RSS

Happy Easter!

09 Apr

I have to say that I was kinda dreading this day.  This was my one day off, sandwiched between 3 days of work and 5 days of work.  And as I’ve mentioned, my days at work have been pretty crazy. (Wait til you hear the latest…)

So the thought of spending my one day off, preparing food for a lot of people, and spending the day away from home, was not appealing.

I am proud to say, “I was wrong!”

After working late last night and getting to bed at 2am, I awoke at 7am to get ready for church.  We were home by 8:45.  Plenty of time to bake everything I wanted before lunch at the in-laws.

I love angel food cake and wanted to make it a couple of ways.  So one batch, I made with pineapple in the batter and the other batch I made as directed.  Then I topped half of them with a cool whip frosting made with vanilla pudding and pineapple, and the other half with just the cool whip and vanilla pudding. These are the cakes I decorated with green tinted coconut and a few jelly beans.

 

A few weeks ago, I found a recipe for a spice cake with caramel icing.  I chose today to try it out.

The cake itself was pretty standard.  Full of nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice, and ginger, making the house smell wonderful!

The icing was new to me, though.  The directions said to boil the brown sugar, corn syrup, milk and shortening, until 265 degrees or “soft ball state”.  Well, I do not have a candy thermometer, and I have no idea what “soft ball state” means, so I boiled it for about 10 minutes since the directions said that was about how long it would take.  Then I mixed the brown sugar mixture with the powdered sugar mixture and spread it on the cakes.  The taste is good, but I don’t know if the texture is correct.  It hardened pretty quickly, and doesn’t have the texture of a creamy icing – but maybe it’s not supposed to….

 

Finally, I threw together an Amish coleslaw that I’ve been wanting to make as well.  The dressing is made with vinegar :),  sugar, and a little mustard and celery salt. Easy and Yummy!  Beats Grumpy’s coleslaw for sure!  Sorry. No pics of that.

By this time, the rest of the family had headed over to Grandma’s.  She just lives a few blocks away, so one biked, one walked, one rode his motorcycle, and 2 took the truck.

I piled all my food into the Fit, ’cause you know, everything fits in the Fit, and headed over a little while later.

Lunch was absolutely delicious and my desserts were a hit.  I washed dishes while the others dried them or cleaned up the tables.  It felt nice to catch up with everyone.

Because the weather was so nice, we headed outdoors to play washers.  That’s when we found “Squirrel”.  Squirrel was an absolutely adorable little thing.  He hopped around very energetically in search of food, and was not leery at all of us humans.  In fact, any time my husband came near he would run past all of us and hop on his shoe for a nibble.

My husband, sensing Squirrel was hungry, went in the house for some nuts.  He put an almond down in front of Squirrel who immediately picked it up and began eating.

Since Squirrel was running around in the area where we were playing washers, my 15 year old son became the protector.

He would use the plastic bowl to coax him to a safer area.

Squirrel allowed us to pet him, but I didn’t want anyone to actually pick him up.  I worried he may bite if we got too forward with him.

Before we left Grandma’s, we made sure he knew where his nest was.  After all, there are lots of big dogs roaming the neighborhood, (along with a 3rd grader armed with a BB gun.)  When hubby was satisfied he was safe, we set off for home.

A Cardinal win against the Brewers, a relaxing walk with the hubby, and a bowl of ice cream in front of a new Cupcake Wars episode topped off what has been an incredibly Happy Easter and day off.  I almost feel revived and ready to begin a 4 day stretch of busy!

Hope you all had a Happy Easter as well!

 

 
23 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Baking, Family, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

23 responses to “Happy Easter!

  1. Sandi

    April 9, 2012 at 2:44 am

    Eeeee! I really wish we had squirrels in Australia. So cute!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      Funny you should say that, because I would really love to see kangaroos (in the wild, anyway). 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

       
  2. Brittany

    April 9, 2012 at 3:49 am

    That squirrel is sooo cute!! These cakes look great too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Brittany! He really was cute! I took tons of pictures, but only shared a few with you all.

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    April 9, 2012 at 5:51 am

    The cupcakes looks good, I would go for the caramel and spice one! Once my aunty told me ” there is a cute little squirrel living in the tree in my yard”, then the animal somehow got into her basement and chewed everything from food to wires, after that, it was refered to as the bloody little rat. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      I laughed out loud when the cute squirrel became the bloody little rat. Hubby actually said the same thing yesterday. I swear my husband is St. Francis of Assisi – the patron saint of animals – because ALL animals are drawn to him. The squirrel would literally run past all of us and follow him around – even before the almond treat.

       
      • towardshealthylife

        April 10, 2012 at 3:29 am

        I agree that it looks so cute! Was it a baby? Normally they don’t stay around people too much 🙂

         
  4. agg79

    April 9, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Amish coleslaw? Love the way the cupcakes turned out.
    Sounds like a great way to spend Easter with the family. Even the local furry tailed critters seemed to be in on the festivities/ Done here, we have a goodly number of “tree rats” that enjoy tormenting the dogs. I agree with twoardsheathylife – they’re cute until they get in your attic.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      That is exactly what my husband said. “Wait until he gets in the attic… then he won’t be so cute.” But he was the one who kept saying, “I gotta go check on Squirrel.”
      I have no clue why it’s called Amish Coleslaw. Wait – I’ll go check. Ok. The recipe came from some Amish people who like their slaw without mayo. Just like me! 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    April 9, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    That icing looks and sounds like fudge to me – very nice too!
    That squirrel is too cute! I love them – sad they have a bad rep in some places.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      Fudge! I wondered how to describe it…. and never did think of fudge! That’s exactly what it’s like. Thanks! 🙂

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 9, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Hi Shadow! Those pictures are fantastic… I am on “vacations” right now… (we have family visiting) but I am not taking a break from my healthy lifestyle! 🙂 I still wanted to stop by your blog and towardshealthylife’s just so you both know I am still around 🙂 Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      Aww… thanks for keeping in touch! Hope you’re having a wonderful time on vacation. 🙂

       
  7. Jules

    April 9, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Cupcakes look delicious as always!!! And I have never known a squirrel to be so comfortable around humans. Cute! And I love the ‘everything fits in the Fit’ references. Tell hubby good job coming up with that!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      Thanks Julia – angel food is tough to make into a cupcake because baking time has to be just right. But they were good. The squirrel was very comfortable around us. I got right in his face with the camera, even when he was eating, and he didn’t care at all. Makes me nervous that he may not survive any dangerous situations… just ’cause he won’t think they are dangerous. 🙂

       
  8. Abby

    April 9, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Those cupcakes were meant for Easter! Sounds like a great day, and that little squirrel hit the jackpot by crashing your party!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 9, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      He sure did! We all had a great meal that day! 😉

       
  9. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Happy belated Easter! Those cupcakes look AMAZING!

     
  10. Mike

    April 10, 2012 at 1:41 am

    Your baked goods look fantastic. And I’ve never seen a squirrel who was not afraid of humans. That’s really cool that he let you get close enough to pet him.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 10, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Normally they are very skittish and totally afraid, so we are a little concerned that this guy might not survive since he obviously doesn’t understand dangerous situations. 😉

       
  11. territerri

    April 15, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    That sounds like a fantastic day. Your cupcakes look so festive and sound delicious! And I can’t believe a squirrel was tame enough to let you touch him! Wow!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:02 am

      I know, right? We were stunned that he was not afraid of us – at all! Wonder if he’s still doing okay…..

       

Leave a Reply

 
