RSS

Ch- Ch- Ch- Ch- Changes

15 Apr

Look what we’re doing!

Our Living Room

If you can see past the spots on the lens, we are ripping up the carpet in our living room.  We’ve obviously left the necessities – my hubby’s chair and the tv.  My beloved couch has been moved to our bedroom.  Thankfully I’ve been working nights, so by the time I get home, he is in bed, and I can use his chair for couch time.

The carpet has lived through 4 children, a dog, and a cat.  Towards the end of its life, when we knew we would be replacing it soon, we really let it go. If we spilled a drink – oh well.  If the cat spit up – oh well.  When the dog spewed bone chunks in huge piles, well, we did clean that up – gross!  But the stains they left behind encouraged us to finally take the plunge and order the new flooring.

The Replacement

We’re doing the work ourselves.  I’ve never been one to shy away from physical activities. We built our house in 1998.  I was 7 months pregnant with our 4th child and due in September.  The house we were living in sold very quickly, so we ended up moving into my dad’s little house with the 3 boys ages 5, 3 and 18 months, and our dog at the time. We had one bathroom to share among all of us. I was the “contractor” of our new house: getting quotes from everyone, lining up the dates and making sure people were doing what they were supposed to be when they were supposed to be.  The boys and I would spend our days at the construction site – them playing on the dirt piles with their trucks, me cracking the whip at the guys as my belly grew bigger and bigger.  I was determined to be in the house before our 4th child was born. Our evenings were spent cleaning up the wood scraps, and the drywall pieces so the guys could spend their time building.  I had no problem lugging pieces of drywall to the garage, or carrying scraps of wood to the burn pile.  Our tenacity paid off.  We moved in on my due date, and three days later our little girl was born.

I rested a while (two years :)), then landscaped the perimeter of our house.  Shoveling rocks and all!

So anyway, I have nothing against a little hard work.  But these little buggers gave me a workout.  You’d think my legs would be strong from running, but staying in a catcher’s position for over an hour while pulling out the staples uses some muscles I didn’t really know I had.

Staples that held the padding down.

As we pulled up the carpet and padding, the animals became more and more leery of being in the room.  The cat doesn’t like the feel of the plywood on his paws.  The dog is sad that she’s running out of soft places to lay.

Poor Chancie

I worked around her as long as I could, but eventually this piece had to come up too.  😦

The hardwood we are putting in is pretty easy to install from my understanding.  We’re putting it in the dining room, living room, and our bedroom.  Guess we’ll need to buy a rug or soft bed for the dog so that she stays happy, but I think her ball chasing days around the living room furniture are over.  She definitely doesn’t like running on slick surfaces.

Then again, if she decides to get into some bones again, the mess will be a lot easier to clean up!

I’ll be sure to post some after pictures, but don’t hold your breath.  It may be a long time coming.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on April 15, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , ,

17 responses to “Ch- Ch- Ch- Ch- Changes

  1. agg79

    April 15, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    Good luck with the project. We’ve been debating wood floors for a few years, but keep putting it off one season after another just because we cannot make up our minds. Looks like this year we may finally take the plunge and pull up the old ratty carpet with assorted dog stains.

    I’d love to see the progress you make on the project as it goes and any advice you could offer. I’m sure it will be chaos for a while, but the end result should be amazing. I am really interested in which brand of laminate you chose – given the expected traffic. With two dogs, we are trying to find something that is very scratch resistant.

    BTW – You’ve mentioned her a few times, but I think this is the first time I’ve seen you post something on Chancie. She’s a great looking Golden. How old is she?

