RSS

Get Comfy – This May Take a While

15 May

Ahhh…..   Mother’s Day.

A time for rest.

A time for reflection.

A time for digging out of a disastrous weekend at the hotel.

I’m going to keep this short and sweet, mainly because I’m too exhausted to retell the story.

It all started on Friday.  Our main server at the hotel crashed.  It was down for more than 15 hours – through the biggest part of check-out time and most of check-in time.  I could try to convey how difficult it was to manage a sold out hotel of nearly 400 rooms with half of them departing on that morning, and an equal amount coming back in that afternoon, but I don’t even have the energy to try to describe how stressful it was.

The hotel came together as a team, however, and we developed a system to check people in by using pen and paper, and an old credit card imprinting machine.

Of course, we didn’t make it through the day without human error.  I believe we checked about 5 people into rooms that we had already checked guests into.  5 out of 400 is a pretty small number, but for those 5 people, it was an awful experience.  When the system came back up and we began officially checking people in, there were 3 rooms that we weren’t sure of who was in there.  Again, 3 out of 400 is not too bad, but for those 3 it meant that we were bugging them for their information all over again.

I left the hotel after 10 hours of working.  I pulled into the garage, shut my car off, laid my head back and immediately fell asleep.  I slept for 20 minutes before I had the energy to walk into the house.

Saturday, was a day of “cleaning up” all the errors, and trying to get the hotel back on track, while checking out and checking in a whole new group of people.  It wasn’t easy, and once again, I was exhausted when I got home.

Sunday, Mother’s Day, I wearily crawled out of bed at 3:15 am, and dragged myself back to work.  I dreaded the day, knowing we would have some complaints, (most of Friday’s check-ins were leaving today) and aware that I would probably have a multitude of receipts that wouldn’t balance correctly. As always, though, I kept my attitude positive while there, and was pretty pleased with how understanding most of our guests were.  We comped a few of the nights for the ones we double booked into a room, but even they left happy and pleased with our customer service. That’s the idea, of course. Our motto is 100% satisfaction guaranteed, and we honestly do live by that.  It’s why I’m proud to be working for the company.

But this week has been proof that I don’t get paid near enough to do what I do.

On the flip side, the hotel bought all the moms working that day a corsage to wear.  It seemed a little big, and made me sneeze occasionally, but the gesture was kind, and I did appreciate it.

As soon as I got home from work, the family headed to the hospital to visit my mother-in-law.  She’s had 3 surgeries the past few weeks, the latest being to remove a tumor that was growing on her liver.  The tumor turned out to be cancerous, but as of now, we don’t know all the details.  She has a ton of infection near the area, and once that clears up, they’ll begin taking steps to fight the cancer.  We’re still unsure of what that will involve, or how serious it really is, so we wait.

This comes at a time when her husband, my father-in-law, is still recovering from his surgery.  He is at home, but is pretty helpless and very frail.  The kids have been very good about going over to do dishes, and fill up his water bottles, and even empty his colostomy bag.  (I know!!  Can you believe that?? Makes me proud!).  But even with the kids help, most of the work falls to my husband.  So for him, it’s been very stressful.  Both parents are needing help, he’s still trying to get his new business off the ground, we’re trying to get 2 kids through college… and I’m away from home over 50 hours a week.

Anyway, after the hospital visit, I went for a run, then grabbed some tea and sat on the deck with my hubby for the rest of the afternoon.  I topped my Mother’s Day off with a bowl of ice cream and a new episode of Cupcake Wars.

I should mention as well, that each of the kids had a homemade card for me.  My boys especially, wrote such kind things that I had tears in my eyes.  After so many long days at work, it was nice to hear them say how much they appreciated all that I do for them.

So overall, not a bad Mother’s Day. I am off today (Tuesday) and looking forward to relaxing and mowing the lawn and washing the car, before heading back to work tomorrow.

If you made it through this hodge-podge of a blog, thank you.  It’s certainly helped relieve some of my stress.  I can’t wait to tell you about my upcoming weekend getaway and our pending family vacation!

 

 
19 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Blunders, Family, Holidays, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Get Comfy – This May Take a While

  1. Abby

    May 15, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Whew, what a weekend!

    Work stress, plus health matters for your in-laws I’m sure, pack quite a combination. I’m glad you got in at least a little bit of you-time in the midst of all that, and hopefully things will smooth out for you. Blogs are good, aren’t they?

    Homemade cards are the best! Happy belated Mother’s Day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      I’ll take homemade cards before the Hallmark ones, any day. Especially from the boys. They don’t usually wear their hearts on their sleeves, so it warms my heart to know they care.

