RSS

Potpourri

09 May

 

Not long after I wrote about my teenage children and the stress I’ve been dealing with, I came across this Mother’s Day card.  (Mom, if you’re reading this, close your eyes….)

 

 

 

 

I’m sure when she reads this, that she’ll want to laugh out loud and remind me that she once told me I’d have kids someday blah, blah, blah….

I never liked when my mother was right.

On a more positive note, I’ve had the last couple of days off.  The weather has been beautiful – sunny and 70’s.  I washed my car, finished the laundry, grocery shopped, and went for a motorcycle ride….

On the back of my hubby’s bike…..

70’s are still chilly for me.  I don’t do well with cold hands or gloves.  I like it best when I can feel the throttle, clutch and brake.  Call me silly.

It was still awesome, however!  I’d forgotten how nice it was to be able to sit back and take in the scenery.  Very relaxing!

AND!

I baked today!

Surprising, huh?

This time I had an actual order, though!  One of my coworkers wanted me to bake a dozen Banana Cream Pie cupcakes and a dozen Pineapple Coconut cupcakes for a graduation/Mother’s Day get-together they were having.

I was excited to do it, but once I got baking and mixing, I felt a little stressed.  It’s different baking when there are expectations and when money is involved.  I think they came out okay, but I’m a little nervous.

Pineapple Coconut Cake with Whipped Coconut Topping

 

Banana Cream Pie Cupcakes Ready to be Delivered

 

So that was my weekend in a nutshell.  Back to work again tomorrow for just a four day stretch!  That’s nice, but I’m working Mother’s Day.

Maybe my house will be clean when I get home.

Maybe.

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Potpourri

  1. Abby

    May 10, 2012 at 1:04 am

    Oooh, the goodies sure LOOK yummy. I bet they came out superb! I’m glad you enjoyed your “weekend”, and I love that Mother’s Day card – no more words needed!

    If your house is clean on Mother’s Day, I may just start baking special cupcakes!

     
  2. shadowrun300

    May 10, 2012 at 1:22 am

    There’s gotta be SOME trick out there that works. Between my bribing with cupcakes and you joking, but not really joking….there must be a way to get the kids to clean, and keep it clean. Maybe I’ll just do what my mom did with me. Put a spell on them so THEY have kids who are just as sloppy and lazy as they are. That’ll teach ’em. 🙂

     
    • towardshealthylife

      May 10, 2012 at 4:04 am

      I call that “karma” and of course I will get it too lol You really made me laught with your card :-).
      Look at you proffesional baker! You’ve got the tray, the passion, you just need to get more orders! They looks so yummy especially the topping on the banana cupcakes…:-o I should stop looking at the photos now !

       
      • shadowrun300

        May 10, 2012 at 9:24 pm

        Yes, Karma! Someday THEY will experience it too! 🙂
        I don’t know if I’m ready for more orders….. I don’t want it to turn into something I HAVE to do. But it may be nice to earn a few extra bucks! We’ll see how this one turns out.
        I love cards that make me laugh out loud in the store!

         
  3. agg79

    May 10, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Ooooh. Do you deliver down here? It just makes me hungry when you go all foody on us.
    Sounded like a good ride, even from the back of the bike.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm

      You know, if I ever get to Texas, I’m bringing cupcakes….
      Looks like the kids would rather go to Colorado to experience the mountains there. It would be new for them, so I suppose that’s where we’ll go…. Hubby and I are thinking we may go down to Texas by ourselves. I’ll definitely let you know if that’s the case! 🙂

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 10, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    That’s such a funny card! LOL! and yes… moms are usually right! (usually!) your cupcakes look delicious! As usual!!! I made molten cakes for hubby’s birthday yesterday and I’ll be making him a big cake on Saturday! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 10, 2012 at 9:30 pm

      I have never made a molten cake, but I’ve looked up many recipes for them. Someday I’ll have to try one. If I remember correctly, you have a recipe posted, right?? 🙂

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        May 11, 2012 at 12:43 am

        yes I posted about it… you know where to find it… once you are “there” just go to the “Search” and type “molten” … there are two posts about it but the oldest is the one with the recipe 😉 Try them! They are super easy!

         
  5. Jules

    May 14, 2012 at 1:29 am

    Those cupcakes look amazing!!!!!! And I agree it is definitely different when you’re baking for others.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2012 at 3:37 am

      Update: I learned tonight that his family loved them! Now, he wants to place an order for his mother’s birthday! I guess I’m okay with that. Like my husband said, “Be careful what you wish for….”

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    May 14, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    That card is HILARIOUS! And those cupcakes look AMAZEBALLS!

     
  7. territerri

    May 17, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Mmmmm… your cupcakes always look mouth-watering delicious! You could go into business with them, I know it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