     
  2. shadowrun300

    April 15, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    I will definitely keep you posted on our project. We have laminate in the kitchen right now and it’s been fairly scratch resistant for the 13 years we’ve had it. (You can see it in the picture of Chancie.) The dog’s nails don’t hurt that. But we’re putting in wood now, it’s just interlocking wood pieces, so easy to install. It’s made by Bruce – we got it at Lowes – and I have a feeling it may scratch easily….. BUT we’re taking the risk. I’ll let you know. 🙂
    Chancie is about 10 years old. The gray in her face reminds me of your dog. She was a mischievous puppy, but she has been an awesome addition to our family. We chose a golden because of their personalities. Our kids were young at the time, and we knew she wouldn’t harm them – purposely that is. She did knock our little girl over a few times with her size. 🙂

     
    • agg79

      April 15, 2012 at 5:24 pm

      Good luck again with the floor. My brother had put in in two of his trailers (including the one I bought from him) and they have held up well. We’ve been looking at some of the brands that Lowe’s & Home Depot push and just weren’t sure of the durability. I have seen one company that specializes in flooring for dogs/cats that was displayed at the dog show (not cheap).

      Chancie sounds like a typical Golden. The only danger they pose is if they run you over when coming up to greet you (sort of like being hit by a linebacker). She looks like a gorgeous senior Golden.

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    April 15, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    I grew up with wood floors and when we bought our place it had carpet. We put up with it for now but me being alergic to dust mite I would rather have wood foor! Maybe you can cut a peice of the old carpet for your dog’s mat loll She looks like she is trying to save her good old carpet:-)

    Change is nice! Happy for you and cannot wait to see the result. Just keep the dog’s nail short and the new floor should be fine. We use to run in the house when we were kids and our dog wouldn’t always make the corner and slip in the kitchen table nocking the chairs over. Like you said she looks like she is over those moments.

    Well I guess carpet and work is going to take a lot of your time for a while so make sure you get your couch time;-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2012 at 8:48 pm

      Good idea to keep a square of the old carpet. She would love that! I’m happy to be getting rid of the carpet. Especially with the animals. It’s hard to keep clean, and it’s much easier to get their hair cleaned up from the wood floor than it is from the carpet.

       
  4. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 15, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Oh good luck. Home renovations can be a real bitch! But, they are usually totally worth it. A nice change can be very good. I love the feeling of new/fresh hard wood floors!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      We don’t do too much on our own anymore. We’re getting to the point where it’s much easier to just write the check, but these looked pretty simple to do. The new carpet on the stairs and the new tile in the kitchen will be done by the pros. I’m excited to have some newness in our house! It’s been 13 years!

       
  5. territerri

    April 15, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    We do a lot of our own work too. Most recently we remodeled the kitchen. We had the cabinets made, but my hubby and some buddies did the installation. They also installed a new hardwood floor. It was worth the money saved! Can’t wait to see your after pictures!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:05 am

      Sometimes it’s worth the savings on labor to do the grunt work. We’re not dumb enough to think we can tackle the carpeted stairs though. I can tear it up, but putting the new back down? Nah – save that for the pros. I’ve always thought your house was beautiful! You guys did a great job!

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 16, 2012 at 1:16 am

    I hope everything goes great with the flooring! Looks like a good “workout” 😉 Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:05 am

      Thanks for the good wishes! It definitely was a workout getting all the staples out. My legs are still stiff and sore!

       
  7. Mike

    April 16, 2012 at 3:06 am

    That looks like quite an undertaking, but that floor is going to look beautiful once it’s done. Good luck! Can’t wait to see the end results.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 3:09 am

      Thanks Mike! I’ll be sure to post the after pictures. Take note, ’cause you may be taking on these projects in the future!

       
  8. Jules

    April 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Can’t wait to see pictures!!!! 🙂 🙂 I’m sure your pets will get used to the new floor. Your dog will learn to ‘drift’ around corners.

     
  9. Abby

    April 17, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    OH, fun! New digs! When I saw the first photo, I thought I needed to clean my computer screen 🙂

    I look forward to seeing the end results!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2012 at 10:15 pm

      Yeah, right? I don’t know what happened on that pic. The others seemed ok, but that was the only one I had of the living room, so that’s what you got! I’ll be sure the after picture is a little clearer. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