       
  2. Sandi

    May 15, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    Wow, that does sound very stressful, and like you are the dream employee, not outwardly showing your stress to your guests. Impressive, I don’t think I would have that resilience! I wish good things for the health of your husband’s parents and hope for the best there.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 15, 2012 at 9:17 pm

      Thanks for the good wishes, Sandi. I think the biggest challenge of my job is staying positive, outgoing, friendly and smiling while chaos is happening all around. I’m usually pretty good with it,along with many of my coworkers, but I’m mentally exhausted by the end. I was definitely ready for my day off today! 🙂

       
  3. Jules

    May 15, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    Holy Moly! That is a very stressful weekend! Working in hotels I can imagine what it would it would be like to have the server go down, and I”m thankful I haven’t had to go through that before. Happy belated Mother’s Day! =)

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 16, 2012 at 1:22 am

      It was NOT fun. But we survived, and I believe everything is back to normal now. However, any time the system freezes up, we all start to panic. 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    May 16, 2012 at 1:36 am

    Well that wasn’t a very relaxing mother’s day! You are such an amazing employee and mother too! There is a lot going on in your life at the moment! 50 hours at work and coming home to worry and care about your in-laws. It must be hard for them not being able to count on each other since they are both sick at the same time. I sincerly hope that their health improves soon.:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 16, 2012 at 2:24 am

      Thank you for the kind words. It’s been difficult to remain positive with all the stress going on. Hubby and I are planning a weekend getaway starting Sunday. It’ll do us good to leave our troubles behind for a few days.

       
      • towardshealthylife

        May 16, 2012 at 5:14 am

        I am very happy to hear that! To relax away from it all will help you both refill your batteries up. Have a very good and relaxing time! 🙂

         
  5. agg79

    May 16, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Wow, that was one sucky weekend to deal with. If I were in your shoes, there wouldn’t be enough scotch of tequila in the house to unwind with. Despite of the stress you were feeling, I think you handled with class and style and remained professional throughout the whole ordeal. On top of that your MIL has cancer which is putting an even bigger load on your collective shoulders. I hope that the diagnosis and treatment for her come out well, but cancer is an ugly beast and does not fight fair. I am glad to hear you were at least able to carve out some time for yourself to enjoy Mother’s Day with the family, even if it was at the end of a incredibly chaotic week. I hope this week has better things in store for you and your family.

    And I cannot wait to hear about your vacation plans. I think you’ve earned it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 16, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      The weekend was definitely tough enough to drive me to drink. So much so, that I was planning to have one on the deck when I got home on Mother’s Day. But then we went to the hospital, and I went for a run, and by that time I just wanted tea on the deck. 🙂 Thanks for the good wishes for the upcoming week. I had a day off yesterday, and only a stretch of 4 work days before I get to go on our weekend getaway. Stay tuned!

       
  6. Melissa Gastorf

    May 16, 2012 at 10:42 am

    I am always amazed at people who work in hotels and restaurants on weekends like mother’s day. I like to watch people, and when I have ventured out on those days, it is like there is never enough that those in hospitality industry can do to make some people happy. And I can’t even imagine trying to do it with a crashed server. Congrats on making it through to the other side.

    I got homemade gifts with store bought cards this year, but they picked them out. And I really love the gifts.

    Hopefully you enjoyed your day off, and things go better this week.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 16, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      Homemade gifts are great too! Especially from young kids. 🙂 I still have all of my “gifts” from when the kids were in preschool and grade school.
      I really like the hospitality industry which is why I continue to work there, but there are days that can be very trying. I made it through, had a day off yesterday, and I think I am ready for the week ahead!

       
  7. meleah rebeccah

    May 16, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    1. Oh my word. What an AWFUL day at work, I feel terrible for you!

    2. Wait… you wake up at 3:15 AM? FOR WORK? ON MOTHERS DAY? Damn!

    3. I will be praying for your Mother-In-Law. My heart goes out to all of you.

    4. Hooray for ice cream & cupcake wars.

    5. Happy Mother’s Day.

    xoxoxo

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 1:34 am

      Thanks for the sympathy! And sometimes I have to wake up at 3:00 am!!
      My in=laws definitely need prayers. Thank you!

       
  8. territerri

    May 17, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    There’s never a dull moment at your job, is there? You deserve a bonus for making it through everything you described!

    Life sure sounds crazy for you right now. I was in a similar place not so long ago. It does get easier. Our life is still very busy, but with all three kids out of high school, we’ve been able to relax a little bit more. Hang in there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 1:39 am

      Seeing your experiences with your family and job, and how you’ve dealt with the situations has helped me tremendously. It seems like you’re just a step ahead of me, so I have hope! 🙂

       
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 18, 2012 at 4:05 am

    I took some days “off” of blogging but here I am! I am glad you had a “Happy Mother’s Day” in spite of the issues at your job! I love handmade cards too! So much more meaningful! That was awesome! 🙂 I hope your days at work get better soon!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 1:40 am

      Good to hear from you again! Hope you enjoyed your Mother’s Day as well!

       

Leave a Reply

 
