RSS

Foiled!

25 Apr

Five days a week I drive 50 miles to and from work, clocking 100 miles a day.  Most of it’s interstate miles, and most of the times it’s an easy drive.  The drive doesn’t bother me.  Usually my trip in is very early in the morning, so there isn’t a whole lot of traffic.  My trip home is usually before the rush hour, so although a little busier, it’s still not bad.  I get through the heaviest traffic, right outside of the city, then I set the cruise to about 6 miles over the limit, grab my snack, sit back and enjoy the ride.

Pretty ho-hum….

Except for the one day…

On this day, I was traveling in the fast lane along with a line of cars.  I tend to not tailgate the person in front of me, but travel at their speed until we pass the slower cars.

The blue van tailgating me was not happy with the fact that I was not tailgating…. I guess…. because as soon as the lane to our right had an opening, he zipped around me, flipping me off.

I just looked at him, a little bewildered about what I was doing wrong, and then continued to follow him while he tailgated the guy who was in front of me originally.

It didn’t take long for Blue Van to get ticked at that guy, so he decided to cut over to the right lane where there was an opening.

Not a smart move on his part.  He got stuck over there between a few semis and slow moving vehicles, and pretty soon I (still in the fast lane) was passing him.  I suppose I was gloatin’ a little…. I mean, if he had just stayed patient he’d have been in the lane with us, and not stuck behind the turtles, so when I passed him, I flipped him off – with a smile.

Maybe not a smart move on my part… but fun anyway.

The traffic slowly eased as I got further away from the city. By this time I was back in the middle lane.  I set my cruise for 6 above the limit and settled in for the second half of my commute.  Suddenly, the blue van was speeding past me on my right, swerving in and out of cars with his arm fully extended out the window flipping us ALL off!  I was cracking up! His incessant need to “beat” the traffic actually cost him time.

But he finally got to where he wanted to be – the front of the pack.  Story over.  Or so I thought.

A few minutes later, I realized I was gaining on him.  I was a little suspicious, as I still had my cruise on, but I lowered my speed by one mph.

Yet I still was gaining on him.

Funny.  I thought he was in such a hurry…..

I soon realized he was slowing down to wait for me.  (We were now both in the slow lane.)  I had brought my speed all the way down to 5 mph below the speed limit and was still gaining on him.

In no way did I want this to continue, and in no way was I going to pass him, so I racked my brain trying to figure out what I could do.

We were coming up to an exit (not mine), when I was hit with an idea.

I turned my blinker on well ahead of the exit hoping he would see that I was “turning”.  As we got closer to the exit, I was beginning to think that I would actually have to turn.

It was obvious when he finally saw my blinker, because he yanked his van to the right and began to exit… Just like I had planned.

To avoid him coming back on to the interstate, I continued to act like I was exiting as well.  By this time he was well up the ramp with no chance of turning around, so at the last minute I cut back on to the interstate.

And floored it!

He had to have been p*ssed!  Especially since he would soon realize there is not an easy way to get back on the interstate from that particular exit.

I was actually squealing with excitement and nervousness at how well my plan had worked.  And I carried that adrenaline all the way home.

I couldn’t share my story fast enough with my husband.  He might have been slightly impressed, but I think he was more worried.  “With your car and your license plate you tend to stand out.  You probably should be careful.”

Whatever.

I was still pumped about how well it worked!  Of course if he hadn’t exited, I would have, and then I would have taken a different way home….  so either way, this little one-sided feud would have been put to rest.

So there you have it.  That’s my story on how I foiled the raged driver.

And I’m proud of it.

…….but I probably wouldn’t do it again………

 

 
22 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Commute, Mustang

 

Tags: , , , , ,

22 responses to “Foiled!

  1. Sandi

    April 25, 2012 at 4:30 am

    Oh! I have such a similar story of my own, being harassed on the freeway by a driver who I had flipped when he unnecessarily tooted me with his horn at a traffic light. Never again – thank goodness we got to a tollway and he obviously wasn’t willing to pay for the privilege of continuing to road rage me. It left me shaken, I am glad for your escape.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2012 at 2:30 pm

      I’m not normally in the habit of flipping people off. I avoid confrontation whenever possible, but in this case, I couldn’t help myself. He was being a jerk and I was happy to “return the favor”. But I DID learn that it’s probably not a good idea. If I had gotten close to him….. who knows what may have happened. I”m glad you escaped as well!

