RSS

The Classics According to Me

16 Apr

Friday nights don’t have the same meaning for me that they used to.  Since I no longer have my nice, cushy, 8 – 3 job as a teacher, with weekends and summers off, Friday can sometimes be my Monday.

Yet whenever Friday comes, I still get excited.  If I’m working, I get to see all the people being excited about the fact that it’s Friday.  There’s a different energy in the hotel.   If I’m at home with the kids, I feel their excitement about the week being done.  They don’t have to finish homework immediately after school.  They can stay up late.  I usually have an ice cream treat for them. (Unlike me, they are not allowed to have ice cream every night.) And the mood is generally pretty good.

This past Friday, I was off, but had to go back in on Saturday – so not really a Friday for me.  Either way, I flipped through the TV guide looking for a movie for my hubby and me to watch.  For some reason we only watch real movies on the weekend.  The week nights are reserved for Pawn Stars and American Pickers on the History Channel, anything on The Food Network, and International House Hunters if they are hunting some place warm.

As I was searching the guide, I came across “O Brother Where Art Thou”.  I excitedly turned to my hubby.  “Wanna watch this again?”  We’ve seen the movie at least 4 times, and every time we discover parts we’ve never caught before.  He agreed to watch it with me, and we laughed like it was the first time we’ve seen it.  This particular show had “notes” with it, so it was pretty cool to read some facts about the stars, or the reference to the Iliad and the Odyssey.  If you haven’t seen it, it’s an awesome movie.  And the soundtrack is pretty cool too!

During every commercial break, the network advertised some upcoming movies.  I was especially interested in “An Officer and a Gentleman” that was being aired on Saturday.  I’ve seen that movie a few times as well, but it’s been so long that I wanted to see it again.  The show was to start at 9:30pm, and I would be home from work by 8pm so it was a date!  (Hubby left early Saturday morning for a business trip, so it was the perfect night for a chic flick.)  Once again, I felt the way I did the first time I watched it.  All the emotions were still there, and even though I knew it was coming, my eyes teared up when he carried her out of the factory at the end of the movie.

These movies got me thinking about some other movies that I could watch over and over again, and never get tired of.  At the top of the list would be “A Few Good Men” – You can’t handle the truth! is probably my favorite line from that movie.  Anytime it’s on, I watch it.

“My Cousin Vinny” is another one that I can laugh at every time I see it.  I adore Marissa Tomei in this role.  It has to be my all time favorite comedy movie!  Remember this scene? ………….

“Imagine you’re a deer. You’re prancing along, you get thirsty, you spot a little brook, you put your little deer lips down to the cool clear water… BAM! A fucking bullet rips off part of your head! Your brains are laying on the ground in little bloody pieces! Now I ask ya. Would you give a fuck what kind of pants the son of a bitch who shot you was wearing?”

“Office Space” would be on the list, along with “Overboard”.  (Don’t ask me why…. I think it’s because I love Goldie Hawn… and I have ever since “Private Benjamin” came out).  The “Vacation” movies with Chevy Chase are always fun to watch, although “European Vacation” is probably my least favorite.

There are many others that I have seen multiple times, but the ones listed above are ones I watch every time they are aired, and  I laugh and/or feel the same emotions I did the first time I saw them.  I even bought the DVD of “My Cousin Vinny” since I love it so much.

Are there any movies that you all find yourself watching over and over, with all the same adoration as the first time?  I’d hate to be missing out on a new favorite!  🙂

 
16 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “The Classics According to Me

  1. agg79

    April 16, 2012 at 10:28 am

    Only 4 times? I must have seen it at least 5 or 6. I even went out and got the cd of the movie for the music. We must have been watching the same channel this weekend I just got back from walking the dogs Friday when I got hooked on Oh Brother (same version with the notes added). I even recall seeing pieces of An Officer and a Gentleman over the weekend as well. I even sat through parts of Casablanca as well. Oh Brother is one of those few movies that I will sit down to watch again. I been know to burn a few hours on a couple of Sci Fi or fantasy movies (Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Serenity) as well as a few action movies like The Bourne Identity, or one of the James Bond series (Sean Connery)

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      I got some catchin’ up to do! We have the cd soundtrack as well. We’ve always been a big fan of Alison Kraus, and she has a few tracks along with Dan Timenski. I’ve never been into Sci Fi – I saw Star Wars when it came out, but that’s it. I do love The Bourne Identity though. James Bond I’ll watch once, but that’s usually enough for me. Hubby will watch more often. He’s a big fan of anything with Will Ferrell as well – Talladega Nights is one of his favorite.

