul all sorts of gear and dogs. We tried to do the Cash for Clunker program with the wife’s Caddy, but the car didn’t get bad enough gas mileage to qualify. We’re considering selling off her car and get something newer with better gas mileage. Looking at some of those Crossover SUVs. My son’s driving our old 93 Camry. Still runs like a top and in excellent condition and gets darn good mileage.

    I think it is interesting your husband got the Fit and you got the Mustang. Definitely a sweet ride for your commute.

     
  3. shadowrun300

    April 6, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Well, I had the Mustang about a year before we got the Fit, and the reason for that is I was tired of always driving the “mom” cars. He had a truck, and a corvette, and a motorcycle, and I thought it was time I got what I wanted. 🙂 It gets ok gas mileage, but still about half as much as the Fit.
    Toyotas are awesome for longevity. I grew up with all Toyota vehicles and we would run them into the ground. It took forever, believe me! I’m hoping the Honda will have the same life expectancy.

     
  4. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 6, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    Oh I love the Honda Fit. It is a great car, and everything does Fit in the Fit! LOL

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 7, 2012 at 6:00 am

      Everything really does! I’m trying to get the kids to make a commercial showing everything that fits in the Fit, but they have yet to jump on it. Perhaps I’ll make one! 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    April 6, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    That’s great. I think I know what our next car will be! You should be collecting royalties from Honda now 🙂

    I don’t understand the people that buy the Smart Cars. As I understand, they only get around 40 m.p.g. and there is NO cargo room. Half the reason I ever use a car is for schlepping stuff around.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 7, 2012 at 5:56 am

      I’m becoming a big advocate of the Fit! The Smart Cars just crack me up. Every time I see one I can’t help but laugh. And you’re right – the gas mileage isn’t enough to overcome the lack of cargo space. If you’re into schlepping smartly, you oughta look into the Fit. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    April 7, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    It’s great that you found a car that your so happy with! And it sure has served you well!

    I feel the same way about my Impala. I’m due for something new and I’m thinking about another Impala. My hubby though… he always drives a gas hog. His last two vehicles have been Chevy pickups and before that he had a suburban.

     
  7. shadowrun300

    April 8, 2012 at 5:52 am

    We’re very happy with it. People still laugh at us and don’t believe all it can do…. but we know. 🙂
    Your hubby sounds like he would fit right in with most people in our county. We may actually be the only ones without a Chevy truck. We do, however, have a Dodge truck. We are well in the minority!

     
  8. Mike

    April 8, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    Very cool. I feel the same way about my little truck. It’s not a monster by any means, but it gets me around, has good mileage, does everything I need it to do, and I love it.

     
  9. Jules

    April 8, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    Good to know! I’ll have to keep that in mind whenever hubby and I go car shopping in the future!

     

Leave a Reply

 