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    April 25, 2012 at 5:39 am

    It was such a smart way out of it! What a weirdo! I agree with your husband since I am the worry type. You never know what that kind of person would do and hopefully you won’t but you might see him again. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2012 at 2:33 pm

      Every once in a while I scan the interstate for a blue minivan with a crazy driver. It’s been a while now since that encounter so I’m not as worried about running into him. Hopefully he’d be calmed down by now anyway. 🙂

       
      • towardshealthylife

        April 25, 2012 at 4:35 pm

        You make me feel better lol The way I read your post felt lke it was yesterday. I have been thaught to never send “the finger” to another driver even if they would deserve it, just in case that’s a maniac (my dad probable watched to much of the news on tv) 🙂

         
  3. agg79

    April 25, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Bravo! Well played! I bet that ole Ricky Bobby there was really PO’d that he got played like that. I’ve had a similar encounter like that as well but like how you handled your problem. I agree with your husband, and you had better watch your back. With those wheels and that tag, you do kinda stand out. That’s probably one of the main reasons I don’t do custom plates (that and I’m too cheap) .

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      I like the reference to Ricky Bobby. 😉 Hubby appreciates it!
      Yeah – I splurged a little on my custom plates, but only because I wanted the whole “package”. I regret a little bit about paying Illinois the extra money. I’m a little agitated about how they handle our tax money etc. BUT, I buy my gas in Missouri, so I think it evens out. 🙂
      I’ve been a good girl as of late, and have kept the bird caged up, so to speak. Not that I normally let it out – I usually voice my frustrations on here, and not on the road. And I’ve yet to see the blue minivan. Who knows, he still may be stuck at that exit. heehee

       
      • agg79

        April 27, 2012 at 1:27 am

        Actually, not that you mention it, your move sounds like a little like “Shake & Bake”.

         
      • shadowrun300

        April 28, 2012 at 12:04 am

        Aww Man! That woulda been an awesome title!

         
  4. Rock Chef

    April 25, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I love your style. I have fairly similar experiences as a cyclist – someone overtakes me in a really stupid way – a couple of miles later, when we hit the edge of town, I catch up and pass him…

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2012 at 2:48 pm

      It’s nice to see someone getting what they deserve. Many times people will fly by me, in such a hurry, but then I catch up to them in the next town. Just goes to show that dangerous driving (or cycling) isn’t always worth it. It doesn’t always save time. I spend so much time on the road that it’s not worth it to me to get upset about things…..

       
  5. meleahrebeccah (@meleahrebeccah)

    April 25, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Good for you! Road rage people scare me. And I try my best to avoid them at all costs!

     
  6. shadowrun300

    April 25, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Especially where you live. If I had to drive in that kind of traffic everyday, I’d probably be a little raged myself!

     
  7. Jules

    April 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    HAHA!!! Awesome!!!! I love that story! What a madman that guy must have been. It’s probably STILL bothering him. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 25, 2012 at 9:06 pm

      I hope so! Because it STILL makes me smile that he fell for it! I was on a high from the adrenaline the entire night. 🙂

       
  8. Abby

    April 26, 2012 at 1:04 am

    Geesh, I’m glad you foiled him, good thinking – he sounds like a weird-in-a-dangerous way kind of guy! I was thinking along the same lines as your husband, that your car is unique if he really wanted to go all rage on you. Hopefully, that’s the last you hear of him… unless he shows up in the news after his meth operation gets busted.

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 26, 2012 at 1:30 am

      Yeah – if I had to go around him, or didn’t realize I was catching up to him, it coulda been bad. He probably woulda been less angry if I had flipped him off in anger, but because he knew I was gloating about being able to pass him up… yikes. It really wasn’t a smart move in hindsight, but the result was awesome! The good news is, if his meth lab gets busted, he won’t be on the road anymore….

       
  9. territerri

    April 27, 2012 at 8:06 pm

    Be careful out there! 🙂 You are a brave woman!

    Whenever I’m tempted to flip someone off, I imagine the possibility that they might have a gun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      April 27, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      You’re right! I really should be careful. There are some crazies out there! It won’t be too hard to break the habit though. I think I’ve flipped two people off in my whole life. But now that you’ve given me that thought, I won’t be doing it again. Scary. :/

       
  10. The Thin Lady Inside

    April 28, 2012 at 3:41 am

    wow! You are one brave lady! LOL! I am soo scared driving on the Freeway… so I just won’t do it! Especially because I can get in “aggressive mode” and I am afraid of getting into a situation I might not be able to get out of… I am glad you are ok! Like others have said… Be careful! 😉

     
  11. shadowrun300

    April 28, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    No worries! I usually am! 🙂 In fact, I’m very passive, unless someone flips me off for no reason. 🙂

     
  12. Mike

    April 29, 2012 at 3:45 am

    HA!! That is an awesome story. Very creative too! I probably wouldn’t have thought to have done that. H-i-l-a-r-i-o-u-s!

    I’m normally a pretty laid-back, mellow guy, but stupid drivers infuriate me. I generally don’t flip people off, but when I feel my blood pressure start to rise, I have been known to honk or spew obscenities though the glass.

     

Leave a Reply

 
