RSS

Amazing Indeed

20 Apr

Although I enjoy my couch time, I rarely watch the television.  I mean, it’s on, of course, but I don’t pay much attention to the shows. There are actually only a few TV shows that I watch obsessively.

“Cupcake Wars” is of course one of them.  The family knows that when that show is on, to either leave the room, or make no snide comments.

“Chopped” is another one.  With this show, the family is allowed to watch with me – because they enjoy it too and usually will not make fun of me or the show.

My absolute favorite, however, is “The Amazing Race”.  I have seen every episode from the beginning of the series, and years later I still never miss it.  It airs on Sunday nights, my bowling night, so I never can watch it “live”.  Instead, I usually try to find some time during the week to watch the episodes on my computer.

This season, I have fallen a few (7) episodes behind, so the last few days I’ve been trying to catch up.

Most times, at the end of the show, when a team is eliminated, I find myself with tears in my eyes.  The partners usually talk about how sad they are to be going home, and how proud they are of each other.  It’s usually quite emotional, and since I can picture myself on the show, I always picture myself in their shoes at the end.

Tonight’s episode left me practically bawling at the end of it.  The team that came in last is from Arkansas.  Two men, best friends, with families at home.  They’re trying to win the money to pay doctor bills for one of the men’s sick daughter.  When they stepped on the mat and were told they were the last team to arrive, they began talking about how happy they were to have had the experience, and how proud they were of each other for trying so hard.  Then the team that came in first, having won $5000 a piece for that leg of the race, walked up to the Arkansas boys and very unselfishly donated their winnings to them.

As soon as the first team began walking up to the Arkansas boys, my hands covered my face, and the tears started rolling.  At that point, I knew what their intentions were.  Then when the Arkansas boys started tearing up, my heart melted even more, and the tears came faster.

I’m telling you, I absolutely love this show!  It’s got incredible competition, drama among the team members, terrifying road blocks and back breaking detours. Not to mention they are traveling around the world and experiencing the true culture of these places.

It is a dream of mine to be able to compete on the show some day.  My husband keeps telling me to “go for it!” whenever I see the auditions for it.  But at this point, it’s not a viable option.  Of course, maybe no time is absolutely perfect, but I think we oughta wait for our 13 year old to be able to take care of herself for 3 months, or however long the race is, before we pack up and go gallivanting around the world.

She would say she could take care of herself now, and probably even pack our suitcase.  But I’d feel too selfish.  So I’ll wait….

Oh, and by the way….

The Arkansas team was the last to arrive, but it was a non-elimination round, so they get to stay in the race one more day!

I can’t wait for the next episode!  🙂

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Amazing Indeed

  1. towardshealthylife

    April 20, 2012 at 5:35 am

    You make me feel like watching it! Me and hubby used to and I don’t know why we stopped. There is alway a few couples that are anoying but it makes the show more interesting. We watch chopped as well because husband is a chef and I used too be. I also like to watch the cake decorating show when I catch it but the food channel is not too good for me at the moment 😉
    I bet you would do good on the amazing race, if you get in make sure you tell me!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 20, 2012 at 8:45 pm

      Actually, the Arkansas guys annoyed me, and I was hoping they would go home, but when the big, burly border patrol guys donated their money to them, I melted. This season there is one lady who cries and whines over everything and is constantly upset with her boyfriend. I just wonder how he can put up with her. I could never race with someone like that….

       
  2. agg79

    April 20, 2012 at 11:29 am

    I was watching AR for several seasons, but I fell behind and missed a few. I find it hard to watch a series like that if you don’t start at the beginning. I too like the stories and drama that underscore their journey. Not sure which is more entertaining, seeing the couples/pairs struggle through the challenges or the destinations themselves. Some of the challenges seem rather over the top, but nothing like the gross out challenges of fear factor.

    I imagine you’d kick butt in the race, but who would you partner with? Your husband? A friend?

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 20, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      I agree. You have to watch it from the beginning because part of the experience is getting to know the “couples”. You gotta be able to have your favorites. 😉
      Some of the challenges do seem outrageous, but one challenge from last year was to drive the new Mustang around a race track and through an obstacle course. OMG, I woulda loved that! And the winners of that leg of the race got a new Mustang EACH!
      I would definitely go with my husband, because he’s got a great sense of direction and is the level-headed member of the family. I’m competitive and tend to let the adrenaline take over. We’d probably fight through the whole leg, and then kiss and make up on the mat when we got first place. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        April 21, 2012 at 1:45 am

        Ok. I’m in. If you get on, I’ll watch the whole series from the start to the last leg. I imagine you would kick a in the Mustang driving (Stick, I assume). The question is, can you deal with all the ancillary drama that goes on with each of the different teams?

         
      • shadowrun300

        April 21, 2012 at 1:58 am

        I am NOT a drama queen, and don’t like being a part of any drama, so I imagine I would distance from all that and let the drama-ticians damage themselves. Then we’ll just sneak ahead under the radar.
        I’ll let you know when they give us the green light to play the game! 🙂

         
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    I’ve never watched “AR” but it sounds interesting… 🙂 I have so many shows I watch though LOL! I do love watching TV with hubby at the end of the day… that’s when I watch the box… (usually doing some steps or moving around now)

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

      We watch so few shows, but pay for tons of channels. If I could just get the Food Network and CBS I would be happy. 🙂

       
  4. Jules

    April 20, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    I don’t watch that show, though I’ve seen a few episodes and enjoyed it, but if you go on there I am watching every single one!!! I think you and hubby would do awesome.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 20, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      You better watch! 😉 I suppose you don’t wanna watch the kids for a few months….do you?? All you gotta do is keep the fridge stocked and the electricity bill paid, and you won’t hear a peep out of them!

       
  5. Mike

    April 21, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    I don’t watch much TV, much less reality shows, but if you were to make the cut, I’d definitely tune in!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 21, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      The ratings are getting higher as we speak. I definitely need to go on now. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    April 23, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Awww… I wish I watched that show. Like you, I don’t watch much t.v. There is always a television on at our house, but I’m rarely in control of what’s on. That sounds like an episode worth seeing!

     
  7. shadowrun300

    April 23, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I usually don’t care what’s on the TV unless it’s Cupcake Wars or Amazing Race. Any other time the hubby can have the remote. Neither one of us are crazy about the TV though. We’re usually in front of the computers. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