       
      • agg79

        April 17, 2012 at 10:55 am

        Well, if he likes Talladega Nights, I’m sure he is really fond of Anchorman. I hear a rumor that there is an Anchorman 2 in the works. And I just remembered another movie favorite – an old campy horror/comedy I like to watch on occasion – Army of Darkness with Bruce Campbell.

         
  2. Rock Chef

    April 16, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    I love Oh Borther… I am not a big fan of George Clooney, but he was amazing in that.

    I have a new probably favourite film – Scott Pilgrim vs the World. Boy meets Girl. Boy discovers that there is a League of Seve Evil Exes who hunt down anyone who dates Girl. Boy fights Exes in amazing video game style battles, complete with XP and level ups. Good moral about relationships too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 16, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      Well, I do love a good relationship movie, but I’m not sure the “video game style battles” is my cup of tea. But I won’t knock it til I try it! 🙂

       
  3. Jules

    April 17, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Oh my..you’re getting me started on movies. I’ve found that I’ve watched so many movies I never would have considered seeing since trying to conquer “the 1000 best movies” list. I like a lot of the older movies..the ones from the 30s and up…I like anything with Clint Eastwood or James Stewart….oh there are too many movies that I love to list. But recently I saw part of Gran Torino on tv, and I have the movie as well. Love it. Have you seen that one?? If not, I”m lending it to you next time I see you. Say Anything is another fav. I’m with you on Office Space. I like Debra Messing too. She has to be the most beautiful redhead out there. Love and Basketball is a must see for anyone who likes the sport. I like George Clooney..he’s a great actor. It’s been a while since I”ve seen O Brother…may have to watch it again. **gulp for air…** anyway… 🙂 I like movies.

     
  4. Jules

    April 17, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    oh, and awesome quote from My Cousin Vinny lol

     
  5. Jules

    April 17, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    just saw a movie cover with Mark Walhberg so I must include movies with him in it because he’s just so darn sexy. Shooter is a good one. And….have you seen The Blind Side, with Sandra Bullock? Also a great movie. I have that too if you haven’t seen it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2012 at 10:24 pm

      You’re too funny! I know you’re a big movie buff! I like Mark Walhberg as well, but probably wouldn’t see his movies more than once. I HAVE seen The Blind Side! Awesome movie and I would probably watch that again. Did you finish your 1000 best movies list? I know you were working on it while we were working together.

       
      • Jules

        April 18, 2012 at 2:01 am

        Haven’t finished the list….I don’t think I’m even close to halfway done with it. lol. I’m watching Dirty Harry right now..another Clint Eastwood classic!

         
  6. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    OMG! We have THE EXACT SAME TASTE in movies!! I love all of the ones you listed!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2012 at 10:25 pm

      🙂 I wish I had more time to sit and watch them!

       
  7. Abby

    April 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    I don’t remember that line from MCV, but I loved the movie! Only watched it once, so maybe that’s my problem. And yes, these are all great ones to be watched more than once. I still remember watching “An Officer and a Gentleman” with my best friend at the theater – us crying – and she actually yelled out “BITCH!” to the character that dumped whatshisname when he washed out of the officer program. Our whole family loves “O Brother Where Art Thou”.

    For me, movies can be a nice escape for a couple of hours, or sometimes they can be life changing.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 17, 2012 at 10:33 pm

      You gotta watch MCV again! Then report back. 🙂 You know, I’ve seen a few life changing movies myself. Or some that have just stuck with me for a long time. I love movies like that. October Sky was one. And The Accused. There are a few others, but the names are escaping me right now. It’s been fun thinking about them though.

       
  8. territerri

    April 20, 2012 at 1:52 am

    Oh Brother, Where Art Thou is one of my all time favorites too, as is Overboard. Joining my list of movies I could watch over and over are Pretty Woman, While You Were Sleeping, Mean Girls, Juno, The Sandlot, The Wedding Singer, Under the Tuscan Sun, The Help, The Sixth Sense… umm… I’ll stop for now! 😉

     
  9. Mike

    April 21, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Yikes. Unlike my wife, I am not a big movie-watcher. A lot of movies I’ve seen are because she or someone else talked me into watching it. I can’t really say that I have a favorite, though. I like different movies in different ways. I’m an odd dude. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
