RSS

I Confess

12 Apr

I have been a total mooch the last couple of days.  I’ve used you all to satisfy my blog craving, yet I’ve given nothing in return.

I was feeling a little guilty about it until I realized I am probably doing you a favor.

I’ve given you a rest from my incessant whining, b*tchin, and complainin’.

So I hope you’ve enjoyed your time off, because it won’t be long before I hit the “post” button on my latest vent session…

Now don’t get me wrong.  Things haven’t been too bad as of late.  In fact they’ve kinda just been “ho-hum”.  That could be the reason I’ve taken some time off from posting.  Nothing so atrocious has happened that I’ve felt the need for writing therapy, and nothing so great has happened that I’ve felt the need to share.

I’ve just had the usual occurrences of a minor running injury that has put me back on the elliptical, a domestic dispute at the hotel involving a16 year old stepson and a broken nose, and a reminder of how hard I work for minimal pay.

Other than that, life’s been just humming along.  I was on the evening shifts this week.  It’s been a nice change of pace. (Well – other than the arrest of the step-dad last weekend.)  The Cardinals home-opener is this weekend.  Against the Cubs even…. So things are going to get fun around the hotel.  (Really!  No sarcasm in that statement! :)) And we’ve begun staffing the front desk appropriately, so none of us feel overworked.

I had my yearly review a few days ago.  It went a little better than expected.  I tooted my own horn and respectfully voiced a few of my complaints.  Don’t know if it’ll get me anywhere, but I feel better.

The best news of all?  I’ve finally accumulated some vacation time, so the planning has begun!  We’re thinking of Charleston, SC, or Austin, TX, or most recently, San Antonio, TX.   I love the anticipation of vacation.

So, thanks to all of you for continuing on with your posts, while I sat back and relaxed!  You’ve helped me through some stressful times.  🙂

 

 

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2012 in Everyday Living, The Hotel

 

17 responses to “I Confess

  1. towardshealthylife

    April 12, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Are we going to get a post about the step-dad?;-) , yay vacation planning! Cant wait to hear about that!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 13, 2012 at 6:07 am

      Yeah – I thought about a step-dad post, but honestly, I don’t know if I want to relive it. It was actually pretty awful. We try to run a more respectable hotel, but sometimes you just don’t know what the guests are going to do. Especially after a long night of drinking.
      I wish I could say Australia was on the list! It looks so beautiful! But we’ll remain stateside for now.

       
      • towardshealthylife

        April 13, 2012 at 9:22 pm

        You know sometimes there is beautiful places close to us that we never discoved either. People cross the planet to come visit so there has to be somethings interesting nearby.:-)

         
  2. agg79

    April 13, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Hey, Been there, Done that. We’ve all taken time off, but I’d say your reasons/excuses are better than mine (lazy). From the sound of it, you’ve earned a pass. Still, it is sometimes good to slide into the spectator seat and let everyone else vent for a while. And, if it wasn’t for the b*tchin, and complainin’, this could wind up being just like every other food blog (I like the cupcake stories).

    Glad to hear the review went well. I am afraid to ask but what about the promotion deal? Any decision there?

    And I think you’ve definitely earned some vacation time. I might be a wee bit biased, but I would vote for Austin/San Antonio (but my wife has expressed a desire to go to Charleston). If you do decide to head to Texas, let me know and I can give you some insight on the area and things to see/do.

     
  3. shadowrun300

    April 13, 2012 at 6:14 am

    I’ve had some hard days, for sure, but this break was due to laziness as well, and not feeling much like writing…
    You’re so right about my topics – If I’m not b*tchin’, I’m bakin’. I hadn’t quite looked at it that way. Maybe I’ll try to branch out a bit. 🙂
    Long story behind the promotion. I may share more later, but basically, no news yet about hiring the second two supervisors, but I still think they are planning to….. whatever.
    Personally, I’m leaning more towards the Texas locations, mainly because they have the hotel chain that I work at, so I can get a pretty good discount. I’ve heard our location in San Antonio is awesome, so I’d really like to check it out at some point. I’ll definitely let you know, ’cause we’ll want some info – especially on some good bbq!

     
  4. Rock Chef

    April 13, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I am seeing that having nothing to rant about is a relative thing – broken noses and arrests would be a major rant for many!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 13, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      LOL I suppose to some that would be a pretty major reason to vent. The day before that happened, I went off on a rampage in a post that I never did publish. I was going to go back and add that story as well, but sometimes those rants just wear you out. I think I was just too tired to finish it. These past few days have been SO much better though! 🙂

       
  5. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 13, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Oh we ALL need blog breaks every now and then! Welcome back!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    April 13, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Well thank you. 🙂 After tomorrow, I’ll be off the next 3 days, so I should be able to get some writing time in!

     
  7. Abby

    April 13, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Your hotelling reminds me of my own hotel days. Domestic disputes are the bomb! (not literally, but close?) Too bad this was a kid and step-dad. I prefer the consenting adult ones.

    I hope you’ve enjoyed your days off from the blogging, it’s good to take a break now and then. Vacation planning is a great way to fill up the time!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 14, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      Thankfully we don’t see a whole lot of that stuff.
      I’ve already booked a hotel room in one of our destination choices ’cause I’m afraid they’ll book up, but nothin’s set in stone yet. It’s exciting! 🙂

       
  8. territerri

    April 15, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    I’ve been having trouble keeping up with writing and reading blogs, so you did me a favor by taking a few days off! 🙂

    Glad you’ve got some vacation time in the works. Sounds like you could use it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:00 am

      Um…yeah… I did it for you! (Not out of selfish laziness….) 🙂

       
  9. Mike

    April 16, 2012 at 3:02 am

    Vacation? Do you even know what that means? 😛

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:07 am

      Well, I think it’s what I see all the people in my hotel doing. It looks fun, so I’m gonna try it. I’ll let you know if I like it! 😉

       
  10. Jules

    April 16, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Congrats on the review! 🙂 Glad to hear it was better than expected. And yay for vacation time!!! 🙂 🙂 You have earned it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:51 pm

      Thanks Julia! Things are lookin’ up there. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
